We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncomfortable bed, small room, smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The bathroom reeked of urine which we later discovered was due to a previous family's dirty diaper left in our room by housekeeping. The king bed was springy and 6 or 7 end tables in a small room is too many. Will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hollyjollymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

952 - 958 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was excellent! The staff was friendly, the hot breakfast was delicious and the evening reception with soup, salad and beverages was a nice surprise. We will definitely stay here again. The rooms were clean and nice-sized. There was even a comfortable hide-a-bed couch that is great for kids.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigEarlMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Super service, friendly staff, clean rooms, quiet, comfortable beds. My only complaint - the location is tricky if you plan on driving into Portland (or just about anywhere for that matter.). The hotel is located on Hayden Island, just off the freeway. Traffic is notoriously aweful since this is the only corridor between Vancouver and Portland. It's absolutely torturous to drive to and from the hotel between 7 am and 7 pm!!!

The hotel does however have a free shuttle that will take you to the Max transit stop and pick you back up any time until 10 pm so that was very helpful. They also give you coupons for two free drinks per day in the bar. There is a free salad bar with daily soup as well which runs all evening. The restaurant food is decent and the service is good. The free breakfast is excellent and includes potatoes, eggs cooked to order, rotating selection of breakfast meats, breads, fruits, muffins, applesauce, yoghurt, juice, etc, etc. Great value! The dining area can get hectic and and crowded but the staff were excellent and efficient. We enjoyed the nightly drinks and bowls of chips and crackers.

The pool is nice and workout room was nice too. There is a small store with snacks & essentials. You can rent a movie with popcorn and soda for $6 - great for the kids. Ample parking, grocery store and other fast food nearby. Nice trail along the river is minutes away too.

Overall - great hotel! My only complaint was the traffic situation but I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_Earl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Oxford Suites! Our room was huge! We were in the apartment on the 4th floor. It had an incredible kitchen which included everything you would need to cook your own meal. The apartment also had its own washer and dryer, and even a walk-in closet. I could have happily stayed there for months. The general manager went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay. He spoke to us at length and gave us dinner recommendations, and even directions to the restaurant and how to avoid traffic. The breakfast was phenomenal and I could not believe that it was complementary. The wi-fi was fast and free. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitefishGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights after flying in. It was close to the airport, downtown Portland, Walmart/Target, and literally across the bridge to WA. Perfect spot for us and 3 kids. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The appetizer/drink hours were the longest I've ever seen 5:30-9:30, very convenient. The pool, spa, and workout faculties were great. The breakfast was phenomenal, much above the typical! Variety and service galore. The price can't be beat for so many amenities.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Batchgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My partner and I stayed one night at the Oxford Suites Portland in July (we found a great last minute price). We showed up a bit early and the room was not available. After going out to lunch, we returned and they still did not have the room ready. Fortunately, the front desk staff was great and called housekeeping to see if they could clean up a room for us. After a few minutes, we got our key and went to our room. We were assigned a room designed for guest with disabilities. It was nice but we found it interesting that the sink was located right next to the front door. We also found it odd that the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan (it made it difficult after taking a shower with all the humidity).

We used the drink tickets at the afternoon reception (good) and took advantage of the breakfast in the morning. While it was very crowded when we got there, it calmed down within a few minutes. It was also nice having "made to order" breakfast instead of having the standard continental breakfast offered at comparable hotels.

For one night stay, it was fine.

Room Tip: It appears that the carpet in the first floor hallway has not been updated in a while (probably beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnwguy1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel room is the usual average room. Looked like it was newly painted and had a sofa, mini fridge, microwave. Free breakfast and nightly drinks and snacks included. The one thing that was disappointing was when we put the sign on the door for room cleaning and even asked the lady we saw in the hallway, but the room did not get cleaned. Other than that, the location is good as it is close to I-5. It was also nice to have free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedee1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Portland East
#20 of 144 in Portland
527 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Address: 12226 N Jantzen Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#13 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#19 Family Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £87 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing