We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service of any hotel I've stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

They went above and beyond to accommodate my baby and I. They stocked the roo m with fresh fruits and vegs I could use to make babyfood upon arrival, even leaving a brand new peeler. When we went to rent a car, they even purchased an infant car seat (to keep at the hotel) because they didn't have one. They also have a full size crib (not a travel crib), AND they baby proof, so be sure to request that. They even happily obliged my request for shampooed carpets prior to our arrival because I had a crawling baby. My husband and I were so pleased with the hotel, and cannot say enough nice things about them. The location is convenient, the attached restaurant is superb, the hotel is clean, and everyone is so friendly. Home away from home!

Room Tip: Full size crib available, and will baby proof upon request (they even shampooed carpets)
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvMyHubby_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was such a pleasure to have your family with us and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed you visit just as much. We hope that the next time you are in Portland we will get to see you again!

Kind Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,114)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,340 - 2,346 of 3,114 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

My family and I just spent five great days at the Hotel Mocaco. We were greeted by Jamie who was extremely courteous and professional throughout our stay. To our delight we had been upgraded to a room on a higher floor. Our King room was the perfect size for a party of four with a sliding door seperating the main bedroom from the Queen sofabed in the living area. The decor was funky and the room had all necessary amenities. The car service gentlemen were extremely efficient and offered directions to all of the locations we requested. In fact, all staff members were very polite and provided great customer service. The location of the hotel is perfectly situated for great shopping and within easy walking distance of many wonderful restaurants. We will definitely make the Hotel Monaco our hotel of choice when staying in Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceKellly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I have learned that the Kimpton properties are mostly small, upscale boutique hotels. This was our first stay and it was very nice. We chose to upgrade to a queen suite for just $18.00 over what we had agreed to pay and the room was huge with a full sitting room separate from the large bedroom with large couch, desk, mini bar and flat screen-just lots of room to spread out. The staff was stellar-cordial, helpful with directions etc. They said it was fine to take things out of the stocked mini-fridge to put my champagne in it, and even brought me some champagne glasses-it seems they have been trained to always say yes-VERY NICE. The complimentary afternoon receptions were a great surprise-wine, beer on tap, a special cocktail from the mixologist in the restaurant, and appetizers to boot. There was Wii for the kids, painting for anyone who desired to paint and even a chocolate tasting. In the morning there was complimentary Starbucks coffee, hot as well as iced, along with tea and newspapers. My only advice is to request a room on a high floor-we were on 2- and it was very noisy-traffic noise and trash trucks picking up garbage. The walls are also very thin and we could hear our neighbors very clearly. This hotel is very well located-easy to use the free metro to the Pearl district, where we spent lots of time at the galleries, and restaurants. The fitness center is very nice, with personal televisions and earphones, water, and towels provided Other than the noise, this hotel is a charmer-I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room on high floor
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LATaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The staff were helpful and friendly; everyone from the front desk to the valet parking attendant. The room was such a pleasant surprise: quirky, chic, fun decor. The location was great for us (central Portland).

The extras included: dogs, dogs, dogs (loved it and I'm not a dog person), bikes available and fortune tellers during free (!) wine/beer hour.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Every Kimpton hotel that we have ever stayed at have been amazing. The staff are always so wonderful and welcoming. Every hotel is styled so different and this one is very beautiful. The complimentary wine hour is so nice. The location of the Monaco is wonderful, it's so close to everything.

We started staying with the Kimpton hotel group because they are so pet friendly. Not just dog friendly like other hotels. We travel with our cat sometimes and she has always been welcome. We just LOVE Kimpton!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandEWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review. We love to hear from people that love Kimpton as much as we do! We are thrilled that you and your cat enjoyed the hotel as well as Portland. We look forward to you next visit.

Warmly,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We had a fabulous stay at the monaco. For about 10 days before our stay, decoteau - a guest relations specialist at the hotel started helping plan our trip. She booked us for the private wine tasting, advised us as to local spots and really helped us have a great trip. When we arrived the staff was fantastic, the room was massice, clean, comfortable, and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time in Portland. I will also be sure to pass along your comments about our concierge. We hope that you will be back again the next time you are in Portland.

Kind Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I went here for a week for a business conference, thinking it was going to be torture living in an urban hotel that long. Much to my surprise, this place was amazing, it's in a well renovated old building and I had a wonderful time. They have a resident dog that stays in the lobby, a friendly concierge, a manager who makes it a point to talk to you and ask about your stay, well appointed rooms and a charming lobby. The gym is good. Room service food was very good (mainly because they were more than willing to make whatever I asked for, not just what was on the menu), but the Texas-style restaurant associated with the hotel (sharing space in the same building) really didn't move me due to poor quality of food. The Italian place across the street was excellent for dinner. There's a spa that gives discounts to guests but is not run by the hotel that was really bad (think smelly, dank, dirty - it feels like you're in a damp basement) and should be avoided. Easy walking distance around downtown Portland, and great (fast, safe and clean!) public transport to the airport. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeepOceanSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,733 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,390 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £153 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing