We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portland International Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Sentinel(Portland)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paramount Hotel(Portland)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
110
14
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
14
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrader joeshome away from homeshared bathroomguest houseentire place was spotlessalphabet districtinternational rose gardencool neighborhoodgreat wifibus stopturn of the centuryquiet streetclose to downtownmy entire staywithin blockscommon areasqueen bed
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Can you imagine a CLEAN, charming, cheap, comfortable oasis for travelers in a great location in Portland? The one where breakfasts are included in the price? Where you are welcomed so warmly, that you know you will come back as soon as your trip will take you back to Portland?
It is hard to imagine that, I know, however, Portland International Guesthouse offers all mentioned and much more. It is an ideal place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Guest_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

It was perfect! Exactly what we were looking for. The photos on the website were limited so we weren't sure what to expect, as we lugged our bags up two small flights of stairs to our 3-bed private room. Opening the door though, we knew we'd be okay. It was fully furnished by Ikea, so there wasn't really a massive personal touch to the room, but the house still retained a lot of character. The kitchen downstairs had adequate fridge/shelf/storage space for the 6 (I think?) bedrooms in the house, and was never too crowded. I didn't go into the one common room much, but it looked very clean and homely, with a TV, telephone and lots of local guides.

The ground floor (as you come in the door) just has one computer that I never had trouble getting onto. The first floor has the kitchen, common room, a few bedrooms and one bathroom. The top floor (ours) has one bathroom and (I think) 3 bedrooms. I was a bit worried about shared bathrooms, but was pleasantly surprised that everybody was very respectful and kept them incredibly clean after using them. The floor was never wet, and there was never any hair stuck in the plugholes or anything!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixvixvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Simple,CLEAN, comfortable, great location, easy walk to wonderful neighborhood shopping options, neat on-site amenities (access to a washer/dryer, computer/web access, kitchen, common sitting room w/TV, balcony, on-site resident owner and manager) - during the summer months pick a room with A/C-It was 'cookin' while we were in town and the room with ac made a difference! Welcome to Portland, Tim - Hope its more than you wished for!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights here over 4th of July weekend, 2009. It was even better than I expected. Rooms 2-5 are upstairs, and share a bath. The bathroom is simple but spotless, never had to wait in line for anyone and the place was booked full. Room 1 and the suite are on the 1st floor and also share a bath. There is a full kitchen, w fridge/microwave/dishwasher and a computer with internet at the entrance, and tons of Portland guidebooks in the living room.

The rooms are smallish but clean, simple and comfortable, with full sized beds and furnished from the local IKEA. The location can't be beat, Nob Hill is the best place to stay in Portland. There is a Trader Joes a block away for groceries and tons of restaurants and shops a short walk away on 21 and 23rd streets. We walked downtown and to the Farmer's market. Almost everything you might need is within walking distance and we used the lightrail a lot as well, it runs everywhere and often. We actually took the lightrail from the airport to the baseball field stop and walked the 6 or so blocks to the guesthouse(cost was 2.30 each).

We did have a rental car(the Enterprise down the street is about 50% less than the airport one), and the guesthouse provided a free parking permit for street parking. Parking was pretty easy, obviously if you get back late in the evening you might have to park a couple of blocks away, but we always found a spot.

Honestly the only con I can think of is that we somehow managed to hit a Portland heatwave, and there is no AC in the rooms. The upstairs rooms are all right above the attic so it was 90 degrees up there and it didn't cool off until 3 am, with the fan going full blast. Luckily the heat didn't last and we were comfortable the rest of the trip.

Also, don't confuse this with the International Portland Guesthouse Hostel, which is a few blocks down the street and full of backpackers. More questions? Feel free to email me.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milehighgaldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I spent 5 nights here during a conference and it was absolutely perfect. Cheap, great location, easy, and clean. It was everything that you want out of affordable lodging - so painless you don't spend a second of your trip thinking about it. I loved the fact that it is near but not in downtown, and right next to the 23rd St strip. I loved that checkin and checkout were dead-simple. I loved how clean the place is kept, and how responsive the owners are. I loved how quiet it is, and that they have great wifi. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay in Portland, this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmxperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews