We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, clean, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #26 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, clean, clean”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Oxford Suites at the end of June for a soccer tournament. While most of the team was staying elsewhere, we booked at the Oxford Suites because of location and the online reviews. We were not disappointed! I am very picky when it comes to cleanliness and upon arriving in a hotel room, I typically give the room the once over before unpacking my things. Our room was spotless - how nice! Our check process went smoothly and that evening, the front desk attendant, Monica, was able to direct us to a local grocery store (right across the street) and an area of restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel also has a shuttle service to the airport and other nearby restaurants. Another bonus with this hotel was the complimentary breakfast (hot and cold items) and complimentary soup and salad bar with two drinks (beer, wine, and soda or one well drink) per person in the evenings starting at 5:30pm. We saved quite a bit of money compared with families who stayed elsewhere, but paid for breakfasts and big dinners. This hotel does have an indoor pool and fitness room (which we didn't use during our visit). We stayed in a corner room on the 3rd floor and the only noise we encountered was briefly on Saturday evening around 10pm as a loud group was leaving the hotel. The beds were ok - I did wake up during the night, but didn't wake up in the morning feeling like I'd been beat up (which has been the case at other hotels). While not what I would consider a luxury hotel, it was a fantastic place to stay with the family. Overall, I would definitely stay at the Oxford Suites again when coming to Portland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ireland512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our housekeeping team is so appreciative when our guests notice the efforts that they put forth to make sure each guest has a nice visit with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the stay and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    418
    138
    51
    25
See reviews for
514
369
45
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I really enjoy Oxford Suites as a rule. We've always been very pleased. This past visit though was different.

I called at 3:00 PM to inquire about check-in time, and was told check-in was at 3:00. I was put on hold for a bit, not out of the norm for hotels in larger cities. We were shopping about 20 minutes away and headed to the hotel around 4:00.

Upon arrival, my husband was told our room was not yet ready. Considering we'd left our home nearly 12 hours earlier and had a 4 year old who was more than done with being in the car for awhile, we were not very happy. But, what can you do? So we drove to the nearby Target and picked up a few things. The desk clerk had promised to call once the room was ready, but no call came. Finally my husband called them and was told our room *still* wasn't ready. We got back to the hotel at 6:00 or so - not ready. Bordering on ridiculous at this point.

I went in to speak to the desk clerk and find out what was going on. Finally we figured out that there'd been something of a miscommunication when we initially tried to check-in. They were going to put us in a larger room to make up for the other room not being ready at that time. I said we would take the original slightly smaller room, we just wanted to have a place to rest.

We had 3 teens at Warped Tour just minutes away, and the time was nearing to pick them up. Our original plan had been to go to dinner, swim, and then hit the hay. As the pool closes at 10:00, this was just not going to happen. I suggested that to make up for the inconvenience, they leave the pool open later. Oh no, can't do that - "it's a liability". The desk clerk offered to buy us a pizza. I was exhausted and hot and not thinking clearly -- my only thought was: "1 pizza is not going to feed us all", and turned it down. Later on though my husband went back to say we'd take that offer. It provided a snack for us all at least.

We availed ourselves of the shuttle service for picking up our 2 sons and their friend, who had gone to Warped Tour. It was so handy after a long day, and my husband said the driver was very nice and competent.

We changed our plans thanks to the restaurant being open later than the pool, and cooled off with swimming first, then went to dinner. We got back to the hotel and relaxed, watching TV, then finally sleeping.

The room (we had the Executive King) was very good, as usual, spacious for our crew and comfortable. Both my husband and I were very happy with the bed and got restful sleep.

The next morning my husband checked out and came to the car with a bill nearly $30 higher than anticipated. I went back inside and said the total when I reserved was around $120. The clerk said she'd research it, and I said that when I got home I would email her a copy of my reservation. I got a call a couple of hours later saying they had adjusted it, and we were billed correctly.

Overall everything was clean, the evening reception and breakfast were both good and plentiful, and the hotel is nice. But we have had much better stays than this.

Now, all that said I am sure that the problem was Warped Tour at the nearby Expo Center. There were clearly a LOT of people who had gone staying at the hotel. Unfortunately, they were a particularly obnoxious crew. Barefoot in the dining area for evening reception, absolutely abominable behavior in the pool area, and no better at breakfast. I pity the staff and the clean up they must have faced the next day. As stated above, that's the reason we were there as well, for our teenage sons and their friend to attend the festival. I am proud to say that all 3 boys were well-behaved, much better so than the others - ADULTS - I observed.

I don't think that Oxford was prepared for the chaos of being so full. They may also have had some difficult guest situations to deal with. I think that should Warped Tour be in the area next year, some lessons from this one should be noted, and hopefully they will be better prepared.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamiJo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were very pleased with our stay. The manager's reception was a nice light dinner (very good soup and salad--all you can eat) with sodas for the kids and wine for us :) Room was quite roomy and very clean with a fridge and microwave. Pool was a little small but very nice. Breakfast was very nice. The rooms they served the manager's reception and breakfast in were nice and spacious. Both accommodated guests and neither ran out of food. Location was also convenient to the freeway and walking to Safeway and fast food. Overall this was a great place and with the $107 +tax rate we got online this was a great deal! Did not use the shuttle but it seems they have one so we will certainly look them up next time we need to stay in Portland!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pchefelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boise
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel for the price. Large room and very clean. Check-in was very easy and staff very personable. Breakfast was excellent and staff very attentive to making sure every thing was good. Numerous restaurants nearby. Easy access to I-5. Highly recommend!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tipper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a great find this wonderful hotel was for our family!! We were driving down from Seattle and so I had done a quick, Internet search for a place to stay and stumbled across this gem. :) With four children (teens/pre-teens), a nice sized suite is something we always dream of, but very rarely find within our budget. Well, well, well...I guess this was this traveler's dream come true as this room had super space with easy interstate access and a great price!! Also worth noting, especially from this mom of 3 teen sons!, the breakfast was stupendous!!! It was a hot meal (eggs, biscuits/pancakes, cereal, fruit, bagels, etc) served in a very spacious dining area. What a nice way to start each day as we headed out to explore nature, downtown, etc. That meal kept us going for hours before we had to stop. Also, the front desk staff was always very friendly and willing to answer patiently questions about where to go, etc. As a matter of fact, if it hadn't been for them I would have missed one of our favorite Portland attractions!! (The Test Rose Gardens...free and beautiful!!). The only negative thing I have to say about it is that it's a small chain in the Northwest so I may not have the chance to stay in one of their hotels for a long time.

Room Tip: As I was checking in with my children, the front desk associate asked my children's ages. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy4chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Easy to get to by car. Nice breakfast included. Right in my expense budget. Complete bonus that soup and salad and drinks are part of the managers reception. Room was very nice and modern.
It was a great stay. I would recommend for business or vacation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Have stayed at this property on multiple occasions. Very dog friendly. The property is clean. There is a hot breakfast with eggs made to order. And there is a reception every evening with complimentary wine and beer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Portland East
#12 of 143 in Portland
497 reviews
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 143 in Portland
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 12226 N Jantzen Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#9 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing