We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well, that was a little disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rugged Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“well, that was a little disappointing...”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I read about this hotel style B& B online and the story of its salvation and restoring by the nice Oregon Lady was just charming. When we arrived, we experienced her delightful, immaculate touches everywhere but the place has been sold to people that seemed surly or fake -happy. Little things in the description, like homemade cookies to welcome us, and pendleton blankets on the beds were absent. We are from FLorida and altho it is spring, the weather was cold, and we had just come from 9 degrees in Jackson Hole, the beds were great but we needed more blankets and they looked at us like we were crazy when i asked about the Pendletons. Then they said they only put them on the single beds. That was a real disappointment. We had to ask twice for the 4th towel for our 4 guests, and the breafast was bleak, altho the Rooster Room was adorable presented. These new folks did not make us feel welcome, and that causes little things to seem bigger.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caseysacajewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuggedCountryLodge, General Manager at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
We apologize that the double beds don't come with the Pendleton blankets only the pillows also We take pride in customer service we try to make everyone feel as comfortable as possible.We hope you come come back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    126
    30
    17
    13
See reviews for
84
126
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seal Rock, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed one night with family during road trip. Room was very clean, warm, beds were comfortable. Felt like rooms had been updated recently. The price was great, maybe because it was off-season. The staff were very friendly. Downsides were minor: located on east end of town, several blocks from downtown. Immediate neighborhood felt a bit dodgy, though we did not have any problems. Complimentary breakfast was pretty minimal (microwavable breakfast sandwich or burrito), coffee, canned juices - but sufficed. Whole family voted we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My mother and I were making a trip through the area to do some family history research. We didn't want to spend a lot of money but still wanted a nice place in a safe area. This was a great choice. They were very hospitable and friendly and treated you like family. I was 8 months pregnant and they were very conversational and interested in us which made us feel warm and welcome. We gave some feedback to them directly and they were very receptive and eager to learn of our opinions. The room was nice and comfortable. They had a pretty good selection for breakfast, especially considering my mother has many allergies including gluten. Unbenounced to us, the night we were there was in preparation for the big Pendelton Round-Up. Many of the places we called would not give us our AAA discount due to this big event happening, but Rugged Country Lodge gave us a great deal! Some of the material in the room describing the hotel and amenities was outdated which we informed them, but it was still a very nice ma and pa type place. We would stay there again if we go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We chose to stay at this motel based on TripAdvisor ratings, and we weren't disappointed. We were driving to and from British Columbia and stayed here both times we passed through Pendleton. We have small children, and I wanted to stay somewhere that would be easy to get our baby gear in and out of. Ideally, we would be in a room where we could back right up to the door and unload and load as easily as possible (no hallways or extra doors to get through). We got just what we needed and requested here. The first night we stayed, we were the only guests at the motel. It's hard to judge what it would have been like as far as noise is concerned had there been a lot of other people staying here. While the room was definitely a bit worn in some ways, the decor was great (especially in the bathroom, which I loved). We made reservations ahead of time and were given a room that met our exact needs. We had the same room on our return trip.

When I checked in for our second night's stay, the host greeted me by name, which I really appreciated. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was immaculate. The traffic on the road out front didn't bother us at all. The only thing that could have been improved on for me was the heater, which seemed to be either on full blast or off. I will say, though, that I was grateful that the host went to the effort of turning the heater on before we arrived. It was nice coming into a comfy warm room on a cold night.

Overall, I totally enjoyed staying here and will plan to stay here again if I need a room in Pendleton.

Room Tip: We liked being in a main floor room with direct access from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was our second time to stay at the Rugged Country Lodge. The room was neat and clean, and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was absolutely spotless! We were in a room which faced the street, and found that it was not as noisy as I had anticipated. I had set the heater at a temp so the fan would go on and off which helped mask any outside noises. The warm cookies, and mints in the room were a very nice touch, and were greatly appreciated.

The one thing that I wanted to note (for the benefit of management) is that when I opened the door, the first thing that I noticed is that the carpet looked very dirty and/or stained. This detracted from the overall appearance of the room. A good cleaning or replacement would make a huge difference here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The rooms are clean but a bit dated. The main drag is right outside and the cars and trucks are very noisy. The motel was almost empty but the front office chose to put a guest directly over us which didn't help with the noise.... beds are comfortable but noise is a problem. Rate was fair.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor. Very noisy if you have a room above occupied!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

loved the room and the ppl were so nice the bed was vary comfortable and the room was quiet they had fresh coffee in the morning and the place was very nice loved the Pendleton stuff in the room and the housekeeper was very nice too

Room Tip: rooms in building three are quieter no roosters
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
2.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#3 of 17 in Pendleton
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#11 of 17 in Pendleton
361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugged Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugged Country Lodge

Property: Rugged Country Lodge
Address: 1807 SE Court Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801-3348
Region: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rugged Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an age of ordinary, experience the extraordinary at Pendleton's only 'bed-and-breakfast motel'. Rugged Country Lodge was completely renovated in 2005; many luxury upgrades to the Dream Soft bedding have been added. Experience for yourself the cozy home comfort we are so famous for! With the distinction of being the only motel in Pendleton featuring the Pendleton Woolen Mills Bedding, we are truly "all that" when it comes to Quality and Value. We offer doubles, suites & single rooms and each room type is decorated a bit differently. All pristine Clean and Affordable rooms are non-smoking, boost luxury pillow-topped queen beds, down and microfiber bedding with triple luxury tone on tone sheeting, refrigerators/microwaves, air-conditioning, Free wireless and cable. Our bathrooms feature original vintage tile in fun colors, spa quality amenities and boutique details. We are now Eco-friendly as well! Enjoy a FREE Continental breakfast each morning in our darling "Rooster Room". In the evening the aroma of home baked cookies, iced tea will greet you upon check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rugged Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugged Country Hotel Pendleton
Rugged Country Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing