We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Ranked #41 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was surprised by this Hampton's upscale furnishings and décor, much better than the average Hampton Inn. I'm a Diamond member, so I stay at either Hampton's or Hilton Garden Inn's frequently and this hotel was even better than most Garden Inn's.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a typical Hampton Inn with all the pluses and minuses of this type of hotel. The only negative is that the hotel is next to the PDX runway so if you are a light sleeper this is not your hotel. At this stay the staff was above and beyond because of the Portland city water problems

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Well, if you're looking for the spa in Downtown Portland, that's one thing. If you're looking for an affordable, clean, well run establishment, this is where you stay. I hate the idea of any hotel with the word "airport" in the name. Totally unsexy. But my husband and I had a one night layover, and thought, eh, it'll do.

From the moment we entered, we were greeted by a smile and an incredibly informative guy at the front desk. Sorry I don't remember his name!

Q&A:
QHow much is a taxi to downtown A: $15-$20.
Q: How do we get one? A: a card magically appears on the counter with a taxi service "I call one"
Q: How long for a taxi to get here? A: 5-10 minutes
Q: How long is the drive to downtown? A: 10-15minutes
Q: how far is the airport from here? (we had driven into town and were returning a car) A: a map magically appears and he draws a line to show us how to go.

The rooms? Well they are touting standard hotel furniture, impersonal, who cares but the bed is comfortable and firm, the white duvet shows they aren't afraid of cleanliness issues (no paisley covers here) very tasteful. Bathroom small but fine.

I left my earrings on the bedside table. Called to see if the maid had found them. She had! (HONEST MAIDS!) The woman at the front desk promptly mailed them back to me.

WHY WOULDN't YOU STAY HERE?

Room Tip: I was told higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gingerfurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean rooms, friendly staff, convenient to the airport. Free breakfast and shuttle to the airport. Plenty of parking but not convenient to many places of interest our restaurants. Very reasonable priced!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank RickLee0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff at check in. The shuttle to and from the airport is quick and convenient. The room we were given smelled strongly of cigarettes. When we called down and asked for a different room the lady said she would call right back. We waited a half hour and never received a call back. We called again and she was rude and said she was extremely busy with guests and if we wanted another room that bad we should come down and get in line. We said no thanks that we would stay in the room even though it smelled of smoke. The room itself seemed clean and comfortable otherwise. Breakfast was better than average with potatoes and sausage in addition to a waffle maker and the other usual choices. The breakfast area is large and cute. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank suv-mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were in town for our sons wedding and stayed there one night. The day we checked in they had a fire drill that was planned but we were not told about it so we evacuated with the staff. They were extremely generous by comping our room and breakfast for our inconvenience. The room was clean, the bed comfy and worked well for our short stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is nearly adjacent to PDX, but is in an area that really doesn't have a lot of services. I found the staff attentive and the amenities of the hotel just fine for a Hampton, but I would not recommend staying here unless your only goal is being close to the airport. There are few restaurants in the area and it is quite a haul to other areas in Portland. I did appreciate that, although they did not have a hotel restaurant, the hotel offers a discount on meals at the Sheraton next door which does have a restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland-Airport

Address: 8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £99 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demonstrating so many of the elements which are uniquely Portland, The Hampton Inn Portland Airport is a sure thing when visiting the city, whether for business or pleasure. Moments away from the PDX Terminal, we are a short drive to downtown and within minutes of most major businesses serving the Portland area. Of course we offer everything you have come to expect of Hampton. A fresh, hot breakfast served daily, a freshly laundered Serta Dream Structure bed and our Hampton Guarantee! For the families on the road we extend a warm welcome with Hampton coloring pages during breakfast and fresh baked cookies nightly in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing