We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rugged Country Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oxford Suites Pendleton(Pendleton)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Pendleton OR(Pendleton)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
166
144
32
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
144
32
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooster roombagelshard boiled eggscontinental breakfaststay there againpendleton woolenbusy roadolder placecomfortable bedschain hotelsrooms are smallsmall doggreat pricefresh fruitpleasant surprisein townnight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This place blurs the line between hotel & motel- there's an outer door for 3 or so rooms, then a small hall or stair inside that leads to your individual room door. It's off the highway, but in front of a relatively busy road nonetheless, about 2 miles from the downtown shopping & dining area, and less than a mile to the Pendleton Woolen Mills. The person in the office checked us in quickly, though it wasn't a cheery welcome by any means. Our 2x queen room was smaller than average, but very nice; Everything was clean, neat, relatively new. The wireless Internet was probably the fastest of the 6 places we stayed at along our trip. The continental breakfast was adequate, but by no means deluxe: No fruit, no pastry, just coffee, bagged bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs, canned juice, etc. The neighborhood isn't exactly scenic, but it was fine, especially considering that you're in a cow town in the middle of the desert. My wife is squeamish about independent motels, but she was quite happy with this one. If we travel to Pendleton again we would happily stay here a second time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Last minute trip and the staff was great in accommodating us with an adorable suite. Beds were amazing and rooms were spotless. The bathroom was stocked with spa toiletries and spotless.
Perfect for those who need a great night sleep at an amazing bargain. .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

What a delight! We are traveling west & decided to spend the evening & overnight in Pendleton. The Rugged Country Lodge has the feel of a country inn & the service is warm & personable. The young lady who runs the place mAkes you feel right at home & takes pride in the lovely flower beds & landscaping out front & the many improvements she made under the new management.. The rooms are large & very clean & beautifully furnished like an old country inn. Everything is simply charming, from the carved oaken headboards down to the petite wicker basket of toiletries in the new1920s style bathroom(also large).We stayed at numerous chain hotels on our journey & this little gem was a refreshing treat at half the price. If you are ever in the area I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valski123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This was our sixth annual trip to pendleton and we have always stayed at the rugged country. This place was a hidden gem. Unfortunately in a years time all the niceties have dissapeared.

Starting with a reservation a month in advance for our normal room only to find it unavailable on arrival. All the handmade soaps and high end shampoo and conditioners replaced with run of the mill drugstore stuff.

The nice comforters no where to be found and whoevers idea it was to use the top sheet for a comforter on top of the blanket is just gross.

Three nite stay and room was never made up. We had to keep going to manager for towels, toilet paper, etc.

Staff seemed uncaring about customer service and either offered excuses or became arguementitive when questioned. Quick answer was its always been done this way or we never did it like that before. Well if that was the case we would never have returned 6 years in a row.

Last but not least FROZEN GAS STATION BURITTO'S ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE! The continental breakfast that has been quite nice has turned into a joke. If you bill yourself as a B&B it should be so.

We met owners Ron & Becky last year and they seemed to want this place to succeed, with this staff it is not going to happen. I wish I could have direct contact to them to give them the rest of story because there is plenty more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Clean, older rooms, pet friendly, pleasant service. This was our second stay. New front desk people this year. They were friendly, but didn't know the area since they had just moved their recently. Did help us find the local brew pub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews