We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only fault is the wifi cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Marriott City Center
Ranked #44 of 142 Hotels in Portland
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only fault is the wifi cost”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and pleasure and room really clean and ver comfortable. Able to use phone in room with pre paid card and no surcharge. Lobby, bar and restaurant all great facilities that I used frequently to meet friends and prices for food and drink reasonable. Would definitely stay again.
However no free wi-fi and if you sign up in room at $10 for 24hrs you cannot use in lobby or dining area which is so unreasonable. They tell of there is free access on 2nd and lobby levels, but apart from a computer in reception (with no seating) there was no complementary wi-fi. Just an excuse for them to make money basically!
It is in a great location with max station and shops on doorstep and all,other areas a short walk.
Would certainly stay again, but it is an expensive place to,stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sashaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve your business and travel needs; we are thrilled to hear of your satisfaction! Our lobby and second floor dining and lounging area do have complimentary Wi-Fi access, as we certainly understand the value of staying connected. On your next visit, it will be our pleasure to assist you in getting connected correctly so that you may enjoy this amenity we are so pleased to offer. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    318
    115
    28
    17
See reviews for
107
205
57
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I booked this hotel using a bidding site that starts with P. I requested a downtown, 4 star hotel for $85 & that is what I got. We stayed at the end of October 2013 for a quick one night trip. For what we wanted, it was great.

1. Check in process – Check in process was smooth, no issues. They allowed me to use my Marriott number to utilize some perks & earn points, even though I had booked the room using a biding site.

2. Room: The room was small & clean but very comfortable. Bed was great - definitely newer bedding. I also like the big chair & ottoman they have the in the rooms – nice for reading. Bathroom wasn’t huge, but plenty big. Shower had good water pressure with plenty of hot water.

3. Service – The front desk was always very helpful. They gave us a map of the area, directions, recommended food spots, transportation, etc.

4. WiFi: Worked

5. Parking – We did valet as it was just one night. They do charge a lot & I would have preferred that amount to be lower.

I would stay here again, especially at that under $100 a night price tag.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strictlybettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello and thank you for the wonderful review! I am ecstatic to be informed that our hotel’s staff service and amenities exceeded your expectations while also remaining in your desired price range. We hope to continue to achieve your satisfaction and look forward to your next visit! Come visit us again soon to enjoy Portland’s beautiful spring season. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

First trip to Portland. 1 night with family.
Nice Marriott, that fulfills expecations, not extraordinary. Hotel has a small lobby and front desk squeezed in 1st floor of existing building in downtown. The hotel opens up a little on the 2nd floor, with bar and nicer than average hotel restuarant. The rooms spread out on the floors above.

The hotel has a prominent architectural feature: corner that is roundeded giving corner rooms multiple windows, expansive view, lots of light. I splurged and got a corner room for the family. A little pricey.

the staff are friendly, rooms are nice, good beds, internet is not free unless you are Gold level.

Good locaiton in downtown. Lots of restaurants around. We had dinner at Ringside Fish House a couple of blocks away. Nice, super pricey (splurge). for morning coffee there is a Peets directly below, super convenient.

Room Tip: If possible get a corner room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your first trip to Portland! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience at our boutique style hotel and were able to visit some of Portland’s best attractions. Next time, you’ll have to take advantage of our “Taste of Portland” package offered on our Marriott website which includes offers and perks to equally outstanding Portland locations. We hope to see you next time and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have stayed here several times and everytime I do, I am glad I come back. Great location, great service, and great rooms. I don't recommend having a car while you are there - that is very expensive. However, other than that, it is a great place to go!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your praise and also for your continued loyalty, we value you as our frequent guest! With limited city parking space, we are proud to offer our Valet services in a private, secured garage priced among the lowest in the area. We also appreciate the opportunity to inform guests of the walker-friendly options available with our convenient location, and agree with your recommendation that a vehicle is not always necessary! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your visits even more enjoyable and it will be our pleasure. Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hotel is very nice, rooms are clean, and hotel staff very helpful. The hotel bar is nice and happy hour has some good offers for snacks and drinks. The gym is quit large. Only complaint was first day there was bottled water supplied in the gym but none the next day.

WIFI is an extra expense which is a bummer. For the cost and location a good choice. Close to lots of great places and walking distance to most of downtown Portland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackolatern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive review of our hotel! It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the excellent condition of the rooms to the helpful staff, as well as our unique happy hour offerings. Complimentary bottled water is provided in the fitness center as an additional amenity and I truly apologize for the oversight on our stock that particular day. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention so that our team can ensure the issue is isolated; we appreciate the opportunity to improve! We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Portland and please contact us if we can be of any assistance. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spent a weekend here with friends, taking advantage of great weekend AAA rates. Hotel rooms and staff were terrific. Easy walking to favorite restaurants and downtown attractions. Only factors that kept me from rating this hotel a 5 were the facts that they charge a ridiculous $10 a day for spotty wifi access in the rooms, and that the restaurant was nothing to write home about - lots better and cheaper choices for breakfast in the immediate vicinity. Charging for wifi access is unbelievable these days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kma03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your informed review of our hotel! We are thrilled our terrific staff and rooms contributed to your satisfaction. In responding to our guest’s voice, we recently introduced a new room package that includes in-room Internet so keep this in mind as you book your next visit! Our DEN restaurant works diligently to offer fare rich in local ingredients which contribute to an exceptional level of food quality. We do understand Portland offers many outstanding restaurants nearby; sometimes it is hard to choose just one! Thank you again for your review and for sharing your weekend with us. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phx
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We really liked this hotel. It's more like a boutique hotel. Perfect location to walk around town. The bed was super comfortable. Parking is expensive but that is pretty standard. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding our comfortable hotel. We are grateful of your satisfaction in the boutique feel as well as the new beds we introduced with our renovation earlier this year. In regards to parking, we are proud to offer one of the lowest Valet rates in the downtown area while providing a private 24-hour secured and staffed garage. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Portland and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#24 of 142 in Portland
916 reviews
Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
#42 of 142 in Portland
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,488 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#39 of 142 in Portland
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott City Center

Property: Portland Marriott City Center
Address: 520 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3424
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Portland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing