We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Marriott City Center
Ranked #42 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was here for the George Straight concert. The location is excellent! Within walking distance to everything! Before we went out, we stopped at the bar. Joel is so friendly and knew exactly what to make us! I'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluedlphnmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us during the special event; we sincerely appreciate your compliments. I am happy you were able to enjoy our hotel’s convenient downtown location as well as the personalized service from our fantastic Joel and I’ll share your gratitude with him. Portland’s summers are packed with music oriented events such as our Waterfront Blues Festival which is July 3rd-6th and we hope to host you again. Thank you for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our hotel stay was overall enjoyable. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was outstanding as was the service in the restaurant. The valet customer service was also exceptional. One negative about our stay was the woman that checked us in. While she was finding a room for us she stated not once, but three times "with your advanced discount rate". When we arrived in our room we had a view of the equipment on a roof that was a bit lower then our windows. I understand not every room has a view, but I wouldn't have thought it was intentional if she hadn't mentioned my advance discount rate three times.

Room Tip: Don't buy the advanced discount rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolobene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and our exceptional service. Thank you for informing us of your check in experience and I apologize you were given a less than favorable impression on the nature of your reservation. We pride ourselves on treating each guest with genuine care; we are in hopes to be afforded an opportunity of welcoming you back so you may enjoy one of our many rooms with a view. Thank you again and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

For the past several years I have stayed at this hotel for business and it is always predictably good. The bell staff, while young is always attentive, but Valet check-in can be quite difficult since it's on the street, so space can be limited. For the most part of the lobby registration staff is nice and friendly and the rooms are clean and freshly renovated. Sometimes house keeping can be a little slow so they made enforce the later afternoon check in.

There is a restaurant and bar on the second floor, and it is average at best, so try an excellent Italian restaurant across the street called Pazzo and if you want to enjoy some Oregon wines, there is a wine bar directly across the front street from the front door.

Room Tip: higher floors are always best here...traffic noise on Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTravelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your review! It is an honor to be considered your choice property in the downtown area and I am pleased our clean rooms and friendly staff continue to delight your expectations. While our guaranteed check-in time is 4:00pm, you are always welcome to call us the day of your arrival so we may have your room ready at your desired time! We understand life keeps moving and it is our pleasure to work with your plans. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The location of the Marriott was perfect with easy access to the Pearl District, China Town and the river. The rooms were clean and modern with a mini bar fridge which was handy. What really made this experience unforgettable was the customer service. Every staff member we encountered went out of their way to make sure our time in Portland was wonderful. Although you could pay to have Wifi in your rooms, we chose to use the free Wifi in the lobby and second floor which was fast and easy to log onto.
We will definitely look to book the Marriott again for future travel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello and thank you for the perfect 5-star review! Your satisfaction is our ultimate goal and we are delighted to have achieved this through the exceptional customer service offered by each of our team members. Come back and see us again soon as the weather warms up; our convenient location offers many fun outdoor activities! Thank you again for the outstanding review and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel over St. Patricks Day weekend and booked in advance through their internet rate which was an amazing deal. This is a standard Marriott property and a fine location for a home base when visiting the downtown area. The streetcar ($1/trip) is 3 blocks away and the tri-met is 7 blocks away ($2.50 for 2 hours) and takes you to/from the airport. The rooms are clean and stylish and have refrigerator and coffee machine. You pay $10 for room internet, but in lobby is free and love that you can print your boarding pass at no charge. Bathroom is a bit tight but overall great value for the room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank GRLTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

What an excellent review! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for visiting us over the holiday weekend. We are fortunate to be located just two to three blocks away from both the streetcar and the Tri-Met Max, Portland’s convenient public transportation system, and are always eager to share with guests the many sites they can see! I am thrilled of your satisfaction with the refrigerators and coffee machines in each of our guest rooms, as we recently added the refrigerators during our recent renovation. Thank you again, and we hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It was a business trip, nothing extravagant, but the staff is really kind and helpful. I needed to rearrenge serveral things over there and they were really helpful in helping me wherever they could. The fitness area get too crowded so you better consider going out for jogging by the river.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arcade78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your feedback regarding our kind, helpful staff! It is our genuine pleasure to go the extra mile in ensuring all of your needs are addressed, and I am delighted we could be of assistance. I am surprised at your mention of the fitness center feeling crowded as we seldom hear this feedback, and I sincerely apologize for any unusual demand we experienced during your stay. The waterfront trail nearby, as you mentioned, is an excellent alternative to our 24-hour fitness center, especially with the beautiful Portland weather coming our way soon! Thank you again for the review and enjoy your week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here for business and pleasure and room really clean and ver comfortable. Able to use phone in room with pre paid card and no surcharge. Lobby, bar and restaurant all great facilities that I used frequently to meet friends and prices for food and drink reasonable. Would definitely stay again.
However no free wi-fi and if you sign up in room at $10 for 24hrs you cannot use in lobby or dining area which is so unreasonable. They tell of there is free access on 2nd and lobby levels, but apart from a computer in reception (with no seating) there was no complementary wi-fi. Just an excuse for them to make money basically!
It is in a great location with max station and shops on doorstep and all,other areas a short walk.
Would certainly stay again, but it is an expensive place to,stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank sashaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve your business and travel needs; we are thrilled to hear of your satisfaction! Our lobby and second floor dining and lounging area do have complimentary Wi-Fi access, as we certainly understand the value of staying connected. On your next visit, it will be our pleasure to assist you in getting connected correctly so that you may enjoy this amenity we are so pleased to offer. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#25 of 144 in Portland
939 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
AC Hotel Portland Downtown
#40 of 144 in Portland
118 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,588 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott City Center

Address: 520 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3424
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £123 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing