We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our honeymoon”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I recently completed our honeymoon, which consisted of driving from San Fran to Portland, with a two day stay at Hotel Monaco. During this trip we stayed at many nice hotels and B & B's. The Monaco was by far the best hotel experience. Everyone we encountered at the hotel, from the valets and doormen to the front desk staff and concierge were absolutely great. The staff was helpful and attentive and their advice was always spot on.

The room (Monaco King Suite) itself was a good size and the design was really cool. My wife wants to decorate our house in the same way but says she is too scared so I think we will just continue to enjoy the Monaco's design bravery.

We appreciated the complimentary sparkling wine and the $10 mini bar voucher even though we didn't use the latter (not sure why). The internet was a little spotty but we always managed to make it work eventually. Location of the hotel is great, within walking distance to most attractions. The complimentary bikes are also a nice touch and put even more within reach of the hotel.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Friendly and staff, great rooms, good location, and unique extra's. I just wish they had locations in Canada!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopefullylost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,316
    510
    117
    46
    19
See reviews for
576
1,287
204
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great location in downtown, we had king suit and room was quiet, clean and comfortable, large bathroom. They have wine reception in the evening, come early, since it getting crowded and small snacks run out fast. Hotel is pets friendly, if you have allergy ask for pet free floor - we've asked and had been accommodated - get a room on 5th floor. Had breakfast in their restaurant once, no waiting in line, good quality food. Sign up for their loyalty program (free on-line), it will give you free Internet and $10 coupon for mini-bar which we used for 2 bottles of water in the room. Concierge could arrange you a car with car rental agency (a couple of blocks walk) which you could pick up in the morning and drop-off after hours in the evening in the garage (to avoid parking fees at the hotel) if you want to have a car for a day. 5 blocks away there is beautiful waterfront walk leading to marina. Where we had great lunch at McCormick and Schmicks, outdoor with view to marina. Also walking distant from hotel were 2 expensive, but great restaurants: Andina (Pearl district), Little Bird (3 blocks from the hotel). There is a plenty of inexpensive food around from the carts. There is also one good restaurant which is out of the way, you have to drive there:Pok Pok (at 3226 SE Division St). The only word of advise: do reservation early! I didn't do reservations fro restaurants before we came to Portlans, then when we try to get to one of the mentioned above, we was not able to make any reservation withing all 3 days that we've been there. But Portland restaurants have a rule to dedicate some percentage of tables fro walk-ins, but the waits are L-O-N-G. I mean, very lond, as Andina (Friday night) - 1.5hrs, Pok Pok (Saturday evening) - 2 hrs, Little Bird (early Sunday evening) - 1 hr wait. Wear you walking shoes to be able to walk for 2 hrs while waiting for a table, if you incline to get to some particular restaurant. The same for breakfast places - do reservations, if they have more then 4 star reviews on Yelp.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a great time at this hotel over the July 4th weekend. The service was great; I signed up as a Kimpton In Touch member, and was so delighted to receive sparkling water, fruit, and a yoga mat in my room upon arrival (also free internet!). The room was spacious and clean. Great location in the heart of downtown Portland, close to the waterfront where I had two great morning jogs (and they provided a running map in my room!).

We also at the Red Star Tavern with the $40 credit we received through AAA, and it was very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernCAYogachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

If you know Kimpton hotels, you know to expect some unique elements in each property that make it more personalized and lovable than the neighborhood competition. Downtown Portland offers many hotels that span the spectrum of price points; for my first multi-night stay in this city I went with the centrally located Monaco with the hope for a more local feel/attention from the staff. I'd also been holding a reservation at The Nines (a new Starwood property one block away), but the Monaco won out when very friendly concierge staff emailed me ahead of my stay asking if they could be of assistance, then promptly responded to my questions.

This hotel is classic Kimpton in decor (stylishly funky) and staff (kind and efficient with rare exceptions). As with every Kimpton, there is a daily hospitality hour in the evening -- but this was the most expansive of any I've experienced. Along with complementary wines, beers, and non-alcoholic offerings were a charming piano player, Wii, and painting supplies. At three other points in the day: coffee, then lemonade, then popsicles. And at any time, borrow one of the well-maintained bicycles from the underground parking garage to explore Portland neighborhoods and riverside paths (notable among staff were the front door and garage/valet staff: smart, professional, friendly, and lacking any pretension -- they deserve good tips). Another famed feature of Kimptons is the dog-friendliness, and this hotel kicks that up a notch with resident sweet dog, Timmy, who hangs out in the lobby some days. (An important distinction: My husband and I love dogs but do not have a dog, and we appreciate that there are designated rooms for pet-toting guests.)

The fact that I'm just getting to the guest room details cuts both ways: there's a lot to love about this hotel, but the guest rooms are more standard (we were in a king deluxe room). Sure, the decor is that Hotel Monaco style and the bed is very comfy with good, crisp sheets. There is ample space for work if you're a business traveler, and the bathroom is a good size. But housekeeping attention was lax; many surfaces were dusty or stained, and bathroom walls had toothpaste and make-up splatters. Towels were uncharacteristically old and worn thin and hallways smelled faintly of cigarette smoke. And an in-room safe that required rental via credit card? I've never seen a safe not be complementary if it's in your room.

Skip the bar at the Red Star Tavern attached to the hotel. I've often experienced great food and service (albeit pricier fare) at the restaurants on Kimpton properties, but this place was a surprising turnoff. The Red Star Tavern bills itself as a hot spot for hand-crafted cocktails with a focus on the classic liquors, and brags of its own brand of bourbon. Yet the bartender one afternoon knew nothing of whiskeys or bourbons when asked for a recommendation. Instead, he handed over a list and waited silently for the order. The drink order was a Manhattan, but it tasted like straight bourbon over ice. When my husband questioned the drink, the bartender tensely replied, "It has a cherry, doesn't it?"

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for writing such an in-depth review. As a hotel that strives to be the best in guest service your feedback is very important to us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities the hotel has to offer. I have already passed along your comments to our staff as well as the Bar Manager at the Red Star.

I apologize for the misunderstanding with the in-room safes. They are complimentary in all of our guest rooms. The credit card is used as a secure way to open and lock the safe. I am so sorry this was not communicated well to you and I will look into a way to make this more clear in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Our room was upgraded because it was our anniversary, and there was a complementary bottle of champagne waiting for us. We enjoyed our stay. The fitness room was better than most hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiereeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We spent two nights at the Hotel Monaco in late September. We were greeted by Timmy, a beautiful yellow Lab who belongs to one of the employees. The hotel is a pet-friendly hotel and Timmy greets all his guests :-) Our rooms (we had two) were just what we asked for location-wise. They were spacious, clean and quiet with lots of natural light. We had a minor problem with our toilet which was fixed within ten minutes. The maintenance man left a note apologizing for the inconvenience (there wasn't any) and his note was accompanied by a small chocolate hammer. So clever! The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast at the Red Star Restaurant which had a nice selection of breakfast and brunch foods. Food was very good. We highly recommend the Hotel Monaco to anyone, with or without pets, for their stay in beautiful Portland.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on the top floor and got a top-floor corner room away from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADuckatHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Hands down best hotel experience I have had in a long time. I won't list out all the good stuff cause there is too much. I was very happy with everything from valet, happy hour beer tastings in the lobby, rooms were just fantastic and the list goes on. Stayed in room 812 and it was perfect (okay the shower head sucked, but you forget about it with all the other good stuff).
Front desk staff were great especially the evening staff, we would always stop and get advice of where to go, what to see and most importantly where to eat!
Great location, everythings in walking distance.
Tip: sign up for Kimpton INTOUCH membership for free and get free wireless.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing