We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey and private, right in the heart of NW Portland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portland International Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 34 Portland B&B and Inns
Bellingham, WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homey and private, right in the heart of NW Portland”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

While traveling to the Oregon coast we needed to spend one night in Portland, and hate staying in corporate hotels. Found this gem on TripAdvisor and made reservations online. The rates are amazingly reasonable, the place is clean and welcoming. The night we arrived it was 95 degrees in Portland, but our room had air conditioning, so we enjoyed a good night's sleep. Tim the host was as accommodating as could be and made us feel so welcome. Besides the room there was a nice lounge for reading or watching tv and a well stocked kitchen for making snacks. We'll definitely stay there any time visiting Portland again.

Room Tip: There are pictures of the rooms online to help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
58
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

One thing that is really important for me as a single woman travelling is: safety, comfort and location. This place had it all. I was hesitant about the shared bath but it was never a problem and always clean. Tim is great, very helpful and sweet. This place just has a wonderful vibe to it. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romangirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Really loved the location of this place, 1 block from awesome restaurants and lots of shops, 10-15 minute walk straight downtown/pearl district. Or the street car is about 4 blks away. We stayed in Room 1 and it was very spacious. If I stayed here again I would try to book one of the other rooms though as this one was right next to the bathroom and kitchen and in the morning could be a little noisy. All the other rooms seem to be tucked away better. Bathrooms were spotless and there is a big kitchen with free toast, jam, cereal, milk, coffee etc... Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red_mittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Portland International Guesthouse for 4 nights and loved every bit of it. The guesthouse could not of been cleaner or better well kept. The kitchen was equipped with everything one would need and some simple breakfast items (coffee, tea, orange juice, milk, cereal, and bread) were provided free of charge! They also have several free maps and resources to help you explore Portland. The house is in an awesome location and is in walking distance of almost anything you could want. This was our first experience staying in a house with other guests sharing a bathroom and common space, but it all went well and we never had any wait time for the bathrooms. We will definitely be back to visit and highly recommend you check this place out as well!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cevans14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I stayed here with my partner for a couple of nights while we explored the beautiful city of Portland. The bed was extremely comfortable, the facilities were clean and well-stocked with clean towels, shampoo, body wash, etc. It was so quiet and we hardly saw any other guests so it was like we were in our own home/hotel. The kitchen has everything you need, including a hot water pot for tea. We spent most of our time out exploring Portland, but I wish we had more time to relax in this great space. It's incredibly affordable, and perfect for young couples looking for a different experience while traveling. I can picture my mother loving this place as much as I did, so it's pretty great for all ages. We will absolutely stay here again if we end up in Portland again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peaceplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I stayed at the PDX International Guesthouse for 2 nights and Tim was very gracious by telling me all about the area, restaurants, transportations and how close it was to bars, restaurants and sight seeing... Great room, slept very comfortable, great facilities and loved the kitchen/breakfast. Will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeloDelRaudal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My husband and I needed a place to stay for a week while we visited our son (a resident of Portland). The Portland International Guesthouse suited our needs perfectly. We found the guesthouse to be clean and quiet and in a fabulous location near quaint shops and public transportation. Tim was friendly and accessible and accommodating. We heartily recommend this comfortable and welcoming guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggih012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#8 of 143 in Portland
1,068 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 143 in Portland
1,489 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 143 in Portland
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 143 in Portland
2,810 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland International Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland International Guesthouse

Property: Portland International Guesthouse
Address: 2185 NW Flanders St, Portland, OR 97210-3405
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing