We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like heaven...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
WildSpring Guest Habitat
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Orford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Maryland
1 review
“Just like heaven...”
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We just got back from our 15th anniversary at WildSpring. So you can imagine our hopes for the place. It was even better than we expected, I can’t understand anyone who wouldn’t see that. My wife couldn’t believe how beautiful the cabins were decorated. The attention to detail was evident everywhere we looked, they thought of everything. The cabins are in this green quiet forest with deer roaming around telling us to relax, and the sea view part of the place invites us to sit and absorb the ocean. We loved sitting on the deck, hearing the surf over breakfast (quite a spread each morning, recommend the crunchy topped muffins) and watching the sunset over the water from the lookout. But the hot tub was the best. Looking out at the lights on the fishing boats, under all the stars, surrounded by the trees, it was the perfect place to be sweethearts again. They even arranged for flowers, champagne and chocolates waiting when we arrived. And to anyone who complained about this place, sure it helps for you to read a few things to understand all the stuff that’s here and how to take advantage of it, you can’t believe how different this place is until you stay here. But my wife thinks I’m a hero for finding this place. We’ll return.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank robopunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    12
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
158
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Though our stay here was a short one, we were enchanted with everything we experienced. The cabins are located in a beautiful stand of redwoods, with sculpture-adorned pathways leading throughout the property. We arrived just in time to catch the fluorescent pink and orange Oregon sunset from the main house, and then meander back to our cabin to rest up before dinner.

We almost didn't make it back out to dinner as the bed was so incredibly heavenly and the silence of the forest so welcome. But we dragged ourselves out to Paula's (?) for a fantastic dinner, where the chef created a custom vegetarian entree for my partner. Mmmm.

Upon returning, we took advantage of the hot tub - the owners thoughtfully keep the lights down, presumably to improve star gazing conditions. We appreciated it. The tub was really hot - just how we like it, and impeccably clean. We made tea in the kitchen and took it back to our cabin.

We slept like babies, but, determined to get an early start, we were up to enjoy breakfast at 9 am (early for us!). The breakfast was perfect - healthy and decadent at the same time. Delicious coffee, home cooked oats, muffins, tons of fresh fruit, nuts, condiments, cheeses - the list goes on. We filled out a form the night before with our special requests and were most pleased. We breakfasted on the large front porch with great views, despite the morning chill.

It was really hard to leave, but our experience was wonderful here.

  • Liked — The absolute silence. The hot tub. The breakfast. The cabin. The list goes on.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innkeepmendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Wild Spring offers a very lovely, quiet and serene accomodation away from the stresses of the world. My husband and I originally were to spend one evening however prolonged our stay to two evenings. Lovely private cottage offering more than ample space (sitting room, bedroom and bathroom). Grounds are well kept; views breathtaking. Owners have good attention to detail including respecting one's privacy to enjoy their serenity at Wild Spring. However, a friendly face was always available to insure that things were going well. Breakfast offered was full continental which was good especially with the ocean view seating. Seating near Spa to enjoy a glass of wine while enjoying the sunset was also awesome. Only comment is that my husband and I love hot showers; showers in our cabin were lukewarm, at best. This is by no means a negative, just a personal comment on our liking. I wish Dean and Michelle best of luck in their endeavor at Wild Spring. It is definitely a place I'd like to visit again.

K&C
Malvern, PA

  • Liked — Peace and Serenity
  • Disliked — Nothign
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdoneganfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, 29 October 2008
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here, but we are so sorry about the shower. We just had a guest let us know there was a problem with their shower in Barenton, cabin 4, which we assume was yours, too. We found one of the elements in the water heater had burned out and we replaced it, which solved the problem. But a good hot shower is so important and we're sorry we didn't know about the issue so we could fix it for you or move you to another cabin immediately... with a bottle of wine for your inconvenience. We have since checked all the water heaters to ensure proper operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We stayed a few nights at this luxurious cabin in the woods on our recent holiday in Oregon. It was truly one of the most comfortable and luxurious accommodations we have ever stayed at and we enjoyed the experience.

There are five cabins in total well separated from each other so that nothing impedes your inner sanctum! The whole place is designed for peace and relaxation. Hot beverages are available throughout the day and access to the kitchen would be a nice plus for whoever would like to prepare themselves a meal.

You can tell that the owners are detail-oriented as there are umbrellas sitting on the porch of each cabin - a cart for lugage that is environmentally friendly - little sitting areas throughout the grounds, etc.

The only thing that was a bit strange was that you check yourself in and exchange with the owners only if you have a problem or a question ... through a PA system. Otherwise you exchange information (like requests for breakfasts) through a plastic blue folder that is left magically outside your door. There is a hot tub but that is by request only and we couldn't bring ourselves to ring that buzzer to ask for that (that is our fault, we are canadians). We would have likely met them for breakfast but chose not to partake of it as it was served too late for us east-coasters - 9:00.

The place is pricey no doubt so if you are going to stay here, enjoy the grounds and the luxury of the cabins - that makes it worth it.

  • Liked — cabin itself (nice bed, beautiful shower)
  • Disliked — breakfast was too late
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, 19 October 2008
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and found the special details helpful. We try very hard to anticipate our guests' needs in both large and small ways.

As far as not meeting us, we also try not to intrude on our guests in case they prefer solitude. We are always around, however, in our office and on our grounds, in case a guest would like to chat or has any questions. We look forward to meeting you in person during your next visit. Please just let us know.

And, we'd just like to point out that as an energy sensitive facility, we try to only turn the spa on when guests are more likely to use it - it's on every evening automatically, but we are happy to turn it on at any time during its available hours at guest request: which is from 9am to 10:30 pm in the warm months, and from 3 to 9:30pm in the winter.

Thanks again for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Very private upscale cabin decorated with antiques and art. Big lush towels and robes in the luxurous bath; beautiful linens and comfy beds and cozy sofas in the sitting room. Delightful complimentary breakfast to be enjoyed in the guest lodge or patio overlooking the ocean. Deer and bird sanctuary where you can share your morning walk with a timid fawn while wandering through the sculpture garden or watch wales and passing seals. We are hoping to visit again for our 4th time very soon.

  • Liked — Clean, delightful, quiet.
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Debusee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Ore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Nice but a couple of caveats:
The only ocean view is from the community building where breakfast is served and from the hot tub. The cabins are all back in the trees and somewhat dark.
The breakfasts are self serve and were the same each morning. I was less than satisfied with oatmeal and the usual fruits and breads.
The most desirable part of the property is where the owners house is located, next to the community building. I had the feeling that while the guests were staying in their modest (but spendy) cabins the owners were enjoying the best views 24/7 from their rather luxurious house which is screened off from us peons. They drive to their house, we park at the entrance and carry our things to the cabins. Definitely a 2 class society.
Expensive for this part of the Oregon coast.
Some evenings there is only 1 restaurant open Port Orford and the nearest towns are roughly 30 miles away.

  • Liked — cute cabins
  • Disliked — too expensive
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank frefel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We spent two night at Wildspring and loved it. The cabins were clean and although they were a little close together, very peaceful. The setting in the trees and the meandering pathways through the sculpture laden grounds added to the peacefulness. The not tub is a great place to soak with a view of the Pacific, and the main hall (with plenty of games) and deck are a great place to relax in the evening. The owner was very attentive and the breakfast was healthy and delicious. I would definitely go back.

  • Liked — The peacefulness and setting
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
899 reviews
24.5 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
528 reviews
22.0 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
126 reviews
23.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WildSpring Guest Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WildSpring Guest Habitat

Property: WildSpring Guest Habitat
Address: 92978 Cemetery Loop Rd, Port Orford, OR 97465-9562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WildSpring Guest Habitat is a small eco-friendly resort overlooking Oregon's spectacular south coast, offering luxurious accommodations in a peaceful, naturally beautiful environment: Five lovely cabin suites filled with art and antiques on five acres in a private residential forest of 100-ft trees. Guest Hall and lounging deck to relax and hang out, sculpture garden and open-air slate spa - all overlooking the ocean. Spa robes, massages, WiFi, walking labyrinth. Free breakfast buffet and over 600 DVDs for free incabin movies. EV Charging station free for guests. An Oregon Bed & Breakfast Guild member and Oregon Coast Birding Trail site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildspring Guest Habitat Hotel Port Orford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing