We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, reasonable price, good value!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castaway By the Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise,AZ
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great view, reasonable price, good value!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night while working our way up the coast. Very friendly service at check in. Sure, the decor is dated, but it was clean and the lighting in the room was very good! The view of the bay is outstanding and so relaxing! After it got a bit chilly and windy, the enclosed sun porch right outside our room was a welcome respite with still the wonderful view. Good recommendation for Griffs as a place for fresh seafood down on the dock. Our only complaint was the bed; it was very soft and so we didn't sleep all that well. But this is still a really good blue for the price, considering that view!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AZSWtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    59
    21
    13
    4
See reviews for
30
95
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
450 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

An older place but well maintained. Our room had a glassed in porch and chairs overlooking the bay which was just great. The bed needs to be replaced but that is the only negative. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location facing the water. We got the last room. A dredge had arrived in the bay and we had fun watching it. Quiet area. Friendly staff, amazing view, good price. The mattress could probably be replaced and the tub needed a quick rinse, but mostly, we were sitting on the sun porch looking at the view! If you like taking pictures, this is the place for you!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G_K09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Yes, we enjoy the glitz of Vegas, the pampering in Key Largo - but once in a while a good raw experience can't be beat when on the Oregon Coast. Location is perched on a bluff, away from the freeway and overlooking the Pacific – accessed on a dead end road. The property manager (owner?) has high standards for preserving peace/quiet and cleanliness here. Views and rooms vary widely… so it’s a good idea to call and inquire to your specific desires.

Room Tip: South side rooms on upper levels have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent location and friendly service. The rooms are large and clean, with good facilities. My main problem was the darkness of the rooms, whose windows look out onto a passageway/sun porch, then onto the view beyond. The decor was a little dated/drab, and the mattress was old and lumpy. I'd recommend it for a night on the way through, but not for a long stay. Good breakfasts in Port Orford!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms (around the back of the office) are dark! I don't know whether the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wadhurster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was traveling up the Oregon Coast, and decided to stop for the night in Port Orford. I found this gem on a cliff above the harbor. The owner was very nice. Nice rooms, nothing fancy, but clean, well maintained, with a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view. I had a first floor room, which allowed me to just step outside an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Took our first trip up the Oregon coast. We just drive till we were tired! We stopped in Port Orford and found a charming little motel over looking the ocean.....clean, convenient, and the owner was very accommodating. We would definitely go back ;)!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewingsdoings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.7 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
24.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
22.1 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
24.0 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway By the Sea

Property: Castaway By the Sea
Address: 545 5th St, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465-8626
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing