We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are you kidding me?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #23 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

With an average rating of 4.5 on TripAdvisor, I really did not see this coming.

It's really closer to 1. Yes, the staff is extremely friendly and nice, and that's the only reason I'm giving it a 2 instead of a 1. The staff is the only reason we did not leave immediately after checking in. Room itself was quite dirty, especially the carpet. Found hair on the bed. Free breakfast and a free drink is a nice offer, and again the staff is so nice and considerate by making food to order that I was happy to give extra tips. However, the building, facilities, rooms, furniture are all so old and outdated. I really wanted to like this place but 2 is the best rating I can offer.

Room Tip: Do not take your shoes off on the rooms. Socks will become black in no time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonamdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    406
    127
    47
    24
See reviews for
491
360
42
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Oxford Suites Portland-Jantzen Beach has much more than other hotels have to offer at a great price. You not only get a clean, updated suite, but a made to order breakfast and evening receptions with two drinks per person and soup and salad. Besides, the reception staff and restaurant staff continually look out for you with great service. While going through the breakfast line my wife's water glass spilled on her tray and the chef immediately responded with a new tray in the midst of his short order cook multi tasking. We like to visit Portland periodically and this will always be our hotel choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the building were recommended to us for being quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for the first time over the Christmas holiday. We were very please with the size of the room, comfort of the bed and overall cleanliness of the entire property. Having eggs cooked to order for breakfast was an additional bonus. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the ice machine if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoozum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The staff here are lovely! The was by far the highlight of staying here. The rooms are very clean and it's close to a million fast food places and a massive grocery store.

After a week of staying in hostels it was so nice to sleep in their comfy beds! Literally, their beds are amazing! The fly-screen window was falling out of our room, so we told front reception and within half the day they had come and fixed it.

They have a free shuttle bus to Portland's light rail system, and the staff can suggest a bunch of things for you to do. A cab back to Jantzen Beach was around $20-$25 (I'm not sure if that's standard or not?), but it was cheaper than we were expecting.

I wish we got a chance to check out the pool, but we'll have to do that next time :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Terrific! An excellent experience all-around.
Room: Very clean, with big and comfy bed.
Laundry: conveniently located.
Evening reception: Beer and wine, and freshly made soup.
Restaurant: Pizzas made to order.
Breakfast: Eggs made to order.
Service: The staff are helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

For Expo show business, this is by far the best hotel in the area. Sure, a little more $$ than the airport hotels, but closer than all of 'em. Great king room plus an exec desk for $82 with no road noise, free hot breakfast, free soup n salad dinner, pool, & bistro to relax. And with the hard weather - you don't have to leave the building. During the good weather, the walks by the river are relaxing & interesting too.
Need supplies?? The Jantzen Beach retail is 5 min away with fast food, gas, & a Safeway.
Good, efficient counter staff made the reservation & adjustments easy - and with no attitude. Thanks Pam . . .

Room Tip: Call direct & have them compare their rate vs Priceline etc. Pam & her staff are trained to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSmitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights on 11/28/13 & 11/29/13 in a two bed-room suite. The room did not feel clean and we could not use their drawers because they looked dirty and one of them has a dead bug in it.
Breakfast was so-so. Nothing to write home about. The pool and hot tub area is super tiny. There were so many kids we couldn't even think about swimming, and the kids who were allowed to bring their owe beach ball there, a family of 5 were playing loudly around 8:30 pm, giving No consideration to other at all :(

What can you expect from place like this ? Feeling like you are in a cheap motel with a bunch of people that do not care/know what manner is !!!

We come to the Portland at least 3 times a year, to visit family & what not, but next time we will stick with other options even if I have to pay more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Southwest
#52 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 12226 N Jantzen Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing