We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but now river view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #23 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place, but now river view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed one night while in town for business (they offer an excellent corporate rate), and I was very surprised with the quality of the Oxford Suites. I must admit, when I pulled up I was a little disappointed, but the interior has been remodeled and the service is fantastic.

The breakfast was fantastic at the hotel--REAL eggs, egg whites and fried eggs made to order, fruit, waffles, cereal, the whole works, which is served in the hotel bistro.

In addition, upon checking in, I was given two free drink tickets to use in the bistro from 4:30-9:30 which was an awesome bonus.

The only downside was that the hotel did not have a workout room :(

Room Tip: Try to book the corporate rate no matter what--It saved me $30 They simply asked who I worked for w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nels311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    404
    124
    47
    24
See reviews for
487
359
42
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfforth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for a week and had very minor issues. One evening kids were running amuck in the halls, a room next to us had a problem with the pipes. It sounded like the water was turning on and off constantly and lastly the pillows were hard. Ok, that's the only "bad" things we encountered now all the good....the staff were very helpful and friendly, loved the breakfast and evening salad, the hotel was close to everything even a grocery store. The cleaning staff did a good job although I was upset when our sheets did not get changed, until my husband pointed out that we had forgotten to put the cleaning card on the beds. They won't change the sheets unless you leave the card-duh!

Room Tip: Make sure you put the cleaning card on the bed if you want the sheets changed. We overlooked this an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you're not pet allergic, skip this paragraph. I didn't realize how pet allergic I was until I stayed here! I had asked for a pet free room (assuming they had at least a few rooms they set aside for those of us who are pet allergic). However, walking on the carpets, I could tell that they were not that clean (although they appeared in good shape; no stains). And, indeed, the carpets must have harbored much cat / dog / whatever hair and dander to give me the worst allergic reaction I've had in 15 or 20 years! (Despite having allergy shots and despite going to friends' houses who either have hardwood floors or deep clean before I come and having little problem.) If you do have pet allergies and are thinking of staying here: I wouldn't stay again, but perhaps you are okay with front loading and dosing on antihistamines the entire time you're here.

Additionally, though we had a non-smoking room, there was a faint whiff of smoke which, in my case, just added to my allergy load - and may be offensive to not just those with smoke allergies, but those who just don't like the smell.

The above, though, was a shame. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast, although not the gourmet affair some described, was good and filling. (And saved at least $8 per person per day in food costs.) The two days we were there, anyway, omelets were not on the menu, just fried, poached, or scrambled egg whites (regular scrambled was the default on the buffet). [There was a soup and salad bar in the evening, but we were out most of the time, so cannot comment. That, however, to a budget-minded traveler is definitely a factor in considering the price.] Additionally, the hotel was not only close to stores and fast food restaurants, but an easy hop, skip, and jump to either Vancouver or Portland - but only by car. [We were going to go to the zoo by MAX train, but it would have taken a bit over a hour and with at least one transfer as opposed to 13 minutes by car.] We all enjoyed the Saturday Market (albeit on Sunday) - and we just barely missed some of the last Rose Festival activities.

On the other hand, we had reserved a good few weeks or so in advance and yet got a ground floor room with a parking lot view. Additionally, the king bed pillows were the size of throw pillows and were therefore inadequate. The sink is outside the bathroom, which can be inconvenient if you are sharing with someone who gets up in the night. Not only that, but the pool was closed for our two day stay.

Back to a positive: the hotel did not charge us an extra $12/night for our niece, an adult. Plus the sleep sofa was adorable, despite being a bit worn. Free and decent internet certainly didn't hurt, either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We just winged it our last 3 nights in Portland, and we couldn't been happier with our choice! Friendly, real eggs for the free breakfast, & a great free cocktail hour! Who else does this these days! Mahalo!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooogoodjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We usually stay closer to the airport (east side) but decided to try this location for the great price/value. It is 15-20 minutes away to the west of the airport, but there are a lot more restaurants and shops nearby making it a good choice. They have an on-demand shuttle which was very convenient (starts at 8 AM?/stops at 10 PM). We returned our car the night before our morning flight and used the shuttle to get back to the hotel and to the airport in the morning. The breakfast buffet was nice with eggs cooked to order and the evening reception had a very fresh salad bar, chicken noodle soup, crackers, chips and drinks.

Had a room with 1 king bed in bedroom and another king bed in living room. Layout was a little odd with door to toilet/shower right after you enter and sink outside in the living room right across the bed. Sofa, coffee table, dining table is further in closer to the bedroom door. It would be better if they put the sofa/coffee table/dining table closer to the entry/bathroom and king bed closer to the bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HiSunshine_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

location, price and extras made the decision for us. Was a bit dubious to start with but only there for two nights and it was fine. Breakfast ok. Bar ok. Short drive to
restaurants. No noise from gas station next door. Shop nearby. room fine. Room Overlooked carpark and car wash but no noise after about 7pm. Great restaurant across the carpark in nearby hotel. Short drive into portland. Front desk staff were excellent. Didnt hear any airport noise.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ozveildancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very good hotel with lots of amenities such as evening reception, hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa. The location was also very good with short walking distance to riverside. Convenient location on I-5 with nearby mall and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vilaskul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Southwest
#57 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 12226 N. Jantzen Drive, Portland, OR 97217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing