We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, stylish, whimsical hotel with homey amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun, stylish, whimsical hotel with homey amenities”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stylishly decorated hotel, with a warm and welcoming lobby and sitting area. Excellent location in downtown Portland. Spacious rooms with sitting areas. Friendly, superb service. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenoTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,342
    520
    120
    48
    19
See reviews for
593
1,301
205
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

On a trip with my wife and daughter to check out colleges in Oregon. Arrived late to a wonderful 3 days @ the Monaco in downtown. Wonderfully restored hotel that is pet friendly.
Entered to find a "welcome board" with the name Lou Reed on it. I was hoping he was doing a concert. Come to find out it was a cat!!
Great room, wonderful staff and a hotel restaurant above and beyond what is typical. Breakfasts in the morning and local beers in the afternoon made it one of our favorite spots.
Highly Recommend this hotel. If our daughter attends college in Oregon it will be our home base on every visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFFOliveoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco in Portland for two consecutive weekends at the beginning and end of our Oregon vacation. We booked this hotel based on the reviews from tripadvisor and were not disappointed. This was our first time at a Kimpton hotel and we enjoyed all the nice touches so much we will look for this chain in other cities we stay in. On our first weekend we were automatically upgraded to a suite! We could see Mt Hood right from our window! We were greeted with a bottle of champagne already on ice and my two boys each had a stuffed animal waiting for them. Boy did they feel special! We also had a "raid the minibar" card to take $10 from the bar on the house. The front desk asked if we needed anything upon check in and after a long flight both my boys were tired and thirsty. We asked for chocolate milk to be sent to the room (assuming we would have to pay room service charges etc.) but this was part of the "welcome." The chocolate milk arrived within 5 minutes and our boys were happy campers with their milk and snacks from the bar. And of course we were happy with the champagne!
The room and hotel were great. The hotel is pet friendly. My husband and son are both allergic to dogs, but they have hypoallergenic rooms which we got upon request. The room was spacious with a huge bathroom. Plenty of room for the four of us. The beds were super comfortable.
There is a free happy hour in the evening. It was fabulous. There was a Wii for the kids. There was one night they were doing balloon animals. There was a choice of local wines, sangria, and local beers. Also light appetizers. There were also goldfish crackers and drinks for the kids. The happy hour was a little different everyday. In the afternoon they supplied popsicles and lemonade. An assortment of coffee was available in the morning as well. The staff was super friendly. The hotel was within walking distance to Voodoo donuts, powell's books, lots of food carts, and the saturday market.
Since I had joined the kimpton club online, we thought this welcome was probably for the very first stay. I'm happy to say I was wrong about that! On our second weekend, we were greeted with a bottle of wine, another mini bar raid, and chocolate milk was again sent up for the boys. There was also a goldfish in the room for the kids enjoyment and they sent up a baby care package. Anything we asked for was in the room within minutes! We were not upgraded this time, but the room was pretty similar in size. The only difference I could tell was the bathroom was smaller and there was not a view of mt hood. It is not often that I can say I loved spending time at a hotel.
All in all, our stay at the Hotel Monaco was fabulous and we cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton Club online
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyShanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I love Kimpton hotels but this one was especially nice.
The people were wonderful.
The rooms were lovely.
The free cocktail hour was delightful.

The room service was delish and they went out of their way to help me maintain a healthy diet with substitutions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king size bed, you get an amazing drawing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabelltini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

First time staying at a Kimpton hotel but it definitely won't be the last, Hotel Monaco was absolutley wonderful, the staff at the valet parking were the first to greet us and they were very friendly and then the staff at check in were even more friendly, all in all the staff at this place are great, they really make you feel welcome, we were travelling with our two small grandsons, one two year old who took a liking to the gold fish at the front desk, so they brought him one up to the room. The decor is very warm and comfortable, we had a king suite and our daughters had a queen suite and every little detail was immpecable, we only stayed one night but I wish we had stayed longer, next time we are in Portland we are definitely staying at this hotel,

Room Tip: the suites are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy to hear that you and your family had such a great visit. I hope that next time you come to see us it will be for more than one night. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warmly,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Unfortunately we could only spend 1 night here as this was such a pleasant experience. This hotel does it right, more businesses should model themselves after this hotel's customer service. We arrive with our dog who is welcomed by the bell man and given water and treats as we enter the lobby. The front desk staff were so incredibly nice, helpful and had a genuine smile. We felt like family coming home for a holiday. Our room was beautifully decorated to include a dog bed, dog bowl, doggy treats and a chew toy waiting for us! From the mini bar, $10 worth of snacks are free. There is free Happy Hour in the living room, they insist you bring the dog! They have free popsicles in the freezer on your way out to see downtown Portland and free coffee (hot or iced) in the lobby in the morning. During Happy Hour, we thoroughly enjoyed a man playing popular tunes at the piano. During our morning coffee morning, we enjoyed beautiful piano music provided by one of the guests. The hotel is very quiet and wonderfully relaxing. The parking garage is meticulously clean with bicycles you can rent for $5 down there. The car arrived promptly. I have never been to a hotel that makes it look effortless to make you comfortable, a home away from home, AND dog friendly.

Room Tip: one should make a reservation in advance with a dog, request a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulmqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Great hotel in Portland. First time at a Kimpton; had hear they were different. You have to get used to the dog dish in the lobby. Don't get me wrong, I love dogs, just not sure they should be roaming a hotel.
Service and staff are great!! Even on our weekend stay. Upgraded to a junior suite. The living area was very dark and uninviting. We didn't even use it. The view from the room window is great - we stayed there. Bathroom was huge and barely usable. Something that large should have a walk-in shower, which was needed. Free wi-fi requires a membership in their loyalty club.
This is an older building with character.
You could spend a couple of days in Portland, easy.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a suite, the living area is dark and unusable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RielyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 142 in Portland
1,369 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing