We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portland Marriott City Center
Nearby Hotels
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paramount Hotel(Portland)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sentinel(Portland)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
291
339
124
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
339
124
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungegreat locationpioneer squarevalet parkingpeet's coffeesmall lobbywithin walking distancethe pearlhigh floorvalet servicefitness centercorner roomcentral locationlight railtwo blocksfront desk staffvery nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

What you expect from Marriott located within easy walking to many great restaurants. Nice small cocktail lounge area, even more room for quiet time reading or watching several of the big TV's away from your room. Liked the idea of needing a room key to even activate the elevator button to guest floors. Breakfast was quick and tasty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for the feedback on your enjoyable stay with us! We are proud of our recent renovations which created the DEN lounging space as well as our innovative key-activated elevator system, equipped with new Radio-Frequency Identification tags so the keys do not demagnetize with a cellphone or magnet. We believe in the complete safety of our guests and are pleased to hear you enjoyed this feature as well! Come back again soon to try our holiday-themed beverage items we will be introducing in DEN for the Holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I spent three sleepless nights at this property, due to 6 am garbage trucks, noise at 2 am from guests on the floor above, and guest room doors that slam shut so hard the walls (and my teeth) shook!

Soup and salad from the restaurant on the 2nd floor were far below average (how do you ruin soup and salad?).

But the rooms are lovely, the location is great, and the second floor "den" is a charming place to spend time when you don't want to hang around in your room.

Re parking, on-street parking - even on week days - is free between 6 pm and 8 am. The valets don't tell you that. Also the city-owned parking lots are inexpensive, yet the valets direct you to the parking lot around the corner and their rates are very high

Room Tip: Try to find a room away from the garbage trucks and slamming doors. Also bring earplugs. Oh, and some rooms are very, very small with views of AC units.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Footloosewomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel! While I am grateful of your satisfaction with the rooms, the location, and also our lovely DEN area, I am saddened to know there were disappointing aspects of your stay that would have been our pleasure to address for you during your visit. Being in the heart of the city, we periodically experience guests enjoying their downtown experience into the late hours of the evening and we are happy to address any disturbances if they are brought to our attention. I am surprised at your disappointment in our menu offerings of the DEN; I will bring your feedback to the attention of our culinary staff as to ensure the issue is addressed immediately. While a majority of the city-owned parking lots in our vicinity charge similar prices for overnight parking accommodations, our Valet staff is not privy to any specials or promotions a certain public garage may be offering. With that, we are always willing to look into specific options if you chose to not utilize our secured, private garage! Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest on your next visit to Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I were booked to stay at the Marriott on the weekend of November 9 and 10. When we arrived to check in we were notified that the room had been damaged by a water leak and there were no other available rooms in the hotel. The front desk employee was very helpful in explaining our options and stated the hotel would do everything to assist us in finding new hotel accomodations.

To say the least I was very skeptical that on a Saturday evening in downtown Portland we would be able to find another comparible room at the same rate. My wife called several other downtown hotels in the area but was told they were completely booked. On a last ditch effort we called the Benson Hotel and luckily they had a room, the major problem was the room was over $400 a night.

The Marriott didnt hesitate and immediately told us to take the room and they would pay for the full amount. To say I was very impressed is a huge understatement. The front desk at the Marriott made all the arrangements with the Benson and when we arrived at the Benson they were waiting for us.

It is rare in today's business atmosphere to see a large company step up and go over the top to make a single customer feel like their business is appreciated.

I didnt stay in a room at the Marriott but they have gained a loyal customer when looking for our next hotel room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyLaRue3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

I am truly delighted we were able to gain your Marriott loyalty despite the unforeseen water issue and thank you for your understanding in the matter. We are committed to ensuring you are well accommodated and will stand behind necessary means to certify this is the case. Prior to your next visit to Portland, please contact the hotel so we can have an exceptional room ready for you! We look forward to having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I visited Portland, OR. for the first time for a fraternity conference and we stayed at the hotel. I was very pleased with the customer service and attention to detail from the front desk agents. Rachel, Charlie, and Michele (the front office manager) did an excellent job in accommodating me and the guests I traveled with. As a front desk supervisor at an independent hotel across the country, I was very happy to receive the highest level of customer service satisfaction that I expect out of my own employees. The banquet manager, Preston, was the star of the weekend, always providing us with outstanding service. He was incredibly genuine and always willing to assist us during our stay in the Winery Room for our meetings. The rooms were outstanding and the staff at the hotel really knows how to make the guest feel important. I'm hoping that our next fraternity conference is held in Portland at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Given your extensive knowledge of the business, we are truly flattered by your kind feedback and are elated to know you received exceptional customer service in all aspects of your stay. Thank you for the insightful feedback and I will be sure to pass on your praise to our team members who truly went above and beyond in ensuring your stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Portland! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived in Portland for a wonderful family weekend with three generations of women. Upon our arrival to the hotel, we were shown our room and much to my teenage daughter's surprise, the beds in the wheelchair accessible room were doubles, not queen-sized. We simply requested a roll-a-way bed and within 5 minutes, Jason, an incredible young man, brought the bed along with a hefty supply of blankets, pillows and of course plush bath robes. We really appreciated his kindness and generosity! The next morning, we found a hand-written note from Jason, welcoming us to the Marriott and wishing us a lovely stay in Portland along with three complimentary breakfast tickets. What a pleasant and kind gesture. The staff at this hotel couldn't have been any nicer. The location is fantastic as well.....simply a haven for "foodies," chocolate lovers, avid book readers and those who appreciate wonderful music!!!! We LOVED the season opening of the Portland Youth Philharmonic - a wonderfully talented organization. Seriously - the staff at this hotel is fantastic - very accommodating, kind, helpful and really made our stay special!

Room Tip: We had difficulty with the wireless connection in our room. The room was wheelchair accessible and tucked away in a spot overlooking all of the heating/cooling units - no view at all, but fine given the necessary accommodations. The room was appropriately adapted for my mother who walks with a walker and needs a "roll-in" shower.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edieungar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us! I am elated to hear our staff service exceeded your expectations and we contributed to a wonderful weekend for your family! Jason truly exemplifies our dedication to hosting brilliantly and I will be sure to share your satisfaction with him. The two different bed options we have in the entire hotel are one King bed or two Double beds, and it is always our pleasure to deliver a complementary rollaway to better accommodate your needs. Thank you again so much and we look forward to another opportunity of exceeding your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews