We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable view, comfy beds, helpful innkeeper”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castaway By the Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After an enjoyable visit here last Fall, we were happy to stay at Castaway again. Our room had a broad view of the bay, down the coast, and the boat dock. We sank into the bed at night and slept well. A bright ship's light shone across our room in the middle of the night (an uncommon occurrence) and we could have drawn the shades and made it dark again but couldn't resist leaving them open so we could check the view and the weather from bed in the morning. Yes, the bathroom and furnishings are a bit dated, but with a view like this, who cares? And if you have time, stop in around the corner (750 Ocean Ave.) and enjoy the stylish custom furniture handmade by local resident Rick Cook.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NUmpquaDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean! The view is the absolute best quality of the hotel. The management are friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The beds in our room (condo) were extremely comfortable. The rooms are clean but dated and the drywall had water stains. There was a huge bubble on the wall from moisture. Overall, a pleasant stay but there are some repairs that need to be completed before I could rate it above three stars.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onlineprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We've been coming to Castaway almost every December for 10 years! We love the fabulous view of the harbor and bay. We had a 3 point buck come up off the bank last night and gaze at us while we watched him 10 feet away from our window. Our host, Rockne, is always helpful and engaging. We appreciate the welcoming feeling of the whole area, and seeing how local merchants support the community and how the community supports the local environment. It's been a delight to be there every time!

Room Tip: Talk to Rockne about your wishes. He knows the place well and is eager to make your stay a pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The furniture in this room was straight out of the 70's. The bed was uncomfortable. The staff was nice but there is nothing nice I can say about the room. The people who run the hotel live up above and we could hear them moving around late at night and early in the morning. The view is the only thing nice about this place.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room under the owner's home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heymon1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The motel lies in a very, very quiet place with a superb view south over the Oregon coast. It is literally cast away by the Sea but just follow the huge arrow with “Ocean View” on the road when you come down the 101 from the north and you will find it.

You get a friendly welcome from the owner but watch out for the cat on the desk who may have other ideas. He may strike you with soft pawns.

The apartment had a bedroom, large living room with two sofa's and an easy chair, kitchen with all equipment, large freezer, etc. From the enclosed veranda you can have good views of the ocean and coast. Everything is a bit worn but that adds to the charm.

The bathroom was clean and had a tub.

The apartment seems more equipped for a prolonged stay.

The TV had a good selection of channels and free WiFi internet worked well with sufficient speed to watch streaming media.

Breakfast is not included but there is a good small restaurant nearby, just north on 101.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed one night and wish we could have stayed two - our room was very clean, roomy, the view was wonderful, and the bed super comfortable. Talk about quiet - it was so quiet at night that you could hear the waves quietly lapping at the sand. The owner/manager? who checked us in was friendly and helpful about what to do in the area. Nice walking area for our doggie.

The Castaway sits above the Harbor which is a short walk or drive. We enjoyed eating there and wandering around. Nice beach to that our dog enjoyed.

This property has been maintained and we totally enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank outdoor97419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Not alot of choice in this small coastal town but a great getaway with your honey. Had a great stay, comfy and private. Fabulous back view of the ocean. Clean, more rustic.Very friendly front desk. Would stay again, great quiet time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabber456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.7 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
930 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
701 reviews
22.1 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
24.0 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway By the Sea

Address: 545 5th St, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465-8626
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Price Range: £57 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing