We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the Hampton Inn Airport--Portland, OR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Ranked #38 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Hampton Inn Airport--Portland, OR”
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We booked at least one of the nights as a rewards stay through Hilton Honors. This was a super clean hotel, and the staff were what I’d expect to find at a 4 star hotel: They helped me bring up my luggage without even being asked, and they checked in 15 minutes later to make sure the room was satisfactory. At least the first floor and common areas looked fairly updated to us. We did go across the street to the Embassy Suites to try to do laundry and get a drink and thought it looked like more of a zoo, and that the Hampton has better service and is a better value. Oh, and if you take a quick shuttle (1 min.) or walk to the airport, you can get right on the train and go anywhere. Highly recommend

  • Liked — great staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Midwestcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    240
    102
    36
    17
See reviews for
178
200
76
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

Stayed one night before a 6:30 am departure. There is absolutely nothing around these airport hotels, so make sure you eat and get what you need before you check in.

Check in had a line-up, but we got our room relatively quickly. Room was large, but had the feel of an 80’s Ramada. Everything was a bit worn, carpet was a bit stained, etc. etc. I don’t have high expectations for cheap airport hotels, and this Hamptom reinforced that once again.

The staff we met were very friendly and helpful, however.

There is an ok continental breakfast selection in the lobby, just what you need before you get on an early flight – don’t expect to fill up with a full breakfast though.

Early morning shuttle was filled to capacity, a couple people had to wait for the next one.

  • Liked — Close to PDX
  • Disliked — A bit worn out - needs updating
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 June 2006

The Driver/security Guard, Dan, is very abusive in his powers. I had stayed one night previous and on my way out to catch a flight I received a phone call so I pulled over in their parking lot. After 10 minutes of being on the phone Dan the driver verbally assaulted me. As I retorted he called the police. The General Manager didn’t want to get in the middle of the problem since Dan had called the police and she retreated to her office. The Police arrived and I was told I was trespassing and that I could go to jail. Dan sat there smug as could be having abused his authority. I could not believe that the General Manager would allow an employee to treat guests like this, especially guests that are loyal to Hilton and stay with them on a weekly basis.

Very sad, I would very much discourage any stay at the Hampton Inn Portland OR Airport until Dan the bus driver is properly restrained. If you must stay there at least be very cautious of the bus/shuttle driver Dan. He is very volatile and will abuse his authority when presented the opportunity.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2006

What a great value hotel. The weekend rate was just unbelievable and included one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in, a great free breakfast that included scrambled eggs and meats, a computer and printer in the lobby to print your boarding pass, and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madeinhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
304 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2004

Earlier this month, I took my stepson to LA ... flights were full and we had to travel via Portland. What a pleasant surprise to find this new hotel ... we paid $30 for a weekend night. This included a king bed with a sofa sleeper, and breakfast in the morning. The airport was about 3 minutes away.

Shuttle service at midnight is a little dicey, and in the morning, you are in competition with more people than their van will hold.

For the price, it was no major inconvenience. The staff was efficient, if not completely pleasant.

I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristow, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2004

Great airport hotel that employs very friendly and helpful staff and has clean and well equipped rooms.

Helpful?
2 Thank stanpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2004

Stayed here about 20-30 times during 2003. Flew in on business from the east coast and spent two nights each stay.

Place typical Hampton Inn. Good rooms, good value price-wise. Not quite as well set up for business use as is a Marriott Courtyard, but workable.

Hotel is clean and well maintained. Staff is friendly and helpful. Beds are really comfortable (great night's sleep).

Breakfast is satisfactory - nothing extraordinary - but it looks like Hampton Inns country-wide are upgrading their breakfasts. There are a number of restaurants a mile or so down the road. The Sheraton, right next-door, has a good restaurant (their salmon dish is great!).

Consistently had trouble with their soda machines. Ended up stopping at a 7-11 (not real handy on trip to motel from airport) to get a couple of Diet Cokes because I knew the machines at the motel would be empty or not functioning. Their availability of munchies not great.

They have wireless internet access - but no business center in the motel - but you can use the business center in the Sheraton next door (but that has only one computer - and is often busy). The Sheraton also has a bar - but it is, in my view, something of a dive. No class at all.

All in all - good place to stay when flying in or out of the Portland Airport. Stayed there many times and will continue to do so if I fly out to Portland again.

Helpful?
5 Thank Pfadfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Address: 8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demonstrating so many of the elements which are uniquely Portland, The Hampton Inn Portland Airport is a sure thing when visiting the city, whether for business or pleasure. Moments away from the PDX Terminal, we are a short drive to downtown and within minutes of most major businesses serving the Portland area. Of course we offer everything you have come to expect of Hampton. A fresh, hot breakfast served daily, a freshly laundered Cloud 9 bed and our 100% Guarantee. For the families on the road we extend a warm welcome with coloring books during breakfast, movies and video games in the room and fresh baked cookies nightly in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing