We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally located - except for Hwy 101” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humbug Mountain State Park

Humbug Mountain State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Port Orford Ocean Kayaking
Ranked #5 of 11 things to do in Port Orford
Attraction details
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideally located - except for Hwy 101”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This campground was hit and miss. Some sites were good size, with boundaries between your neighbor, others were small and no privacy. The location was fantastic. Just a short walk (.25 mi) to the beach. Be prepared, half of the sites are practically on the shoulder of Hwy 101! The trucks start rolling by about 4 a.m. although there was considerably less truck traffic on the weekend. Facilities, including showers, were clean and well maintained.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“They have a great day-use area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stopped at the day-use area as we were driving down the coast. It is very nice with flush bathrooms, open grassy areas, shade, and picnic tables. There is a lovely creek that runs right beside the picnic area. Looked like there was also a covered group picnic area. It would be a nice place to bring a picnic, let the kids run around and explore the creek.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for a night, average for a longer stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you need a place to stay for a night or maybe two while working your way along Hwy 101, this is a great campground. We spend ~25 night a year in our Coleman Popup camper, almost all of them in state and national forest campgrounds. Humbug Mountain State Park is one of the absolute cleanest, nicely appointed that we have ever visited. The only factor that keeps the rating from 5 stars is the location. Our style of camping is to use the site as a base for exploration. After a good night's sleep, a morning hike up the mountain, and a warm shower we felt that we had exhausted the possibilities of immediate area. For those we prefer setting up in a campsite and spending a few days reading a book while kids zip around the loop on their bikes, this would be a fine spot for multiple days.

The campground has two areas separated by 1/4 mile. The upper loop is much smaller and, during our stay, was the domain of RVs and trailers with almost no people outside their rigs. Many of the spots have well-placed trees and bushes for separation and all of the sites sport level, paved driveways. We stayed in this area and were pleased with the quiet atmosphere. Road noise is a factor from 101, but very acceptable for a campground of this type. It doesn't purport to be a wilderness experience. The lower area is much more the kid-filled, family camping zone. The sites are still nice, though the roads attract the junior biking set and the open field is full of ball games and frisbee tossing. For those seeking a family camping experience it is a good location.

The trail to the top of Humbug Mountain is very well maintained and achievable for those of even moderate fitness. Don't expect stunning views of the ocean. At best you'll get two peek-a-boo views if the sky is clear. You can expect to savor the outdoor fitness experience. Our family relished trail running and had a blast powering up and down the mountain through an attractive forest on a well-kept trail.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRESWEll, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a very nice park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

we have not stayed there yet, but have driven through the campground and it is very clean and we will stay there at some time

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BECKY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hike to the top of Humbug well worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Yes, it is a bit of a challenge, but you will be rewarded for your efforts! My husband and I are in our early 60's, and if we can do it, so can you :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank cinberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Humbug Mountain State Park also viewed

Port Orford, Oregon Coast
Port Orford, Oregon Coast
 
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Humbug Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing