We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great park and fly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Ranked #48 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great park and fly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My husband and I always stay here (either together or separately - that's how much we like the property) if we have an early flight out. It is close to the airport, staff is friendly, and airport shuttle is on demand. It is a great park and fly location. The restaurant and room service are good and dependable.

They recently (I think) added a feature called "premium" - I upgraded for 20$ and it included wifi access and "credenza access" - the credenza on the 8th floor is stocked with non-alcoholic beverages (including red bull, juice, waters, etc) and snacks (chex mix, chips, fruit, candy, trail mix etc). I'm not sure if the upgrade was worth it for a single traveller but for a family or a couple the snacks/beverages may be worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahinOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We love hearing from our guests, you are the reason we are here. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Jim Dodson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    341
    179
    86
    58
See reviews for
346
185
50
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Unless I have errands that warrant a more expensive stay downtown, I usually stay here whenever I'm in Portland. It's convenient as it offers a shuttle to/from the airport. It's a good value with a buffet breakfast every morning. The buffet offers toast, pastries, yogurts, hot oatmeal, fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages, potatoes, juices and coffee. You can even get your eggs cooked to order. The only problem is that by the time you've made all the buffet stops, you're food is cold. My husband and I have tried all kinds of tricks but so far nothing seems to work. Perhaps if the plates were warmed. There is a small gym with treadmills and ellipticals and a pool next door. There are laundry facilities and a business center available too. It can get a little noisy on the weekends but it's usually quiet by bed time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
We really appreciate when you let us know how our team performed for you during your recent stay. I wanted to let you know we just completed a resurfacing of our 2 pools & we are installing new fitness equipment tomorrow.
With Warm Regards
Jim Dodson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lebanon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

the upgraded floor suites were very sweet, first time for everything will do it again, the Hilton Honors program has been a valuable travel tool to build credibility throughout the Hilton Hotel chain, this was the first embassy suites I stayed at and will definately book again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We are excited to hear you like our new Premium Floor. Our team is continuing to work with the Embassy Suites Brand to find new ways to enhance our guests experience.
With Warm Regards
Jim Dodson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,671 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 707 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

This is a good choice when visiting PDX. Standard amenities, wine beer in the afternoon, buffet breakfast in the morning. Nothing great or unusual, but no surprises, either. This is a hotel that is all about its high visibility and good location, virtually impossible to miss.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. The team is always excited to take great care of our guests & love the feedback.

Jim Dodson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
182 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My wife and I stayed recently at the Embassy Suites PDX and overall we are happy with the decision to do so and will probably stay again. With that said, there are a few things that I would consider when and if you are planning a stay.
For one, upon entry I was greeted by a few front desk "kiosks" which is just fine....some for regular guests, one for Hilton Honors Members ( which I am ) guests. The gentleman at the regular kiosk is in the wrong position at this property. Without a doubt, he lacks the warmth and welcoming spirit that gives guests the initial overall impression of the hotel. Had I been a walk-in without a reservation, I would have left. On the other hand, the woman who was at the Honors Member desk was a pleasure to work with. Friendly, outgoing, helpful!
Secondly, the bar/restaurant. Our waiter, Idar (sp?) Russian name..sorry. was totally fantastic! He has amazing customer service skills and goes above and beyond with his knowledge of the menu and suggestions. However, if you order a mixed drink from the restaurant ( located on the East end of the building) it has to come from the bar via the bartender all the way from the West end of the building. It just seems illogical and poorly laid out for such a nice restaurant as you can see from your table the bartender leaving his customers at the bar to hand deliver your drinks to your table. I don't get it? Is this a liquor licensing issue or just poor planning? Its just seems...awkward.
Lastly the price. The rate I paid included parking my car for a 7 days at the hotel as I was flying out of PDX. Had this not been figured in to my rate the rates at Embassy Suites are much higher than comparable properties.....
As mentioned, when planning to stay, park and fly out of PDX, this property is a great choice. I hope with just a few small adjustments, they could turn a good Hotel into a great one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We have carefully reviewed & addressed your concerns in an effort to insure faster service @ the front desk & the lobby bar. we appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our Customer experience as our whole team is committed to the task.
With Warm Regards
Jim Dodson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The first night there was a neighbor coughing loudly on the other side of the wall and the hotel graciously offered to move me to a nice quiet corner room for my second night stay. However, I didn't realize there were still hotel chains that will charge $9.95 per day to use the internet in the room- but this one did. I was also frustrated that I was unable to get a discount for the room being that I was an attendee for a business seminar being held in the room. They said all of the discounted rooms were sold out. With the pool being down for service and key walkways blocked off with construction tape, I have mixed reviews on this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Good hotel, friendly and rsponsive staff. Location is great close to airport. Complimentary breakfast is rich and tasty. Suites are big an spatious. Stay is convineing despite the distance from Portland downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank atuna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. It is very important to our team that we take great care of our guests. We look forward to the opportunity to provide for your next stay in Portland
With warm regards
Jim Dodson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#36 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Address: 7900 NE 82nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97220-1388
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Portland
#35 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Airport Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing