We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castaway By the Sea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed 3 August 2007

We expected more than we got. We rented a kitchen unit, #9. The refrigerator had a large doorknob dent in the door, the dining table has a "sticky" feel that we couldn't eliminate even by cleaning it ourselves, the kitchen counter and silverware tray had crumbs in them, the microwave was missing its glass turntable, the wall plugs are so old they won't "hold" something that's plugged in (such as my electric shaver) - had to bend the prongs on the plug to make it stay in, the ceiling over the tub has a large broken open paint blister, the ceiling over the bed has a large water stain, one of the night stands has a bottom drawer that falls "in" when you go to open it, formica trim is peeling off the kitchen counter, the ceiling lights have some burned-out bulbs in them, but worst of all is the bed and the pillows. The mattress is awful; hard and unyielding. The bed pillows are flat, like planks, with a pillow case on them. They have no loft at all, and my neck and head hurt in the morning. Got very little sleep.
The whole effect of the room was that of being old and worn out. No two pieces of furniture or lamps were the same. A hodge podge of 70's era stuff. This place has a wonderful view of the port and the ocean, but needs significant remodeling of the interior. We will not go back to the Castaway.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank aging64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    59
    21
    14
    4
See reviews for
30
97
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
322 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

We stayed here for 3 days and enjoyed it very much. Our apartment was clean, the kitchen was adequately equipped, the living room furniture was fine, the bed was a little soft, but we thought it was excellent value. The view from our unit was incredible and we loved the enclosed porch which kept you out of the wind. I would think it would be great for storm watching. Rockne was very interesting and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Spacious apartment with wonderful views
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Castaway by-the-sea Motel
December 2006

Stayed here one night in December. We just wanted a clean room and since it was late in the day it really did not matter if we had a great view. Our room was down stairs and it did have a nice view. Nice benches outside to sit and watch the sunset.
The problem is we were told we could park by our room, It's mud and gravel.
The room was older and I thought it could have been cleaner. I went to take a shower and there was no shampoo. The bathmat had mold on the bottom of it.
No coffeemaker in room either.

Helpful?
5 Thank 123togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
199 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2006

This place has a 5 star view. We rented a 2 story condo for the same or lower rate than a deluxe hotel room with ocean views. This was our 4th week on the road and it was heavenly to be able to spread out. We had a fully equipped kitchen with a decent set of pots and pans. We found a grocery and treated ourselves to a home-cooked supper and breakfast.

Condo could have been cleaner. The refrigerator was dirty and smelled like fish. We made do with our cooler. The space and the view made up for any deficiencies in the housekeeping.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 December 2005

The place had great views --although you had to look through a general closed courtyard-- but no coffee pots in the rooms and the hotel desk did not open until after 9:00! --For close to $100 a night (actually, many rooms are much costier), would it really kill them to put a $10 coffee pot in each room? No friges, either, and the host was pretty unfriendly. But place was clean.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2005

Castaway is a great place to stay. Had a nice room overlooking the port and a great enclosed sunroom. Hotel was more than adequate for a couple nights' stay and the owner was a good guy. Attractions: Paula's for a nice dinner ($50 for two, which includes wine with dinner and cocktails afterwards, although local Brad may have bought our last round. Thanks, Brad.); Battle Rock City Park is right off 101 and it's a great place to fly a kite. Also, climb Battle Rock, but mind the poison ivy; Paradise Cafe has good food at good prices; the drive-thru espresso shop between the Castaway and Ray's market served a cheap and delicious breakfast. The coffee was strong, too; finally, Pitch's Tavern has a decent juke box and the pool table costs a mere 25 cents per game.
Get your Orford on!

Helpful?
14 Thank Impapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.7 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
506 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
668 reviews
22.1 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
122 reviews
24.0 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway By the Sea

Property: Castaway By the Sea
Address: 545 5th St, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465-8626
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing