We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little spendy but good”
Review of Traditions

Traditions
Ranked #24 of 83 Restaurants in Pendleton
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Outdoor Seating
Description: At Traditions, great food is, well, a tradition! Our extensive selections include wood-fired pizza, custom grilled meats, and the freshest ingredients in all of our side dishes and desserts. OPEN DAILY. MENU SERVICE Breakfast Menu Service: Mon-Fri • 7am-10:30am Lunch Menu Service: Mon-Fri • 11am-2pm BUFFETS Dinner Buffet: 4pm-9pm Breakfast Buffet: Sat-Sun • 7am-9am Brunch Buffet: Sat-Sun • 9am-3pm We are proud that all of our salmon we serve here are tribal fish. Our Columbia River salmon is from Wolf Song Fisheries & our Keta salmon is from Nisqually Seafood run by the Nisqually tribe.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went to lobsterfest/prime rib night; didn't like cleaning the lobster before eating; did like that you could get as many as you wanted; go VERY VERY early and stand in line for 40 minutes if you want to get there early; otherwise stand in line for 40 minutes to get a table before 9 pm.

1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Community Relations at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Our lobster night and seafood buffet are always very popular! You are correct that the lines can get long at times. They do have buzzers that they will issue you so that you may wait out on the gaming floor or in the Wildhorse Sports Bar. Additionally, if you are only interested in going through the buffet one time, they will allow you to do so and then go sit in the Sports Bar to watch the comedians that we also have on Thursday nights. Just wanted to give you a couple more options!

I hope you will come join us again!
Tiah DeGrofft
Community Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited this buffet on a Friday night, shortly before closing time. I found the food unremarkable, but Joy raved about their prime rib.

The ice cream machine was very noisy and obnoxious even from clear across the room.

Thank rickh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Chef at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

Thank you for your feedback. The ice cream machine that was so bothersome during your visit has since been replaced. We are glad to hear that the prime rib was good, as it is one of our most popular signature items. We are always striving to improve in quality and flavor, so hopefully your next visit will be an exceptional one.

Alyssa Coursey
Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have had buffets in many casinos around the country in my days as an OTR driver and most were very good if not excellent. There is simply no excuse for this buffet not being good. The only good thing would be the omelette bar, it was freshly prepared to your taste and the chef knew what he was doing. Everything else from the rubbery bacon to the dry chicken was not acceptable. With a little care this could become a good buffet but I have tried it many times over the years and it has steadily declined. I hope they can do better in the future.

1  Thank JesseGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Chef at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2014

We appreciate your comments. It is unfortunate that your experience in Traditions was not a positive one. We encourage our guests to make known any dissatisfaction they may have during their visit so that we have the opportunity to resolve issues as they arise. Our staff is always willing to address guest concerns and do whatever is necessary to create the best possible guest experience. We are constantly working on improvements and seeking higher quality and have implemented a number of new procedures and new dishes in the last few months. Our omelet bar is one of our most popular signature attractions, so we’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed it. We hope that your next visit with us will revive your previous positive view of our buffet.

Alyssa Coursey
Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I went on a weekend and they have a brunch buffet until 3 pm. I was surprised to get a discount for being over 50 and using points from the Club Wild casino card added to my discount. A basic buffet. The food could use better labels as to what the ingredients are. Specifically it would have been good to know which items had meat or pork and which were vegetarian or seafood. Overall a good basic buffet.

Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Chef at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

First off, thank you for coming to visit with us. We are certainly happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the food was to your liking. We are currently in the process of updating our labeling for buffet items however, yes, we do need to be more cognizant of labeling certain items with dietary restrictions. In this day and age it is becoming ever more crucial. We realize that merely labeling an item as to ‘what it is’ doesn’t necessarily communicate ‘what is in it’. We certainly invite all guests to engage our staff should they have any questions regarding the cuisine. Thank you for your feedback and the suggestions to better serve our guest in the future.

Joshua McQueen
Executive Sous Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have eaten here a couple of times. Buffet has a wide choice but most of the entries were disappointing. Prime rib has a smoke flavor to it I don't care for. Smoked fish was not good, chicken and ribs so so. It's really hard to flub up these two items.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhorse R, Chef at Traditions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

First we would like to say, thank you for having visited on more than one occasion and providing your feedback based on this. We are certainly sorry to hear that to foods were not to your liking. As you can imagine we feed several thousands of people a year and attempt to/ have to provide items that will appeal to the masses. We thank you for you critique and will look into the items you brought to light. The prime ribs smoke you personally did not care for; and the smoked salmon. Should you return, and we certainly hope that you will, we hope that you will have a better experience. There are several other dining options available at the resort as well and hope that you will find something to suit your taste.

Joshua McQueen
Executive Sous Chef, Wildhorse Resort and Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Traditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing