We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

It's a nice hotel for the price. It's quite a drive when it's traffic to downtown, and there is always traffic in this not very big city.
Rooms are big, beds comfortable. Breakfast is ok, eggs, ham, bagels, some limited fruit, coffee, tea.they have free soup and salad at night, which would be nice if it was good. Soup was just awful, salad is not very fresh. You also get two drinks in a small bar for free every night.
So, you get quite a bit for free. I used their sauna which was nice and hot. Steam room basically doesn't work, it's cold and strangely functioning.

It's good for families with small kids. There is a pool, lots of kids running around. If you are looking for something more sophisticated this place is not for you. Ambience is simple working class people, who get loud in a bar, eat tons of food for breakfast. But overall it's a nice place to stay especially if you consider the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanochka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    404
    124
    46
    24
See reviews for
486
359
42
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and all of the good reviews were true. During a rainy weekend in the Portland area this was an excellent home base. From the fabulous women at check-in who upgraded us to an executive suite at no extra cost, to the munchies at the reception, to the hot breakfast, to the fabulous room, it was a great stay. If there was any downside, it would be that the hotel was very popular that weekend and is obviously used by tour groups, so the reception, breakfast, and pool were very busy. However, the staff worked hard to keep up with demand and kept everything moving and clean. And, in spite of it being a full house, we never heard any noise near our room at anytime during our 2 night stay.
One suggestion for management: institute an adults-only pool time. Those of us who've been-there, done-that, would really appreciate some quiet time in the pool/spa/sauna.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LW_Seattle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Rooms were reasonably priced. Was a short drive into Downtown Portland.

It was a little tricky for my GPS to guide me to the hotel the first time from the airport, but once we found it we were good to go.

The rooms were pretty standard, nothing to complain about there. They were clean and the bed was comfortable.

The morning breakfast was easily the best breakfast offered at any hotel that I've stayed at. The dinner service was okay, but there are enough other eating establishments in the area that I went elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I booked this hotel since I had stayed here twice before and loved it. We got a great rate since my son is military. I had mentioned staying the next day as well and was assured we could do that. I also told the person how I loved their appetizer and breakfast that they offer. I picked this hotel for those two reasons as well as the pool and fitness center. We checked in and found that the appetizers were no more and was now soup and salad which ended at 7:30, we got there at 7:37 and hadn't eaten dinner. My son at the same time found that the fitness room was being re-tiled. I voiced complaints to them and attempts were made to appease us. We then decided to stay another might and what do you know, they are full! By this time i was very upset. We decided to accept a smaller room they had for a lower rate. I was in the room and realized we didn't have a working phone and the A/c wasn't working well. This was it for me. I cancelled the second night and won't return. Why advertise amenities and appetizers if you don't have them???

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylld89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. We value each of our guests and are truly sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We have recently updated our complimentary evening reception menu to soup and salad as you mentioned. Also new is our Oxford Bistro, serving dinner nightly. In addition, we are make a few renovations and, while we try our best to minimize the time required to complete this work, we are sorry that the fitness center was unavailable during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to comment. We hope you will reconsider and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is wonderful. The evening reception, breakfast, the cleanliness, large rooms and the service you recieve from the staff! It's located in a perfect location. This is our third time staying here and I hope to stay again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimr3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were glad to find an affordable, well-reviewed hotel in Portland in July, a ten-minute drive from the relatives we were visiting. Oxford Suites was clean and friendly, and the room was spacious and comfortable, with a fridge and microwave. The Fitness Center was adequate, the indoor pool very nice and rarely in use. It was convenient to have hot breakfast available, though it was nothing special.

Some very small complaints:
"Complementary USA Today" never available, even as early as 8am
For 4 days, sanitizing wipes containers in Fitness Center always empty
No place to sit outside (indoor pool area has some chairs and lounges)

The hotel is in a maze of parking lots. After determined searching, I found some nearby, appealing outdoor spaces.
* Diagonally cross the Car Wash grounds (really) to Tomahawk Road. Almost directly opposite is beige Hayden Island Fire Station. Behind it, not visible from road, is award-winning Jim Canton Rose Garden, a charming waterfront spot with a bubbling fountain, two benches, and several stone picnic tables.
* five minutes farther along Tomahawk Road, is Lotus Island City Park, a beautiful green space with a small playground and two swings. It overlooks a fascinating "floating home community" of houseboats in varied styles, shapes and colors. It has benches and trails, and ends at an overlook above a bay with kayaks and gorgeous waterfront homes. Definitely worth the walk.
* a wonderful, paved walking/jogging trail runs along the riverfront, totally hidden behind parking lots and condo buildings. Hotel staff can provide minimal directions.

One exit South on I 5 is Kelly Point Park, with a lovely beach and appealing trails through the woods. It's the point where the Columbia and Willamette Rivers converge, so the views are wonderful.

The hotel is diagonally across from a large Safeway with great options for picnic fixings.

Room Tip: don't bother asking for room with a view despite surrounding parking lots, our 2nd floor room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The Oxford is a well-kept hotel with clean rooms and a friendly staff. The pull-out couches are large, and the room has a good-sized fridge. The evening reception is well laid out. My only complaint was the breakfast (which is included) was so backed up, we wound up grabbing doughnuts at the Chevron across the street.

Room Tip: Send a family member or bunk mate to hold your spot in line for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wantingbetterservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Southwest
#54 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 12226 N. Jantzen Drive, Portland, OR 97217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#11 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing