We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, so-so location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Delta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value, so-so location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great free breakfast and 2 free drinks per person with free snacks/soup/salad at dinner.
Room on 4th floor was fairly quiet, despite the hotel's proximity to the airport. TV was a little small, but otherwise room was good and comes with sofa bed if requested.
Very heavy traffic from hotel to downtown Portland on I-5. Expect 30-50 minutes. Near mall.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor for quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patentguy-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    398
    120
    45
    23
See reviews for
483
352
42
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We live in Victoria, BC and came across an ad from Coho Ferry promoting a package to Portland, OR which included ferry fare & two night accommodation at Oxford Suites. We had been to Portland 3 years prior and loved it so decided to purchase the pkg deal. Fairly long wait on the Canada side including an arrogant US Customs rep (thankfully he had a colleague who was more personable). And then once we docked in Pt. Angeles the US customs even had dogs with them checking passengers/vehicles - what on earth they thought passengers could have "picked-up" on the ferry is truly puzzling. Beautiful scenic drive from Pt. Angeles to Portland. Unfortunately, as we bought the pkg to be "in" Portland rather than on the "outskirts" the location of the hotel was disappointing. Right near the airport, no decent food around (the complementary soup seemed like Chef-Boyardee ravioli that was watered down). Also at the time of booking we were told that the hotel had a shuttle service, but when we asked about it at the hotel, they said it was rarely available to take people to town and it was primarily for people going to airport. The room was fine but next time we'll book and AirBNB closer to or in town.

Room Tip: request something away from the airport runway traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk8r9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville,WA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

It's been years since we've visiting Portland, and have stayed here in years past, and it always had been a good experience. Still holds true.Room have been updated. Excellent staff,very helpful and pleasant. Immaculately clean room, and bed comfy.Thirsty, thick towels, Refrigerator in room. Newer TV a bit small, but it works. Stayed on 4th floor; very quiet. WIFI available.Oxford will take you to locations within 5 miles of their location, and also airport pick-up.
Absolutely the BEST for breakfast, with crispy potatoes, pancakes, thick sliced ham or bacon, scrambled eggs or "your way", breads,coffee, juice,etc.etc. They also offer chits for 2 drinks of your liking in the evening, including beer, wine, soft drinks.For just a few dollars they offer different evening meals; ideal if you are without wheels.
Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvgr8trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Portland for one night and choose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews (as is always the case now). The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly. The room was large and they were able to accommodate our request for a sofa bed. The door handle in the bathroom was slightly broken and the faucet was difficult to turn on for the kids, but over all it was a good stay.

They also have complimentary drinks in the evening with soup/salad bar. Their breakfast options are wonderful and pretty tasty. I would definitely recommend if you don't mind driving the 20 minutes or so into downtown.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Arrived late in Portland and stumbled across this hotel. Staff were friendly, rates were good and the breakfast was very good. Quite pleased overall with the experience and as we continued south on our vacation we actually looked for other Oxford Suites based on our experience at this one. My only complaint was the wifi wasn't great despite decent reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for choosing Oxford Suites Portland. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will investigate your comment about the WiFi further, but for other guests' benefit, we wanted to relay that our Hospitality Specialists are always available to offer assistance with any problems or concerns our guests may have. In addition, we still offer a wired, Ethernet cable option for those that might be interested. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we hope we'll have the pleasure of serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, KS
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were traveling with a group of about 40 people. We were received and in our rooms in a flash. Very large suites with all the amenities. Very comfortable bed. Very noisy doors. That could be taken care of by the people closing them, but it's not. Went to the cooler by the front desk and it was almost empty and was the same when we left. The breakfast was great as was the staff. Didn't try the pool or exercise rooms. This is a very busy hotel. All in all a good place to stay. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Only a short walk to the river which has a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailey, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel due to its proximity to PDX. I was flying in late w/ my son and wanted someplace close w/ easy access to I-5 the next morning. We arrived at 12:30am. Check-in was easy and painless. Our room was clean and the temperature was nice. I always find hotel rooms in the summer to be freezing. I assume this is because house keeping turns on the AC. The beds were not firm enough for me and the pillows were way to soft. Due to our late arrival we didn't get to bed until nearly 1:30. Plane traffic the next morning started at 5, which I should have thought about being so close to PDX. I didn't get much sleep. My son slept fine.
Another reason I chose this hotel was for the full breakfast. It was good. We had a choice of scrambled eggs, ham, potatoes, hot & cold cereal, fresh fruit, pancakes , bagels, toast, English muffins & beverages.
Other than the soft beds & pillows, the only issue I had w/ the room was the tub. The stopper wouldn't stay in the 'up' position causing water to pool quickly and the tub to get slippery.
A disappointment for my son was that the pool & spa was closed due to maintenance. He wanted to splash around a bit before we left.
I probably won't stay here again but this experience won't hinder me trying out another Oxford property.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank twimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Southwest
#57 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 12226 N. Jantzen Drive, Portland, OR 97217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#9 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing