We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to the airport, but not much else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Ranked #37 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient to the airport, but not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is nearly adjacent to PDX, but is in an area that really doesn't have a lot of services. I found the staff attentive and the amenities of the hotel just fine for a Hampton, but I would not recommend staying here unless your only goal is being close to the airport. There are few restaurants in the area and it is quite a haul to other areas in Portland. I did appreciate that, although they did not have a hotel restaurant, the hotel offers a discount on meals at the Sheraton next door which does have a restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    239
    102
    36
    17
See reviews for
177
198
75
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem OR, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Staff was awesome, shuttle service was excellent....great job! Everyone was very helpful, rooms were clean and airy. I like your park and ride service. I will definitely stay again as well as put guest up here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa fe nm
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The bed / mattress is consistently comfortable. The rooms are always very clean; and Hampton always serves always good breakfasts. We can count on Hampton Inn's quality. And the snack store has a wonderful variety of items.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank nancyw303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

When I saw ear plugs in my room, I thought it was to block out the sound of airplanes. I quickly discovered a better use was to block out the sound of the other guests. Room doors are very heavy and lead to loud slams. Walls are so thin you can hair dryers, tv and conversations.

Around midnight a family checked in and thought it would be appropriate to play in the hallway and yell at each other. Even if they were whispering I would be able to hear them, but their volume would have been an issue even if they had normal walls. I called the front desk to ask if they would say something to them and you would have thought I was asking her to give me her first born. Still disturbed on her reaction and rudeness. I was not asked how my stay was when I checked out.

I am a frequent Hampton Inn customer, but won't ever return to this location. Next time I will try Embassy Suites across the street.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveFunTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed over night at the Hampton Inn before a morning flight. It was pretty typical of a Hampton Inn but I had a couple issue.
The first thing I noticed was the lumpiest comforter I've ever seen. It looked like some one washed something that should not be washed. Throw it out, it's time.
Second problem was the blow dryer worked for exactly 30 seconds before it overheated and shut off. I had to leave the hotel with wet hair because I didn't allow time for mishap with the blow dryer. It looked pretty old.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This property was clean and the staff was friendly. I was not satisfied for the price I paid for an average hotel. I am not complaining about this property or staff however when you talk about location and bang for your buck I definitely expect more. Furthermore if you opt to take the shuttle and do not have a car, you are stuck with what you have in your suitcase and the closest pizza delivery joint.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Close to airport in what felt like a decent enough location. We felt safe leaving our rental car parked there. Staff were super friendly and accommodating, checking us in well before the set time. Breakfast was great and they had free cookies available all day :-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Address: 8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demonstrating so many of the elements which are uniquely Portland, The Hampton Inn Portland Airport is a sure thing when visiting the city, whether for business or pleasure. Moments away from the PDX Terminal, we are a short drive to downtown and within minutes of most major businesses serving the Portland area. Of course we offer everything you have come to expect of Hampton. A fresh, hot breakfast served daily, a freshly laundered Cloud 9 bed and our 100% Guarantee. For the families on the road we extend a warm welcome with coloring books during breakfast, movies and video games in the room and fresh baked cookies nightly in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing