We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in a Storm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
WildSpring Guest Habitat
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Orford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dundee, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sanctuary in a Storm”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at WildSpring on the last leg of a coastal road trip. Our plan was to use this as a base for a little exploration of Port Orford and the environs. We came into town just as a big wind and rain storm hit. Our beautifully appointed cabin (loved the shower) was a welcome sanctuary from the violent weather. The sound of the wind in the trees was incredible! The great guest hall offered terrific views of the stormy sea. The grounds are spectacular. The weather didn't allow for us to wander around too much, but we loved the different trails with their alcoves, seating areas, and sculptures. The fall rains had brought up mushrooms everywhere. We'd love to visit when the native iris are in bloom.

The breakfasts were generous and tasty. We enjoyed meeting the other guests in the morning. The guest hall is a great space to just sit and watch the ocean. The weather didn't really permit us to sit on the outside decks...we can only imagine how sweet that would be.

Dean and Michelle have done a great job in pursuing their dream and we are thankful that they share this with us. Two days was not long enough and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    12
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
156
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I work in the travel business and am not easily impressed. WildSpring is beyond impressive. It is a magical property with world class service (service that makes you feel well taken care of and yet not smothered). The property slogan "this happened because two people fell in love" is evident in every facet. From the meticulous maintenance of the property to the blueberry corn muffins....WildSpring is clearly the result of loving ownership.

Green Features: WildSpring is one of the most environmentally responsible properties I've been to.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaPiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Taking The Road Less Traveled Is Always Better

After the R&R we enjoyed at Margot's Bright Airy Studio In The Trees, we continued our 40th Anniversary Celebration with a relatively short three hour drive through Southern Oregon to our ultimate destination in the small coastal town of Port Orford. As we left I-5 behind and headed west to the coast via State Road 38, the diversity of this beautiful state afforded constantly changing views of forested mountains, farmlands, moose laden plains and mountainous sand dunes seemingly in the middle of nowhere. And the views of natural beauty only increased as we headed south on the famous US Route 101-Pacific Coast Highway, which runs through Washington and Oregon all the way to Southern California. Some may need a little Dramamine to handle the twist and turns, but we were so enamored with the constantly changing scenery, the thought of motion sickness never entered our minds.

And the town of Port Orford makes certain that you will not miss the "big picture". As you enter this small enclave of 1,200 citizens, it's impossible to miss the word "OCEAN VIEW" painted in twelve foot high letters on the pavement with a giant arrow pointing up a very steep hill. As you arrive at the crest of the hill, there before you is one of the most breathtaking sites of the Pacific shoreline you will ever encounter. WOW-WOW-WOW and WOW!!!

How About A Late Lunch?

After catching our breath from our first introduction to the beautiful Southern Oregon coastline, we decided to see about lunch. In a town the size of Port Orford, one would not expect to find many fine food establishments. Not so fast my friend! Our first taste of this small fishing village with a definite sense of style was fish and chips at The Crazy Norwegian. Entirely fresh and all good, this little hole in the wall eatery serves real, fresh expertly prepared seafood. Don't be thrown off by this little place's humble exterior. The food served inside its even more humble interior is second to none.

After lunch, we headed onto the loop road that leads to the place we would be staying for the next four days, Wild Spring Guest Habitat. Turning into the gravel drive of this smallest of places to sleep for Incurable Romantic Nomads, I knew right away that we had landed on Planet Nirvana. Wild Spring is not so much a hotel, and it certainly is not a typical B&B. It is, in fact, exactly as its web site describes:

WildSpring is a small, eco-friendly resort in Port Orford, 60 miles north of California. Private and secluded, on five acres of old Native American grounds, it offers comfortable luxury in a naturally beautiful environment.

Four days at Wild Spring reinforces the notion that places like this make travel worth the sometimes onerous planes, trains and automobiles we have to use to actually get to places like this little piece of God's country.

Tripping The Light Fantastic - Art, Nature and Nirvana Achieved

According to writers who concern themselves with such things, Tripping The Light Fantastic involves dancing nimbly or lightly - moving in a pattern to musical accompaniment. In various iterations, this phrase has been used by writers and playwrights from Milton to Shakespeare. Now I am not one to go all metaphysical on my legions of Nomad fans, but, hear me when I tell you - Wild Spring Guest Habitat brings out your ability to "dance on your toes", at least metaphorically, if not literally. The unique combination of towering trees, cool gentle breezes, local sculpture, found art work and the smell of the Pacific make for a perfect place to achieve something so rare in this insane world of warp speed living and 24 hour bad news cycles - real peace and tranquility - Nirvana.

After a day of beach walking, art gallery hopping, coastal road tripping or just enjoying the many attributes of this amazing Pacific wood - they even have a Walking Labyrinth for those inclined to get centered or dizzy, depending on your perspective - the five elegant cabins make a definitive statement that Wild Spring is all about quality, design and pure comfort. From the love seats in the small living room to the large tiled shower to the comfortable pillow-top beds, these eclectic, art filled cabins provide all the comforts any Nomad needs for rest and sweet dreams. In keeping with the eco-friendly concept of this unique property, the cabins are heated with in-floor radiant heating to ensure toasty comfort at night when the temps get in the low fifties. With a roomy front porch, complete with rocking chairs and strategically placed outdoor furniture, these intimate modern casitas in this small forest can be enjoyed to the fullest extent morning, noon and night. And best of all - no telephones or television. They do have a small flat screen you can watch movies from their extensive DVD library if you so choose, but in this place, what would be the point? To ensure absolute privacy and relaxation, you never see the creators/owners of this great place, except at breakfast or if you need something, which you can request via the in-room intercom.

Nomads Need More Than Just A Well Appointed Cabin In The Wood - They Gotta Eat!

The great southern comic Brother Dave Garner said "Man does not live by bread alone, he must have peanut butter". Well we didn't see any actual peanut butter, but, the daily morning feast provided was delicious and healthy to ensure every resident Nomad got their day started with a proper meal. In addition to a freshly prepared hot dish - frittata, quiche, bacon, etc. etc. etc., - the spread included fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, yogurt and home made cinnamon scones that would win any Nomad's hungry heart. And this daily ritual is served in a well appointed "Guest House", complete with an eclectic array of comfortable furniture and an ample deck overlooking the Pacific. The Guest House, in keeping with the eco-centric design of the place, is a short two minute walk through the forest from the cabins. Of course they have a full kitchen for preparation of food for other meals if you so desire.

One of the great features of staying in such a small place is the opportunity to talk with the people who conceived it and operate it with an obvious passion and true concern for their patrons' well being. In talking with an owner of a place like Wild Springs, you get a kind of personal history of how such a unique property came to be. As an architect, I was not only impressed with the site and the buildings, but also the design approach and eco-sensitive methods of construction used to keep intact the natural beauty that drew the owners to this piece of land in the first place. Adherence, both architecturally and ecologically, to sustainable and environmentally sensitive design ensures that Wild Spring will remain true to its ethos of high quality and low impact.

You Heard It Here - Port Orford Has Great Food, Great Music and World Class Art

In addition to the great digs at Wild Spring, this part of the Pacific coast is like Big Sur for Cheap Nomads. Big Sur, as amazing - and expensive - as it is, has nothing on the Southern coast of Oregon. And, in comparison to Central California, the prices here will make you and your bank account feel better. In addition to incredible natural beauty, the small fishing village of Port Orford has great food, great music and numerous art galleries to suit big and small pocketbooks - everything a wandering Nomad needs to eat, drink and be merry. In addition to The Crazy Norwegian, if fine dining is what you seek, then Free Range Oregon Chicken Supreme & Prawns on White Truffle Polenta with Sangria Buerre Blanc and Broccolinni at Redfish will fill the bill. They have killer steaks too. A small, progressive jazz/folk trio from Texas provided a nice accompaniment to a fabulous meal with a front row seat overlooking the rugged Pacific coast.

With over sixteen different artists displaying work in a variety of media, a must visit for serious art collectors and enthusiasts (people who love art with no money to spend on it) is The Hawthorne Gallery. There are numerous other galleries featuring work by mostly local artists as well. And one of the most unique art installations ever conceived is a short drive from Port Orford in the small seaside town of Brookings. The Washed Ashore Art Project features massive sculptures constructed entirely of various debris, plastic and otherwise, found in the ocean. It's both a fascinating look at the creative use of found trash and a disturbing reminder of the carelessness and stupidity of human beings who think the ocean is their personal garbage can.

After enjoying one of the USA's most beautiful places and enjoying the natural luxury of Wild Spring Guest Habitat, this inspiring piece of God's Country is near the top of The Nomad Architect's Places To Sleep Before You Die. And best of all - not a single Atlanta Bread Company in site (See previous post -Blazing The Nomad Oregon Trail( Part One) !


Wander With The One You Love Nomads,

D.L. Stafford
thenomadARCHITECT

Room Tip: There are all good.
See more room tips
Green Features: This place walks the walk and talks the talks and more. From the sensitive site planning to the use of natural products, it's the most eco-friendly place I have ever stayed.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOYLE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Wow.....this takes our breath away! Thank you SO much everything you've said about WildSpring and our cool little area. We're over the moon with this! I suspect there will be a parade whenever you return...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Wildspring Guest Habitat is a magical, mystical pairing of the best of our Oreon coast where the rain forest meets the ocean. Every detail is lovingly placed I create a beautiful, serene experience for the guests. Not a single detail is overlooked. We stated for two nights for our combined birthdays and anniversary celebration and we were inspired by the setting, the beauty, the details, the peace, and the magic. Doug and Michelle have thought of everything. They are kind and warm, helpful in every way when needed but allow guests to determine how much interaction is had with the proprietors. Breakfast is incredible in the very inviting guest hall. Doug made a little something special every morning in addition to the huge variety of basic options from which we could select a healthy breakfast. We frequented the guest hall during the day for coffee, snacks, and games. The hot tub was beautiful, perfect temperature, and amazing setting. The grounds overall were the place of my childhood dreams. The walking labyrinth and every other tiny detail made this a place of meditation and escape from our stressful lives. The cabin itself left me breathless. It inspired us for what we want to create in our new home in order to have that same sanctuary at home. We truly decompressed and got away from it all here. We even took advantage of the in room massage from a local masseuse and we were not disappointed. This area has high quality massage therapists equivalent to anywhere you might travel throughout the US. We highly recommend Wildspring Guest Habitat for those seeking a laid back, serene place to return to from your day's adventures on the Oregon coast or if you are looking for a place to escape the daily routine and just be somewhere simply magical.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I have greatly enjoyed my stay at WildSpring! The setting, in a grove of beautiful trees, is incomparable. The service is impeccable - they have thought of everything and the attention to detail is superb. I can't say enough good things about this place, only that I recommend it highly and will be sure to visit here again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayGal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It was clear from the first email we received from Michelle (co-proprietor with husband Dean) that we had chosen THE place for us. Private cabins (set amongst beautifully and artfully native//natural landscape), keyless entry (you could come and go without seeing another person if you so chose), and a gorgeously appointed, fully stocked, kitchen (set in a separate bldg which is a beautiful lodge looking out over the coastline) to cook dinner if a meal in town is not in your plans (having dined in town I recommend using their kitchen! ). The outdoor hot tub - a 4-foot deep outdoor pool, heated to perfection, out among the stars, entering through a serene Japanese-style pergola/gate, was the perfect end to our evening. But I have not mentioned our two hosts...Michelle and Dean are what makes this place special. It is their energy, their creativity, their commitment to guest's joy and serenity that make this a must for anyone passing through. We won't forget them or what they have created. (Keep your eyes and senses open when you visit...sprites, fairies and other spirits abound).

Room Tip: There is NO cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerdpete10013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is the second time I have visited, and both times I was struck by the sublimity of the place. But it is also cozy, the hosts are warm, the breakfast is superb, and the WiFi is fast. There is no other place on the Oregon coast that comes close to it. The ultimate ... go into the pool late afternoon or early evening, caress the Pacific with your gaze, now foggy then sunny. You have not experienced the coast until you have been here. And then there is the brilliant playfulness of the objets d'art at the oddest places on the grounds.

Not cheap, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPHvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
24.5 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
668 reviews
22.0 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
122 reviews
23.9 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WildSpring Guest Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WildSpring Guest Habitat

Property: WildSpring Guest Habitat
Address: 92978 Cemetery Loop Rd, Port Orford, OR 97465-9562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WildSpring Guest Habitat is a small eco-friendly resort overlooking Oregon's spectacular south coast, offering luxurious accommodations in a peaceful, naturally beautiful environment: Five lovely cabin suites filled with art and antiques on five acres in a private residential forest of 100-ft trees. Guest Hall and lounging deck to relax and hang out, sculpture garden and open-air slate spa - all overlooking the ocean. Spa robes, massages, WiFi, walking labyrinth. Free breakfast buffet and over 600 DVDs for free incabin movies. EV Charging station free for guests. An Oregon Bed & Breakfast Guild member and Oregon Coast Birding Trail site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildspring Guest Habitat Hotel Port Orford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing