We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are back again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castaway By the Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We are back again”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We are back again for our third time. Rockne is great and makes us feel like family. We had an upper room this time and the view is even better which is hard to believe. We were there for a week and wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    59
    21
    13
    4
See reviews for
30
95
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I were travelling for our honeymoon and greatly enjoyed our stay at Castaway. It was the only Motel on our journey but the room, while dark, was clean and the owner of the motel was incredibly friendly and accommodating. My only criticisms would be a) that the rooms need better lighting; and 2) that the power outlets are worn and won't hold heavier power adapters for electronics like computers.

This is not luxury but for the price 4-stars is certainly fair.

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor might provide you with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our way to meet our daughter and family in Cannon Beach, OR. Pet friendly. Absolutely beautiful location. There are suites, but we stayed in a room on the back that had an absolutly awesome view of the ocean. The owner was super! I didn't get to talk to him, but my husband found him very interesting. If you stay here, you must eat at Griff's down on the water. Yummy, yummy, yummy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After an enjoyable visit here last Fall, we were happy to stay at Castaway again. Our room had a broad view of the bay, down the coast, and the boat dock. We sank into the bed at night and slept well. A bright ship's light shone across our room in the middle of the night (an uncommon occurrence) and we could have drawn the shades and made it dark again but couldn't resist leaving them open so we could check the view and the weather from bed in the morning. Yes, the bathroom and furnishings are a bit dated, but with a view like this, who cares? And if you have time, stop in around the corner (750 Ocean Ave.) and enjoy the stylish custom furniture handmade by local resident Rick Cook.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NUmpquaDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean! The view is the absolute best quality of the hotel. The management are friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The beds in our room (condo) were extremely comfortable. The rooms are clean but dated and the drywall had water stains. There was a huge bubble on the wall from moisture. Overall, a pleasant stay but there are some repairs that need to be completed before I could rate it above three stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onlineprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philomath, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We've been coming to Castaway almost every December for 10 years! We love the fabulous view of the harbor and bay. We had a 3 point buck come up off the bank last night and gaze at us while we watched him 10 feet away from our window. Our host, Rockne, is always helpful and engaging. We appreciate the welcoming feeling of the whole area, and seeing how local merchants support the community and how the community supports the local environment. It's been a delight to be there every time!

Room Tip: Talk to Rockne about your wishes. He knows the place well and is eager to make your stay a pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The furniture in this room was straight out of the 70's. The bed was uncomfortable. The staff was nice but there is nothing nice I can say about the room. The people who run the hotel live up above and we could hear them moving around late at night and early in the morning. The view is the only thing nice about this place.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room under the owner's home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heymon1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.7 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
24.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
22.1 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
24.0 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway By the Sea

Property: Castaway By the Sea
Address: 545 5th St, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465-8626
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing