We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't road trip for this one”
Review of Traditions

Traditions
Ranked #19 of 80 Restaurants in Pendleton
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Outdoor Seating
Description: At Traditions, great food is, well, a tradition! Our extensive selections include wood-fired pizza, custom grilled meats, and the freshest ingredients in all of our side dishes and desserts. OPEN DAILY. MENU SERVICE Breakfast Menu Service: Mon-Fri • 7am-10:30am Lunch Menu Service: Mon-Fri • 11am-2pm BUFFETS Dinner Buffet: 4pm-9pm Breakfast Buffet: Sat-Sun • 7am-9am Brunch Buffet: Sat-Sun • 9am-3pm We are proud that all of our salmon we serve here are tribal fish. Our Columbia River salmon is from Wolf Song Fisheries & our Keta salmon is from Nisqually Seafood run by the Nisqually tribe.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have eaten here a couple of times. Buffet has a wide choice but most of the entries were disappointing. Prime rib has a smoke flavor to it I don't care for. Smoked fish was not good, chicken and ribs so so. It's really hard to flub up these two items.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Chef at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

First we would like to say, thank you for having visited on more than one occasion and providing your feedback based on this. We are certainly sorry to hear that to foods were not to your liking. As you can imagine we feed several thousands of people a year and attempt to/ have to provide items that will appeal to the masses. We thank you for you critique and will look into the items you brought to light. The prime ribs smoke you personally did not care for; and the smoked salmon. Should you return, and we certainly hope that you will, we hope that you will have a better experience. There are several other dining options available at the resort as well and hope that you will find something to suit your taste.

Joshua McQueen
Executive Sous Chef, Wildhorse Resort and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We ate at this buffet tonight and were very disappointed. First, the food that was supposed to be hot was luke warm. It looked like the meat was over cooked and dry. The chicken and ribs were not edible. All of the food in the warm section had been out for some time. The salad bar was basically lettuce with a few trimmings. It was just a very sad experience and such a shame in this very nice resort. Fresh hot cooked food needs to be added to buffet at regular intervals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 113willie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Chef at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We would like to extend our apologies towards your disappointment in dinner at the buffet. We do understand our guests expect quality, and as a staff we consider a failure in delivering quality to be egregious. Maintaining hot food, though challenging in some instances, is a very high priority—as is the food being as fresh and wholesome as possible. We will continue in making strides towards consistent improvements and hope that you will return and give us feedback on how well we have done. Thank you for your insight. It is by our guests’ feedback that we can continually move forward.

Joshua McQueen
Executive Sous Chef, Wildhorse Resort and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Buffets are not for us - maybe we are too picky. The fish was fried, the areas around the salad were not attended to often enough. Also I find it hard to believe that you have a salad area with no tomatoes - go figure. Will not be eating there again. Staff was very nice though.

1  Thank TandC630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Chef at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your experience dining with us at the Traditions Buffet. We try to provide our guests with a myriad of options so that we might suit everyone’s taste. There is certainly nothing wrong with being picky! We do hope that you will reconsider returning to Traditions or visit one of the five other dining options provided here at Wildhorse. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and friendly. Thank you for your feedback.

Josh McQueen
Executive Sous Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have been to Traditions Buffet on several occasions on our way to Utah. The best way to describe this restaurant is "average". The chefs and cooks seem to settle for mediocrity, which is unfortunate for such a promising eating establishment. Recent reviews on Tripadvisor seem to support my opinion, as 15 out of 22 reviews rate this restaurant as "average" or below. The potential is certainly there, however. The pizza is marvelous, as is the service. Any meat entrées fall short of reaching a high quality rating. I suggest more BBQ meat options, which should be a winner in that part of the country. In comparison to the outstanding Cedar Planks Buffet at the Spirit Mountain Casino, there is no comparison. The folks there in Grand Ronde seriously know how to prepare and showcase excellent food. I recommend you visit them to see for yourself!

I will continue to visit the Traditions Wildhorse Buffet, but I do so with my expectations adjusted to "average". You can do much better.

Ray A.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Chef at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Ray,
Thank you for your feedback. We at Wildhorse always welcome guest feedback as it helps up to better meet and, hopefully, exceed our guest’s expectations. I must apologize for the fact that you have not been overly impressed with the Traditions buffet so far. I do very much appreciate your repeat visits however, and hope that you will continue to allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations. I’m also very glad that you enjoy our pizza so much. We make it from scratch and it is one of our most popular items.
We are always trying to improve our quality and variety, and to provide the best and most memorable dining experience for our guests, so feedback like yours allows us to view our operation from a different perspective and make the changes necessary to meet our full potential. I believe we are making great strides to that end as I have heard quite a number of extremely positive comments from guests recently.
So, thank you again for your feedback and continued business, and please know that we will continue to do our utmost to always leave you, and all of our guests, with the best possible impression.

Alyssa Litchfield
Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Me and my sister were at the buffet yesterday, everything i thought was great until i found a PUBIC Hair Curled up in the salmon i was eating!
I should have saved the hassle since the waitress didn't do much just said ewww and took my plate, didn't even apologized!!! then she came back and told me they were throwing away the whole thing, yeah right....
I was not expecting a refund or anything like that but i would have been nice if she would have offered or at least have the person in charge apologize for this situation.
I'm not going back ever again this place is gross, the cooks are all male and they are not very clean looking!!!!
save your money and go to a nicer and cleaner place, there are plenty around Pendleton

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Chef at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for what you experienced in your visit to Wildhorse. We do strive to make every effort to insure the services we provide our guest are wholesome and meet/exceed their expectations; we understand it is appalling to have encountered a contaminant. We require all staff to be trained in Servsafe, thereby creating awareness of the potential with foreign, biological or chemical contaminants. In a public dining forum, such as a buffet, the chance of debris does become more probable due to the exposure of food to public. We, after hearing of you experience, have chosen to implement further guidelines in the form of personal appearance, hair/beard restraints, etc. to make every effort in continuing to reduce the chances of foreign materials. It is our hope that you will reconsider joining us again and will continue to provide us feedback so that we might better serve you and other guests that share their time with us. Again, our sincerest apologies and we hope you will allow us to make it up to you.

Alyssa Litchfield
Traditions Buffet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Traditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing