We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find on a snowy day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find on a snowy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were heading back east and didn't want to drive in the snow. We found Knights Inn to be a gem in a small town. Its the perfect location right downtown, we ate at Prodigal Son which was great if you want to stay away from fast food chains.

Rooms were clean and spacious. I was pleasantly surprised. The owners seem to be working hard to improve and we had a long discussion before leaving about improvements they will be making this winter. Surya the owner and me had a long discussion about life and life's purpose if we were snowed in longer would love to stay another day to continue our discussion. They mentioned they treat there guests like family and I can say that's true. I would definitely stay again if I come back through Pendleton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with new A/C and Heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you Joaane for your review. I am glad you had a great stay at Knights Inn. We work hard to make sure your night is perfect and you enjoy your stay. Thank you for mentioning about your discussion with Surya my husband. He loves talking with our guests and sometimes those discussions go on for hours in a good way. He does have some inspiring things to say and share and appreciates our guests input.

We do go out of our way and treat our guests no different than we would treat our family coming to stay with us. We love what we do and I hope that you feel that positive energy we try to put into everything we are doing to make your stay great and rememberable.

We hope to see you again,

Sincerely,

Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    158
    78
    29
    19
See reviews for
114
171
43
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hunters, Washington USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Rooms were clean, spacious and staff was very helpful. Room did not have a blow dryer, but office provided one. A real find for a budget traveler. Location is excellent and parking is on site.
We stayed while our motor home was being repaired.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cattlemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review,

Since you have stayed we have begun to add hairdryers to the rooms, plus iron and ironing boards as well as coffee makers. I am glad you found our hotel perfect for your budget.

We are continuing to make improvements that will make our guests stay even more comfortable.

We hope if your travels bring you this way again you stop by or choose to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I placed a call to the knights inn as well as other hotels in the area, and immediately upon speaking with the owner I decided to stay at Knights inn. He was friendly and went out of his way to see to it that we received as many discounts as possible. We stayed there in order to participate in the fall poker round up, and with the casino being just a short 5 min. Drive away we saved a bundle vs. staying at the casino. The room itself was clean, and all toiletries were provided. I'd have to say that the biggest selling point of this establishment is the owners virtuous nature, he have us a call to see to it that our room was satisfactory and checked in with us again upon our departure. Overall just a great place to stay and an awesome value, plus their continental breakfast is pretty darn good complete with OJ and bagels. It's family owned and operated and they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome, I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you really enjoyed your stay and you will find that we extend that hospitality each time you come back to stay. We are continuing to improve our facilities and hope to see you when another of the Poker tournament rolls around this year.

We will see you again soon. Thank s again for the review.

Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierce County
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Location is smack in the middle of town. Hospitality was superb. Clean room. Plus a continental breakfast. Id compare it to a clean hotel in old Dodge City with A hostess like Kitty to great you with a smile every morning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shodogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review, your feedback gives a glimpse of the care and attention we give to our guests. It feels good to know that while we were out of town for a family emergency our wonderful staff continued to provide great service to our guests.

I hope that you come again so we can meet you and have a chance once again get the opportunity to provide excellent service with a smile to you.

Have a wonderful day!
Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is not a fancy place, but well worth the money. The location is perfect, downtown Pendleton. We travel with a big dog and there is a small park and a nice walk along the river nearby. For under 50.00 it was a pleasant surprise to get oatmeal, coffee and a muffin for breakfast. The room had been updated with new paint and new beds. Parking is right outside the door.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are updating our rooms and will provide 5 star quality for a great price and service with a smile. Please come again you can see the changes and we can meet you.

We always have great prices and welcome our guests like returning family. We hope when your travels bring you through Pendleton area again you choose to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Clean, quiet, dated and just what I expect in a budget hotel. Great downtown location in Pendleton, walk to bars and shopping. Parking right outside my door was a nice add on. I'd stay here again for a quick stay and clean place to sleep. One complaint were that the sheets would not stay tucked on the bed and the mattress pad looked like it was sized for a full bed instead of queen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus_O_Really
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is one of the best in town after a long drive because you are able to walk around to all the great restaurants, bars and stores in town. Now with the ice and snow we are the only hotel that has underground parking so you can wake up without having to scrape the windshield.

Thank you for mentioning about the sheets and mattress pad. I will make sure to bring this to the attention of the housekeepers. We will be updating our linens this winter as well as adding some more guest amenities to make your stay more pleasant.

Please come by again if you are passing through this way we would love to extend our great hospitality and warm service to your again.

Sincerely,

Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westland, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

There are several choices in the downtown area of Pendleton, OR. The selling factor of this property was the staff. The new owners were very helpful and courteous. The rooms were good size and the location was ideal to the local flavor of Pendleton. I will always stay here when I am in this area. I can't wait for the Pendleton Round-up in 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We go out of our way to make sure that we treat all our guests with the same warm and welcoming service. We look forward to another great Round up next year and hopefully you will be staying with us.

Thank you again from all of us working hard to make your stay awesome.

Sincerely,

Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
1.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pendleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Pendleton Inn
#1 of 17 in Pendleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#11 of 17 in Pendleton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
0.2 mi away
Pendleton House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton

Property: The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
Address: 105 SE Court Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801-2230 (Formerly Howard Johnson Pendleton)
Region: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pendleton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marigold Hotel Downtown Pendleton offers excellent service without the high price. Come stay in one of our Upgraded rooms. New Beds, Bedding and furnishings, AC/Heater, Coffee Maker, Iron and Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, Alarm Clock, Microwave and Refrigerator. We are located right downtown Pendleton and are walkable to all Pendleton has to offer. Great Restaurants like Prodigal Son, Hamley's, Great Pacific, Cimmiyoti's, and Rainbow Cafe to name a few. Walking distance to the Pendleton underground tours, the Umatilla River, the Pendleton Art Center, near The Woolen Mills, and the Rodeo Fairgrounds and Pendleton Convention Center. After a long drive why not stay where you can stretch your legs and enjoy your evening in Pendleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Pendleton
Pendleton Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing