We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, price, amenities, nice... a little older, but clean and updated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Location, price, amenities, nice... a little older, but clean and updated”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Summary~ Recommended! Clean, spacious, friendly, conveniently located and priced better than some a tad newer. Stairs make upper floors a pain to take luggage to, but once inside some views are worth it.

The Inn:
I've read reviews on this first and found our differing opinions interesting. My experience is that I've stayed at the location many times. To answer another reviewers question, it is an older site, but has great square feet and some other plusses with mature plants that make it very quaint. All suites, and little spaces to sit, eat, talk etc. Even when I go alone, I like room to breathe.

I've also stayed in other Res Inns as other interviewers, but I do find differences. This one is pretty dang consistent in keeping things fresh and clean, and food coming until it is time to be done. Front desk staff have been very courteous in my experience. I love that they have an outdoor pool. Many Portland hotels opt for indoor because of the 9 months of rain :). But when its nice out, man its sweet to take a dip in a clean pool and catch some rays.

The area:
The location is in a mixed bag part of town. It is a few minutes by tram or car to the trendiest part of Portland these days, the Pearle District with it's fab dining and high end shops and it's sister neighborhood, the eclectic 23rd Ave, which is a must visit. You can walk to the MAX (mass transit that in Portland is not in the bus category).

I've literally stayed at this Res Inn and never rented a car, which for me, I only do in Honolulu other than this location. You can get to airport, malls, downtown and have a blast just hitting the rail system. At the same time, watch the time of day and when you're out, especially alone as a woman. The other part of the location is interesting locals who aren't in the cleaned up areas, and they give off a street mojo, so like most cities, you still have to be aware and not be dumb.

Room Tip: If stars are tough, ask for lower room, I don't think that they have elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: Especially in Portland, this is a big deal. I think it's great here. Some places take it too far and you feel like your vacation is not truly a splurge. Not here. They conserve, but you have water pressure and clean linens and towels as you wish. Good balance.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it. I am glad to hear that you love staying at our hotel and and continue to return. We try to make each experience a positive one. We also try to be very consistent in our service and cleaning so that everyone knows what to expect when coming to stay at our hotel. Although, if there is ever anything extra that we can do for you while you are with us, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    134
    57
    27
    8
See reviews for
125
74
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My first impression walking into the lobby of this hotel was that I felt like I was entering a bar. The lobby area was very loud due to the close proximity of the front desk to where guests were taking the evening meal. Fortunately, the desk staff was very welcoming and explained where my room was located, how to access the internet, and the meal times.

The property itself is okay but didn't feel as "fresh" as other locations. Perhaps it's a bit older. The stairwells to the upper floors are very narrow so I was glad i didn't have a large bag with me.

My room was comfortable with the standard kitchenette and seating area. I was a bit surprised that there was not an ironing board or iron in the closet. I can't remember the last time I was in a hotel that didn't have them.

Breakfast the next morning was the usual eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, etc.

I've stayed at Residence Inn Properties in other cities and usually had a pleasant stay. This location left me feeling let down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feed back after staying with us a the Residence Inn by Marriott Lloyd Center location. We are a generation one hotel which is set up with outside enterances to all guest rooms. We have a great staff at this location and I am glad you feel that way as well. We will make sure that the rooms are equipt with all ironing supplies, as they should be. I hope you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, BC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Have not stayed at a Residence Inn for a few years and maybe this is as good as they ever were. Good location, but was disappointed with the design knowing this was extensively renovated recently. The bathroom counter is very low even for a 5'10" person. It's the same level as the kitchen table. The faucet is so close to the edge of the sink that it's hard to actually wash properly. The shower head is basically useless. I want a decent shower for $200/night! The outside stairways and landings are dirty. Don't want to touch the handrails. Luckily the upstairs guests slept in this morning. The ceilings are creaky when someone walks up above.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stasho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond to us about your stay with us. We unfortunately did not meet your, or our own expectations, and will use some of the items you discussed to retrain or continue to focus on areas of improvement. Although we have recently had a renovation, we are an older property that still has some obstacles to hurdle, and will do what it takes to establish a friendly and asthetically pleasing property where guests such as yourself can come back and feel as if you are getting value out of your dollar. Thanks again for staying with us, and hopefully we will see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This place is the best kept secret in Portland. Was disappointed at first when I saw it was located by Lloyd Center but when we got there, was pleasantly surprised at how well appointed it was in a great area! Can't say enough:
Rooms - roomy, clean, beautiful, delightful, etc, etc, etc.
Staff - friendly, nice, charming
Breakfast - THE BEST
Happy Hour - wine and beer and munchies - WOW!
Parking - free and ample
Pool - didn't use but seemed nice.
Internet - great!

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed. Guess near the parking lot would be better.
See more room tips
Green Features: All great! Towels can be used again. Don't know why they keep saying I didn't fill out this box but I am adding just to get this done!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
We are very glad you had such a wonderful stay with us. We try to do all we can to make it a great experience for all of our guests. Thank you for your review and we hope that you can come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We reserved a 2 bed bi-level loft and was surprised to find the king bed in the open loft and then the queen bed in the private bedroom. We the parents, would normally want the King bed in the private room...apparently all the bi-level lofts are set up this way. Disappointing to us considering the room rate was on the higher side for a Residence Inn. I will not stay again knowing this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Our hotel has great access to the Lloyd District and downtown Portland. Our 2 bedroom bi-level lofts were built to accomodate larger families that needed to stay for a longer amount of time. I am very sorry our room set up was a surprise to you and it affected your stay negatively. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and unfortunately we were not able to change the room set up to meet your needs. I hope you give our location another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The room was very nice - beautiful design, comfortable beds, good kitchen with stove, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection, but not enough food and space for large crowd of hotel guests - very messy.
The location of the hotel was not the best for us. It was far from all nice Portland areas. It would work for people who are there for a happening at the convention center, but not for tourists. We did not feel safe leaving our car at the hotel parking lot - the window of the car parked next to ours was shattered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grasias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lay out of our suites! We are a generation one property that has more of an apartment feel, which can be an advantage for leisure and business travelers alike. As for the breakfast space, we will make the meeting rooms upstairs in the gatehouse available to alleviate the congestion that might occur in the buffet area, especially when we are at a higher occupancy. Thanks for giving us your feedback, and we hope to see you again when you are in the Portland area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
489 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in a ground floor studio room. It was comfortable with a full kitchen and a fireplace. The hotel is very convenient to the Lloyd Center mall, MAX line, restaurants, and interstates. The free parking is a great plus since hotels that are more downtown charge up to $39/day for parking. The included breakfast was extensive - waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, bagels, muffins, etc. And the brewed coffee in the restaurant was strong and good. The staff was friendly and always ready to help.

Room Tip: Since there are no elevators, chose a lower floor if you don't want to carry suitcases up flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us! Our location definitely can be a major convenience for leisure and business travelers alike, and the free parking can be a rarity these days. Your business is very important to us, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Convention Center
#76 of 141 in Portland
328 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Address: 1710 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2138
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland Downtown Lloyd Center Residence Inn by Marriott is a warm and welcoming place to call home during your travels. Enjoy the comfort of this all-suite hotel and the pleasure of a great location for your active lifestyle. Only a few minutes from Max Light Rail and easy freeway access, this extended-stay hotel in Downtown Portland is the perfect spot for on-the-go travelers. Corporate travelers appreciate amenities focused on their individual needs. Our free wireless anywhere Internet access helps keep you connected to e-mail from colleagues. Corporations like PacifiCorp, Kaiser, Knowledge Universe and Providence Medical Center are minutes from the property. This Portland destination hotel is the ideal location for vacationers. Situated in the heart of the Lloyd Center District guests are just minutes from all the excitement. Hop aboard the MAX light rail and travel to and from the Portland International Airport or head west to over to the Oregon Zoo. Within walking distance to the Oregon Convention Center and dining on Broadway and minutes from the Rose Quarter Moda Center and Memorial Coliseum for live entertainment. Enjoy tax free shopping at the Lloyd Center Mall and Ice Rink or take in a movie at the Cinemas across the street. Settle in and stay in spacious suites, which include full kitchens and an ample working area. Take a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool or enjoy a great work out in the 24-hour Fitness Center. Jump start your day with our complimentary breakfast buffet and return in the evening to our Social Hour (M-W) featuring a light meal, beer and wine. Self Parking is available for $10 per night for overnight guests. If you're traveling on business or pleasure our friendly and proficient Marriott staff takes pride in making you feel at home. Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing