We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freindly great staff, but that is where it ends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rugged Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Mililani, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freindly great staff, but that is where it ends”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Dirtiest carpets I have ever seen. Bathtub drain has not been cleaned in months so water would not drain and also sink drain was not working. I was in room 8 and my mother was in room 6 we both had the same experience. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    126
    30
    17
    13
See reviews for
84
126
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were road weary and tired. Found this place by mistake. When she quoted the price I asked to see the room not knowing what to expect. Surprised and happy we stayed in a very nice room for under $50(AAA) and a breakfast as well. Except for a worn carpeting, it was sparkling clean, cozy, and the bed was the best I'd been in for a week. It was really a nice stay. We were welcomed and made to feel like special guests. This is about 1/2 way to our destination in SE Idaho that we make at least yearly, so you can believe me when I say we will be booking ahead next time and looking forward to a place to stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

An unbelievably terrible experience. Called 3 hours ahead of time, from the road, to reserve a room. Was quoted $54, per the website, then dropped to $40 for AAA discount. They took my name, but no phone number or credit card, though I offered both to hold the room as we were arriving after 9:00 pm. When we arrived, the room was sold out! "My husband sold your room." When he walked in, they fought in front of us about this. Incredible. They did get us at a room at the same price at another (not very nice) hotel. I don't think they have any idea how to run a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Since 1996 we have been stopping in Pendleton, between moves from Northern Utah or SE Idaho to Portland, OR or Astoria. We found this cozy place on the main route through town, and have stayed here since when passing through. Their rates are great, the rooms are large, and very cozy. I will always keep them in mind when I need to take the road trip between Western Oregon and Eastern Idaho again. I have worked in the hotel industry off and on for the past 15 years and this place is the best for the price and location. There is a train track 3 or 4 blocks behind it, so be aware of that.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 full beds are very nice and large. Nice desk with wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRenovator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stopped off in Pendleton and found this nice place to stay. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, and while definitely an older property, I felt they were keeping on top of the maintenance. The AC unit didn't work exactly right, but it was neither too hot nor too cold so we had a pleasant stay. There are dogs on adjacent property, but they only barked occasionally and not incessantly as I had feared from previous posts. The price was very reasonable and it was a pleasant nights stay.

The TV was older but worked fine and we had great reception on the wifi which was free. Small fridge and coffee maker in the room as well. I had no problems with the staff and found the gentleman at the desk pleasant. If you are one of those people expecting Hilton top drawer service from a basic rural America hotel, then head on over to the $150 to $300 a night places, but if you are looking for basic, clean, and reasonable, then I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, B.c.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were on a road trip and were looking for an inexpensive place to stay in the area. This family run hotel/motel fit the bill. Rooms were a generous size, beds were comfortable and the breakfast provided included fresh fruit and eggs. $40 is a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whistler-Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Plains, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Just thought I'd recommend this establishment for anyone visiting Pendleton. The front desk attendant was friendly and prompt. The room was clean. It is a basic hotel but they did offer free breakfast which was nice. We only stayed one night. Check in was easy and quick. The bed was comfortable and my wife and I agreed we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
2.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#3 of 17 in Pendleton
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#11 of 17 in Pendleton
361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugged Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugged Country Lodge

Property: Rugged Country Lodge
Address: 1807 SE Court Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801-3348
Region: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rugged Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an age of ordinary, experience the extraordinary at Pendleton's only 'bed-and-breakfast motel'. Rugged Country Lodge was completely renovated in 2005; many luxury upgrades to the Dream Soft bedding have been added. Experience for yourself the cozy home comfort we are so famous for! With the distinction of being the only motel in Pendleton featuring the Pendleton Woolen Mills Bedding, we are truly "all that" when it comes to Quality and Value. We offer doubles, suites & single rooms and each room type is decorated a bit differently. All pristine Clean and Affordable rooms are non-smoking, boost luxury pillow-topped queen beds, down and microfiber bedding with triple luxury tone on tone sheeting, refrigerators/microwaves, air-conditioning, Free wireless and cable. Our bathrooms feature original vintage tile in fun colors, spa quality amenities and boutique details. We are now Eco-friendly as well! Enjoy a FREE Continental breakfast each morning in our darling "Rooster Room". In the evening the aroma of home baked cookies, iced tea will greet you upon check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rugged Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugged Country Hotel Pendleton
Rugged Country Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing