We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Oxford Suites! Our room was huge! We were in the apartment on the 4th floor. It had an incredible kitchen which included everything you would need to cook your own meal. The apartment also had its own washer and dryer, and even a walk-in closet. I could have happily stayed there for months. The general manager went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay. He spoke to us at length and gave us dinner recommendations, and even directions to the restaurant and how to avoid traffic. The breakfast was phenomenal and I could not believe that it was complementary. The wi-fi was fast and free. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitefishGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    398
    120
    45
    23
See reviews for
483
352
42
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights after flying in. It was close to the airport, downtown Portland, Walmart/Target, and literally across the bridge to WA. Perfect spot for us and 3 kids. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The appetizer/drink hours were the longest I've ever seen 5:30-9:30, very convenient. The pool, spa, and workout faculties were great. The breakfast was phenomenal, much above the typical! Variety and service galore. The price can't be beat for so many amenities.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Batchgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My partner and I stayed one night at the Oxford Suites Portland in July (we found a great last minute price). We showed up a bit early and the room was not available. After going out to lunch, we returned and they still did not have the room ready. Fortunately, the front desk staff was great and called housekeeping to see if they could clean up a room for us. After a few minutes, we got our key and went to our room. We were assigned a room designed for guest with disabilities. It was nice but we found it interesting that the sink was located right next to the front door. We also found it odd that the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan (it made it difficult after taking a shower with all the humidity).

We used the drink tickets at the afternoon reception (good) and took advantage of the breakfast in the morning. While it was very crowded when we got there, it calmed down within a few minutes. It was also nice having "made to order" breakfast instead of having the standard continental breakfast offered at comparable hotels.

For one night stay, it was fine.

Room Tip: It appears that the carpet in the first floor hallway has not been updated in a while (probably beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnwguy1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel room is the usual average room. Looked like it was newly painted and had a sofa, mini fridge, microwave. Free breakfast and nightly drinks and snacks included. The one thing that was disappointing was when we put the sign on the door for room cleaning and even asked the lady we saw in the hallway, but the room did not get cleaned. Other than that, the location is good as it is close to I-5. It was also nice to have free wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Oxford Suites on a family trip to Portland. It had many advantages, including a reasonable price, free quality breakfast, free happy hour with drinks and snacks, a small pool for the kids, and free, fast wireless. They also had laundry services, which is essential when travelling with small kids. The hotel is a tiny bit run-down on the outside, but is a step up from any other hotel for the same price, in that the staff are courteous, efficient and always ready to help. The bed was comfortable, although the fold-out couch was super crummy, with a very flat mattress and no sheets provided, just a couple of blankets. The room had a fridge and microwave, which was again great for managing the appetites of small kids. There were plenty of food options on the island within walking distance, and the Safeway and mall were steps away as well.
The only real downside is that, being out of town, the commute to downtown Portland was 6 miles of the worst traffic I have experienced in a while. In the hot sun of a summer heat wave, it felt like 30 miles, especially as the traffic seems to be thick at all times, not just rush hours. If I didn't have kids it would be fine, but ye gods, it was torture.
Really enjoyed it overall, but would consider a hotel in town if we went again. Or they could shuttle downtown all day...
Portland itself is like San Francisco lite, with a small, hip downtown, lots of hills, and tons of great food choices. People are friendly, and the OMSI was awesome, if anyone is thinking of going there.

Room Tip: Because it is quiet and on an island, almost any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was a friendly, clean hotel. We asked for a quiet room and got one on the top floor. It was nice and quiet. View out the window was of a rooftop, but we didn't get the room for a view. :) The tickets to free drinks were a nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Reception was outstanding. We felt welcomed from the moment we walked in and were given lots of good information about good spots to eat in the area. The downsides to the hotel didn't have much to do with the hotel itself. The hotel is on an island, so you can't take city streets to get where you're going in Portland. And secondly, we learned that SoCal traffic is a dream come true in comparison to Portland's. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and recommend it with the caveat that getting in and out of town will likely take a lot longer than anticipated given the distance.

Room Tip: If you are interested in a quiet room, let the reception desk know. A room on the top floor was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolvanera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great free breakfast and 2 free drinks per person with free snacks/soup/salad at dinner.
Room on 4th floor was fairly quiet, despite the hotel's proximity to the airport. TV was a little small, but otherwise room was good and comes with sofa bed if requested.
Very heavy traffic from hotel to downtown Portland on I-5. Expect 30-50 minutes. Near mall.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor for quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patentguy-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Southwest
#57 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 12226 N. Jantzen Drive, Portland, OR 97217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#9 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing