We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable bed, but noisy airport location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Ranked #38 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“comfortable bed, but noisy airport location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The rooms are great with a fantastic mattress. The breakfast was great. The staff was always very friendly. The hotel shuttle service was always there for you. What more can I say about the place except if you are a light sleeper, make sure you have your ear plugs ready. The landings and take offs from PDX will interrupt your sleep from 5:00am until well after midnight. One runway seems to be only 100 yards away from our room window. The hotel is nice, but the location as one of the closest hotels to the airport, will make me think twice about staying here again. A good nights rest is important. Maybe an extensive sound proofing for the rooms is the answer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street and not the runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    258
    107
    41
    19
See reviews for
187
212
83
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
yakima, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I get this hotel whenever flying out of PDX. It is one of the best hotels and we always feel welcome when we arrive. Last time we stayed we left too early for the hot breakfast but we got a nice breakfast anyways.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel was great. The room was clean upon arrival. The hotel is right next to the runway, but the noise from the planes was not bad at all. Plus, the hotel shuttle to the airport was quick and easy. Also, if you wanted to travel to downtown Portland, the shuttle can drop you off at the airport and you can easily ride to the light rail downtown for $5 all day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dieter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We bought a park and stay package at this hotel in July 2014. We left our vehicle for 11 days and then had a nice comfy place to stay when we returned from the east coast. Staff were friendly, rooms are clean and fresh and there is food nearby. A nice hotel with a good value when using the Portland Airport. Also if you like to watch planes land then this place is for you as it sits adjacent to the runway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front of the hotel, away from the runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Robbie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you are flying out early you can be confident that this hotel will get you to the airport, there were at least 10 of us travelers able to take the hotels shuttle to PDX at 5:00 AM. Bed was comfortable, AC was quiet, staff was busy but efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NezandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for about 6-7 hours after a midnight flight arrival and before an early morning flight the next day. It has a free shuttle, and you can call the hotel for the shuttle after your bags arrive. The hotel is conveniently located basically on the airport grounds (you can see a runway from the hallway). The shuttle driver and check-in staff member were both pleasant and professional.

The room was clean and nicely furnished with typical Hampton Inn furniture. The bed was plenty comfy. There is a breakfast set-up in the lobby but we didn't eat there. The shuttle in the a.m. got us to our departure door at PDX quickly.

Here's some tips for those of you arriving on a long, late flight like we did but have no car to go and drive to find something to eat after midnight. I actually called the hotel staff several days ahead of our arrival in an attempt to figure this out. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but there is a very small "store" off the lobby where you can buy frozen stuff like Hot Pockets, I was told (I saw the "store" but didn't check it out). I was also told by a staff member that the same hotel shuttle stops at another hotel on the airport grounds that is next door to a 24 hour IHOP and although the driver cannot take you to the restaurant directly they can drop you off and pick you up at the hotel next door. We did not try this, but fyi. I was also told by the hotel that a local Dominoe's will deliver to the hotel 24 hours/day, but I went online to check this out and it isn't true - for the night we would arrive they stopped at midnight. So, what to do?

Figuring that PDX gets lots of late night arrivals from the East Coast, I looked up their guest services number and called them. A very nice woman gave me the best solution to landing all tired and hungry ... There is a 24 hour "Oregon Market" in the terminal where you can pick up "grab and go" sandwiches before you go down to baggage claim. So you can buy a little late night dinner and take it with you to the Hampton Inn. Of course, once we landed we weren't hungry so we didn't pick anything up at the Oregon Market.

I kind of wish the staff person I called at the Hampton Inn was a bit better informed about late night food options, so I'm passing this info along to you in the hopes that my "research" will be helpful to someone!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is located very near the airport and two metro stations nearby (they call it the MAX rail), so access to the city is good. There is a shuttle service that can take back and forth. Moreover the rooms are very clean and the staff are quite friendly. I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
0.9 mi away
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Address: 8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demonstrating so many of the elements which are uniquely Portland, The Hampton Inn Portland Airport is a sure thing when visiting the city, whether for business or pleasure. Moments away from the PDX Terminal, we are a short drive to downtown and within minutes of most major businesses serving the Portland area. Of course we offer everything you have come to expect of Hampton. A fresh, hot breakfast served daily, a freshly laundered Serta Dream Structure bed and our Hampton Guarantee! For the families on the road we extend a warm welcome with Hampton coloring pages during breakfast and fresh baked cookies nightly in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing