We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - if in downtown Portland I'd stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Marriott City Center
Ranked #44 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Severn, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great location - if in downtown Portland I'd stay here again”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I stayed here for three nights the week of 12 June, while accompanying my spouse, who was in town for a conference. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Portland, which made it very convenient to access restaurants and the sights in the area. We didn't have a vehicle (for which I was glad) as the valet parking was $31/day. For the downtown area, the hotel was reasonably priced. We stayed in a room with a King bed, which was located overlooking Southwest Broadway. The area around the hotel felt fairly safe, and there were people around almost all hours of the day. The room was a reasonable size, and had a mini-fridge, which was greatly appreciated. When we first arrived and checked into our room, we needed additional linens, which were brought to the room withing 10 minutes. The only complaint about the room was a stain/smear of dirt on the wall, which housekeeping never removed (I easily wiped it off the last morning of my stay) - if it was this visible to me, I don't know why housekeeping never noticed it. I can't speak for the hotel restaurant, as we didn't eat there during our stay. The staff was friendly, and provided assistance whenever asked. The bed was very comfortable, and we didn't seem to experience the thin walls and subsequent noise that other posters have noted. The visitor center is only a couple of blocks away, where one can obtain information about the area's public transportation system, which is convenient and easy to use. Overall, it was a good Marriott, in a great city center location, and, if I find myself in downtown Portland again, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    318
    115
    28
    17
See reviews for
107
205
57
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

While not the top of the line Marriott's, this was a very nice place for the price $114/night for double. The location is excellent if you are visitng downtown. The parking is steep, so I parked around the corner at the same lot for $18/night. No breakfast, which is a pain, but there is a Peet's next to the hotel. Also, no free wireless, but you can get the code.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudePigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
689 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The location is what makes the Marriott a good choice when visiting Portland. It is convenient to everything downtown. The hotel itself is a fairly standard Marriott which makes it reliable but not overwhelming. There is a Peet's coffee attached which is very convenient in the mornings.
Parking is either self or valet and a bit expensive. I've had experiences where the Valet parking attendant seems overwhelmed and the wait was pretty long to get my car.
Overall this is a decent hotel in a central location and not bad for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed for two nights on Memorial Day weekend. The staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms and common areas were clean. The valet service was prompt and courteous. It was a typical nice Marriott. We had breakfast at Mez in the mornings and it was good. The concierge staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpb7428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We checked in and the rooms were not up to standard. The fridge was left in the room blocking the heater and there was a huge smudge of what looked like a hand print on the granite. Our other room had a dirty towel behind the door on the floor. When we went to the front desk we told the gal our rooms were dirty. She replied with "no they are clean rooms". She then continued to deny us any other rooms because they didn't have any other rooms available. She wasn't helpful at all, and quite rude to us. Our first experience with the hotel was ruined and we wouldn't stay again. I work in the hotel business and would be embarrassed if that happend at my hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amack0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently for one night. Because it's so much cheaper than other hotels in the area, we had low expectations but were pleasantly surprised. The room was nice and comfortable, had a great view, and nice bath products. The staff at the front desk were friendly and the hotel is close to lots of stuff. The walls are thin and there was some noise in the morning, but I'm a heavy sleeper so it didn't bother me much. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misdamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boise, id
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We had a spacious two bed room, everything was updated, large flat screen TV and very clean. Our room did not have a view, looking onto other buildings. We bid on Priceline for the price of $ 80.00 per night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#22 of 142 in Portland
914 reviews
Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
#43 of 142 in Portland
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,410 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,476 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#41 of 142 in Portland
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott City Center

Property: Portland Marriott City Center
Address: 520 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3424
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing