We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, top location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Value, top location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I booked this because I wanted to be close to some good eating places and it was a good choice in that respect. The breakfast in the morning was just adequate although the owner said he was going to upgrade it. Both he and his wife were lovely friendly people. The rooms were super clean and there was good secure off-street parking for my motorcycle. This was a great value and maybe one of the best located hotels in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    158
    78
    29
    19
See reviews for
114
171
43
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights Thursday thru Monday, great location, you are in the heart of everything and all in walking distance. Best feature of the hotel.

The underground parking was a blessing as it kept the car nice and cool on a very hot weekend. The beds were very comfortable. Price reasonable.

Rooms are small, not much room to put any of your stuff. The "courtyard" is actually the upper parking lot. This made it very noisy as people were coming and going all night as well as leaving early. Rooms are not very sound proof so the constant beeping of car alarms, and people talking outside your door is really annoying. The baby bawling in room behind us could be heard as if it was in our room. Carpet and drapes were old and the room had a very distinct aroma of stale cigarette smoke even though this was a no smoking room. The second day there, the room was not made up or amenities, towels, etc replaced, only trash emptied nothing else done. This was brought to managers attention who apologized, and made up room herself immediately and explained it was a new maid. The continental breakfast is nothing to right home about, cold cereal, oatmeal, packaged Danish, bagels, coffee, tea, milk, juice. One table next to front desk, coffee that is weak and someone believes putting cinnamon in will make it better, if you are going to add cinnamon to the coffee mark it as such and offer plain coffee.

The one thing I just really could not get over was the rooms are cinder block construction, painted over but still make you feel like your in a jail cell. No outdoor seating. Owners are trying, but have a long way to go.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you Lou, for your very informative review. I do believe that our hotel offers the best location for enjoying downtown Pendleton. I feel the need to address your points one by one. You mentioned about the parking, I am sorry you had a problem, If you would have brought it to our attention we could have moved you to a different location so the cars were not a problem for you. Unfortunately I don't have control over a baby crying but if you would have also brought this to our attention we could have call the guests and mentioned to them something on your behalf.
You mentioned about the room getting serviced. I believe it was serviced all three other days and I personally serviced the room for you after you mentioned the new maid overlooked finishing the room. I feel this was taken care of very professionally and in a timely manner.
We offer a variety of items in our continental breakfast, more than is required by our franchise. We try to accommodate the best we can everyone's' liking but sometimes with all you do still nothing can be right. It would be nice to hear some of your ideas for our breakfast so we can improve on the items we offer. The coffee is our own special blend, many of our guests absolutely love it. We do offer plain coffee in your room if it is not to your liking.
Finally regarding the cinder block construction, this unfortunately is out of my control, I have never been in jail so I can not vouch for it feeling like your in jail, if it was such a unpleasant feeling I wish you would have brought it to our attention we could have found other arrangements for your stay and refunded your money. Your happiness is are priority.
Happiness is sometimes a shift that takes only a moment of realization, when you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change. It seems that sometimes once you see one thing wrong all around is wrong. We are working hard and value your opinion but there is a beauty in everything if you have the eye to see. God Bless

Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I come into Pendleton often for business and always stay downtown at the Knights Inn. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are new and most of the rooms have individual heating and cooling units. The owners are so nice, friendly and helpful! They do treat you like family and will always stop and talk.

Best part of staying at the Knights in is the proximity to Hamleys, The Rainbow Cafe, Prodigal Son's Brewery, Joes Fiesta and our favorite Pendleton restaurant, Cimiyottis. It is so nice to walk over after a long day for dinner and cocktails and not have to drive! All of these eateries are a block away - really an enjoyable stay.
G.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your great review. WE are working really hard to make your stay great and appreciate such positive feedback. We have updated lots in the rooms and now that the temperatures are 100+ the new window A/C definitely are nice.
You mentioned our location, I must agree after a long drive what a great location to walk around, and have a great evening and not worry about driving. We hope that when your travels bring you back this way you decide to stay with us. Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Yes, the Inn is in an older building, historic might be a better word. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Owners were great, worked to give us a lower level room as we are seniors with some trouble going up stairs. Very friendly and knowledgeable about area. We made suggestion as we left regarding electricity at bedside and he was very receptive, indicating he would make the improvement immediately. We definitely will return next time we visit Pendleton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review. I am really glad that we were able to accommodate you with a first level room, it really makes it convenient to go to and from your room. We really like your suggestion regarding adding an additional USB plug strip by the bed nightstand. This will be done in the near future.

We look forward to having you stay with us again when you return to Pendleton.

Sincerely,

Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The owner was the high point of the stay. Very helpful and nice, but not enough to make up for the shortcomings of the Inn. Clean, but shows its age - unfinished holes in the ceiling where fixtures used to be "Continental breakfast" was about as minimal as you can go, with nowhere to eat in the hotel - lobby is a hallway, no seating outside, and only bed seating in the room. There are other hotels in a 3 block radius that would be a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea D, Owner at The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for mentioning about our service, as we are always trying to go out of our way to make your stay great. I am sorry you felt your hotel stay was not satisfactory. I am a little confused regarding some of your comments as there were never any ceiling fixtures in the rooms. All of our rooms have wall fixtures. You also mentioned that there was only a bed to sit on in the room, no chairs. All of our 2 bed rooms have a desk with a chair and also an extra sitting chair. I confirmed on your reservation the room you stayed had 2 chairs in the room.

Although I value your input regarding your stay, Its seems still unclear if you are talking entirely about our hotel. Thank you again for taking a little of your time to write a review. I hope that if you come through Pendleton again you give us another chance to provide to you excellent service.

Have a great summer and God Bless you,

Andrea Das
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this room because it was reasonably priced and we simply needed a quick one night stop. We were nervous when we pulled up, it is a little dated but our room was very nice and more importantly it was clean! The beds were comfortable and the owners were so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again. Don't be put off by the outside appearance, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnmill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

When's the last time someone offered to take your bags to your room at a roadside motel?? The owners of this property make you feel like you're family. It's evident that they are putting a lot of work into this motel. Yes, it's an older property, but rooms have been renovated, housekeeping keeps it in great shape and the beds are comfortable. The rooms were whisper quiet, we didn't hear a peep out of our neighbors or from the outside.

If you're looking for an economical place to spend the night and get off the freeway, this is your best bet in Pendleton!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
1.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pendleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Pendleton Inn
#1 of 17 in Pendleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#11 of 17 in Pendleton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
0.2 mi away
Pendleton House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton

Property: The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
Address: 105 SE Court Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801-2230 (Formerly Howard Johnson Pendleton)
Region: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pendleton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marigold Hotel Downtown Pendleton offers excellent service without the high price. Come stay in one of our Upgraded rooms. New Beds, Bedding and furnishings, AC/Heater, Coffee Maker, Iron and Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, Alarm Clock, Microwave and Refrigerator. We are located right downtown Pendleton and are walkable to all Pendleton has to offer. Great Restaurants like Prodigal Son, Hamley's, Great Pacific, Cimmiyoti's, and Rainbow Cafe to name a few. Walking distance to the Pendleton underground tours, the Umatilla River, the Pendleton Art Center, near The Woolen Mills, and the Rodeo Fairgrounds and Pendleton Convention Center. After a long drive why not stay where you can stretch your legs and enjoy your evening in Pendleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Pendleton
Pendleton Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing