We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 cottages in the forest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
WildSpring Guest Habitat
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Orford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“5 cottages in the forest”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

All reviews are in the eyes & experiences of the beholder. That being said, for us this place was over rated and over priced. At $300 a night, we like just a little more service, or a fabulous view that makes up for it. So, for us this place was lacking. I don't like to clean up after myself at breakfast, for instance, when I'm on break :)
Also, the cabins are small and crowded with stuff. You have to take a cart with your luggage, & then return the cart to the car park, & it was raining & chilly. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cachirulatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi, we're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would have been happy to come down and handle your luggage if you had called us on the intercom at the little checkin gazebo when you arrived (this is so guests don't have to come all the way up to the office just to check in). And while it was nice you felt the need to clean up after yourself at the breakfast buffet, that wasn't necessary. As far as the view, the rain probably obscured it.

As we explain in our website, we design our service to be behind the scenes. We try to ensure anything our guests need is right there when guests first realize they need something, and anything else, we are always there and answer the intercom 24/7 to offer any assistance needed....whether it's bringing a bottle of wine to your cabin or making dinner reservations, or coming down to help you and your luggage back to the car when you leave.

WildSpring is a different kind of place and we go to great lengths on our site to make sure people understand that before they choose to stay with us. Vacations are important and we hope you found the rest of your trip more to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    12
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
153
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The property is lush, green, and tranquil. The outdoor sculptures add interest and character. The cabins are exquisitely appointed, comfortable and relaxing. The main guest house is perfectly situated to allow one to enjoy a lovely ocean view while enjoying a delicious and bountiful breakfast. Looking forward to returning to this great spot with friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreesandLeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a nice place to stay when you need to slow down and relax. We were impressed with the effort the owners have taken to make this a unique and special place. We were a little frustrated by the check-in process and were scolded by Michelle when we entered the office... we were told that we should have brought the email which she sent to us 3 months earlier, which would have explained the check-in process. I forgot to apologize for leaving it at home in Minnesota. DOH! I have read many reviews describing how warm and friendly Michelle & Dean are but we didn't feel that at all.

We were disappointed that they take such a 'hands-off' approach (self service check in and check out, notes left on your door). We only saw Dean for a few minutes at breakfast, and never saw Michelle after our scolding. I am discovering that B & B owners that claim to "leave you alone" are really saying we don't want to spend the time or energy to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying yourself. Lazy?

Anyways, we still enjoyed ourselves. WildSpring is a small, eco-friendly resort, 60 miles north of California and on the outskirts of Port Orford, OR. It is private and very secluded on five acres of towering old growth pine trees, which make a beautiful and mysterious canopy over the five cabins. It is an ideal location for exploring nearby beaches, towns and State Parks.. or like us, a perfect place to relax and unwind after a long day of driving. Very quiet and peaceful.

Our cabin was cozy but not elegant. Furnishings were a little dated and the cleaning staff missed a few things. I am being nit-picky here, but after all you are paying top dollar so the expectation is top quality accommodations & service.

Hot tub was a great experience with the view of the ocean and gentle breezes cooling us down. The breakfast was just OK. I would probably not stay here again. For my money, I would want to check out something else.

Room Tip: Each cabin is unique... yet similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigdaddy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi, we're so sorry you found parts of your stay with us disappointing, especially our simple - but unusual - checkin process. We don't have a formal lobby, but we don't make guests come all the way up to the office just to check in. If you had used the intercom in our little checkin gazebo in the entrance, we would have been happy to come down, show you to your cabin and help with your luggage. When you knocked on our door after hours, I remember asking if you had the email we had sent a few weeks before so we'd know which cabin you were in... since I was away from the computer at that moment. I'm very sorry that sounded like I was scolding you. Certainly not my intent. Since we're so remote, we designed this system to allow guests to check in at any time without feeling they have a deadline.

And, our hands-off approach is to allow guests all the peace and privacy they desire, but I'm always in the office to help, and Dean is always walking around for the same reason. We explain this in great length in our website so guests come here understanding what it's going to feel like to stay here. No one has enough time and money for the vacations they need, so we want people to understand what they will - and won't - experience here.

Our furnishings are an eclectic mix of art and antiques, and the photos on our site try to capture each room from every angle. We understand antiques might seem a bit dated, frankly that's the point. You stayed in Barenton, which our guests tell us is the most romantic.

We are most sorry you found our housekeeping had missed a few things and really wished you had let us know while you were here so we could correct them immediately. We will discuss this with them and go over our quality-control procedures.

We hope your next vacation is more to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Every corner you look, every amenity is carefully curated and thought through. The cabins are lovely, comfortable (the most comfortable beds), warm, have great showers and cute front porches. The ground are naturally beautiful sunlight peeking through the trees as hammock are strung about across the forest. The breakfasts are to die for and everything is quality. The cozy guest house is always open and welcoming. A beautiful hot spa overlooks the ocean. This place is so peaceful. Port Orford is beautiful. Highly recommend dinner at Redfish for a special night out. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a peaceful, upscale cabin experience my husband and I had. It was hard to leave our cabin in the woods! The main guest house, the artistic detail, the organic, healthy, delicious, plentiful breakfast, low key and attentive hosts were all so welcoming. The ocean views and sunset was outstanding and memorable. Looking forward to many more stays.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any cabin.
See more room tips
Green Features: Every detail thought out by the owners. Menus well planned not to be wasteful. Ease and access to recycling available.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaPalmHarbor_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Every detail of our stay at WildSpring bespoke care and aesthetic consideration. While the appearance is rustic, the detail is top-drawer, including the first comfortable pull-out I have ever experienced. We loved the fire laid daily in the wood-stove, the quiet colors, the good reading lights, the big walk-in shower, and even the window-coverings. We saw witty sculpture interspersed with amazing greenery and the deepest (4 ft) hot-tub ever: I did water aerobics in a storm and it felt glorious. The owner transported us up to the breakfast room (sumptuous spread, delicious food) so that my frail companion wouldn't have to walk, and when we got lost in the stormy night (It's lovely and dark and we weren't paying attention), he kindly guided us home.

Room Tip: Cabin 3 is large and private enough for non-related companions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madwomanintheattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at WildSpring on the last leg of a coastal road trip. Our plan was to use this as a base for a little exploration of Port Orford and the environs. We came into town just as a big wind and rain storm hit. Our beautifully appointed cabin (loved the shower) was a welcome sanctuary from the violent weather. The sound of the wind in the trees was incredible! The great guest hall offered terrific views of the stormy sea. The grounds are spectacular. The weather didn't allow for us to wander around too much, but we loved the different trails with their alcoves, seating areas, and sculptures. The fall rains had brought up mushrooms everywhere. We'd love to visit when the native iris are in bloom.

The breakfasts were generous and tasty. We enjoyed meeting the other guests in the morning. The guest hall is a great space to just sit and watch the ocean. The weather didn't really permit us to sit on the outside decks...we can only imagine how sweet that would be.

Dean and Michelle have done a great job in pursuing their dream and we are thankful that they share this with us. Two days was not long enough and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
24.5 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
22.0 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
23.9 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WildSpring Guest Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WildSpring Guest Habitat

Property: WildSpring Guest Habitat
Address: 92978 Cemetery Loop Rd, Port Orford, OR 97465-9562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WildSpring Guest Habitat is a small eco-friendly resort overlooking Oregon's spectacular south coast, offering luxurious accommodations in a peaceful, naturally beautiful environment: Five lovely cabin suites filled with art and antiques on five acres in a private residential forest of 100-ft trees. Guest Hall and lounging deck to relax and hang out, sculpture garden and open-air slate spa - all overlooking the ocean. Spa robes, massages, WiFi, walking labyrinth. Free breakfast buffet and overt 600 DVDs for free incabin movies. An Oregon Bed & Breakfast Guild member and Oregon Coast Birding Trail site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildspring Guest Habitat Hotel Port Orford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing