We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but was a lot of money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portland Marriott City Center
Ranked #43 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, but was a lot of money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Marriott City Center (not to be confused with the other Marriott in town) and were pleased with the room, nice new furnishings, cleanliness, but were sort of surprised that with the high price for the room they did not offer what the less expensive hotels offer for free. I have to say that the bed was extremely comfy!!! But, with paying almost $400 for the room, taxes, fees and parking, the WiFi was not free, the breakfasts were extremely expensive (we did not eat there). It was convenient to the things in town that we were seeing and that is the only reason we stayed there as opposed to a hotel outside of town. I didn't feel we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Public Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear that you feel the price of your room was too high. The reason why you experienced such a high price for your room is mainly because it is Portland’s high tourism season. The city of Portland is experiencing the highest number of visitors ever and all of the hotels including ours are all pricing according to the level of demand that we are experiencing.

I would like to recommend to that you try visiting Portland on it’s off season. There are plenty of things to do around the city year round without the large number of crowds and competition for a room in our hotel. I hope that you do decide to visit Portland again and I hope that you decide to try our property again as well. Thank you again for writing to Portland Marriott City Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    311
    111
    26
    17
See reviews for
102
200
55
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach,CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed three nights in a corner room on the 15th floor.
Pros: great location, updated and nicely decorated spacious room, comfy bed, very nice views of the city. Attractive lobby, good exercise room, good hotel amenities. 2nd floor lounge is very nice.
Cons: Wifi is $9.95 per day which you would expect to be included in the hefty price tag paid for a Concierge level, corner room with skyline view . The biggest negative was the bathroom. While the foyer and the room were quite large, the bathroom was ridiculously small. The bathroom door was literally within 3 inches of the toilet. Standing room in front of the sink was minimal. It was totally impossible for 2 people to share the bathroom. Very disappointing, unacceptable.

Room Tip: Would recommend a corner room above the 14th floor. Ask if some rooms have larger bathrooms than oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmama52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our hotels location, exercise room and amenities. I am however sorry to hear that you had some issues. As a company Marriott has decided to attach an internet fee rather than make our room prices even higher. Our valet prices are comparable to the other hotels in the downtown area. The reason why you experienced such high room prices is because it is Portland’s high tourism season and the entire city is experiencing the highest numbers of visitors ever. We are all pricing according to demand. I do apologize that the bathroom size did not fulfill your needs.

If you do want a hotel with the best location in town and plenty of shopping, dining and adventure options, I would like to invite you stay with us again. Thank you again for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location, a medium-length walk to shopping, restaurants, and nightlife. The hotel itself is nice and clean, the staff is very friendly, etc, etc - pretty much what you would expect for a Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_hermit_crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for this review. Portland is such a great city to experience and our hotel has one of the best locations in the city. The key is to know where all the best neighborhoods and shopping spots are located. If you decide to visit Portland again I would like to recommend that you contact our Guest Satisfaction Ambassador. He will help plan out your entire trip for you. He can make shopping and restaurant recommendations and give you great ideas on what to do in order to make your visit a truly memorable one. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was here for the Portland Half Marathon. I stayed in the Courtyard last time but decided to try this Marriott this year. Staff was friendly and the hotel looks clean. I was given a room at the end of the hall near the fire exit. It was surprisingly quiet even though I was next to the laundry room as well (I guess people who stay there don't usually do their own laundry). The executive lounge is your average north american lounge.

Location was nice, very close to downtown area and I enjoyed being able to walk around. There is a really good sushi restaurant just a few meters from the hotel. It is also close to the trams which made it easy for me to get around and go to the running expo. I'm not a big fan of shopping but this area is filled with shopping malls and retail stores.

Overall, nothing above the standard on this hotel. You get what you expect from a typical Marriott brand, but the location is good. I would go here again since it is a safe bet, but probably try the other hotels first.

Room Tip: I got a regular room that was close to the fire exit and guest laundry room, which was surprisingly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingmanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for choosing our hotel this year. I am happy to hear that you were able to experience a little bit of Portland. The city of Portland has so much to offer anyone that decides to visit and our Marriott is a great place to stay because of our central location.

I would like to invite you to stay with us again on your next trip to Portland. Feel free to contact us prior to your next visit so that we can help you plan your next stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights here recently and was amazed by how quiet my room was at night. Great black-out blinds, too. The view from my room was beautiful. In the evenings when I had a few free hours, I was within walking distance from everything I wanted to see, including the waterfront, Powell's Books, Mills End Park, Voodoo Doughnuts and more. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I hope to stay here again on my next trip in August.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank afonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am happy to read that you had such a great time in Portland and at our hotel. I am always thrilled to find out when our guests decide to get out and really explore the City of Portland. Portland has so much to offer us all and in so many ways.

Please feel free to contact our Guest Satisfaction Ambassador upon your next arrival with us. He will be more than happy to assist you with any trip planning which will make your stay even more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I really wished it didn't come down to this as I was giving you guys the benefit of the doubt that you would do the right thing (after waiting for 3 mths to hear back about the incident) but I guess I have to voice myself so others are aware. We stayed at your hotel from Friday April 18th to the 21st 2014 and paid the $37/night valet fee only to have our brand new BMW with less than 6000kms on the clock damaged by your reckless and careless valet company. I'm a pretty straight up guy, and have no problems accepting fault if I were to damage my own vehicle and I can tell you EVERY single scratch/dent that exists on the vehicle so I would definitely know if the side skirt was damaged as much as it was, but now this has become all about principle and being accountable if you are offering to provide other people a service. For you to now claim that we damaged it ourselves is beyond ridiculous when I clearly know it was damaged by one of the valet staff. We were surprised when we got the vehicle back that the trip computer was indicating only 6kms left on the fuel tank (I never let it run that low) and that was just the start that something wasn't quite right. And to claim that the vehicle is parked underground surprises me when it comes back which a whole bunch of dried up leaves,etc all over it indicates to me that it was outdoors for a lengthy amount of time. We did make an incident report with Marriott corporate on the the day it occurred, and I will definitely be escalating this matter further.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gunmetalgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, General Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Portland Marriott City Center, we sincerely appreciate all of our guests feedback, and are certainly apologetic our actions have not met your expectations.
We take every concern of a guest very seriously, and in this case, immediately made contact with you outlining the insurance protocols in place. Following which, we submitted all hotel records to our insurance; the insurance company being the party which would make a determination in your case. Please be assured only facts, records, and photos (including those of our underground secured garage), are ever entered into any claim; never any opinion.
I understand this has been a lengthy process. When a car is in the care of the hotel, we take extreme measures to ensure vehicles are returned in the same condition we receive them. In that effort, we do have a secured hotel only garage, highly trained valet staff, and we walk around a guest vehicle when we receive it to note damage (or lack of); doing the same when the vehicle is returned to the guest. We invite guests to walk around their cars with us prior to returning possession to them. Due to all these processes, if possession of a vehicle is accepted and later damage reported, this may slow the resolution process of that situation. Please understand, at this time, the hotel has taken very action available; our insurance company will continue to make efforts to bring this situation to resolution as quickly as possible.
Without regard to liability or fault, we are saddened to learn of any damage to your vehicle and the negative effect this could take on your travels. We genuinely enjoyed hosting your family during your travels in Portland, and I invite you to contact me personally if I can be of any assistance. Safe travels and take care ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, FL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is located in downtown and within easy walking distance of the waterfront and many local attractions. We were staying here as part of a bus tour, I don't know what the rates were but the room we had was great-plenty of space, good bed and pillows and the bathroom was away from the sleeping area. The room was very quiet. Getting around town from here was very easy. We had a very good continental breakfast each morning (2) we were there and the security is very good. I would stay here again if going back to Portland.

Green Features: Recycling trash baskets in the room for paper, plastic, cans and glass (all in 1 basket).
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdxct, Guest Relations Manager at Portland Marriott City Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. I am so happy to find that you had such a great time in Portland. Portland Marriott City Center is one of the most centrally located hotels in the Downtown Portland area and if you want to get out and have fun, then we are the hotel for you.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again for choosing Portland Marriott City Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott City Center

Property: Portland Marriott City Center
Address: 520 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3424
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#34 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing