We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Portland, OR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I travel to Portland, OR often for work. This hotel is in a great location and easy to get to from PDX on the Max. It worth the money. The amenities are great - hopefully next time I can borrow a bike from the hotel and go for a ride.

I have stayed at many hotels in Portland and all of the Kimpton hotels in Portland - this is my new hotel of choice.

Greg gyms and the run group on Thursdays is a great idea.

Stay here tonight

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We're happy to read that Hotel Monaco is your new hotel of choice in Portland. Thank you! Thanks for joining our guided Thursday morning run. Our staff is happy for the company. Our bikes are complimentary to use during your stay - hopefully you'll have the opportunity to borrow one next time you're here.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,819 - 1,825 of 3,138 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

Enjoyed a three-nights stay at Hotel Monaco Portland, where I met "Timmy" the Pet Director (he is a Labrador Retriever) and other doggy guests. Upgraded to a two-room queen suite with two queen beds. Rooms at the Monaco are very fun, stylish and oversized - both with furniture and amenities. The eclectic mix of several types of wallpapers is great! Hotel is located centrally downtown, two easy blocks from the Max Light Rail System - taking you from and to the airport. It’s an easy walk to the Pearl District and NW 23rd Portland neighborhoods. Internet service was great throughout the hotel. Staff was fun and very helpful. The hotel hosts a happy hour each evening and guests mingle in a large lobby with a large fireplace – and of course – are frequently joined by their pets.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you very much for the tripadvisor review. I'm happy to read that you had the opportunity to meet Timmy - he's an excellent lobby dog and we all love him. We appreciate the great comments about the front desk staff. Thank you for staying and I hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We got a great deal on this top rated hotel. It must have been off-peak season to visit Portland (hence the constant rain). We were late getting to Hotel Monaco but were greeted kindly by the front desk staff. She understood how tired we were and when it was going to take just another minute to check us into the system, she apologized and had us sit in their impressive lobby. We got the king sized room which was amazing. It was bigger than most apartments and the price was a steal. It was tastefully decorated and unlike other hotels, it was laid out in a very functional and liveable way. The room was quiet too, you couldn't hear any street noise and we never heard anyone at all in the halls. And since we were in Portland, they put up wallpaper and "put a bird on it". The bathroom was great, bed comfortable, and helpful magazines to inform us about where to go. They even had free New York Times on Sunday which was a great surprise for me, I'm used to the USA Today in hotels. Also every night there was a happy hour in the lobby with drinks, piano playing, and conversation. They have every supply you need if you forget anything.

Everyone was nice and the hotel was classy but definitely not pretentious. My wife and I are now going to seek out other Kimpton hotels when we travel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Wow - thank for being Kimpton's newest fan! I'm sorry that you had to visit Portland during rainy season; however, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay despite the weather. Thank you for the excellent feedback about the front desk staff. I'm glad you enjoyed our wallpaper as well. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I'm always impressed by the courtesy of the front desk staff, and their sincere efforts to make the stay wonderful.
The hotel rooms are cozy and very attractively decorated with a quirky combination of old-world charm and art deco?
All the Kimpton hotel features are in play, exotic robes, mini-bar raids, social hours.
My favorite place to stay when traveling to Portland, by far!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 3rd floor to avoid any street noise reaching your windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

I'm so glad that we're your favorite place to stay while you are in Portland. Thank you! Thank you also for recognizing our front desk staff. I will make sure to pass your comments on to them. Thanks again.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We happened to be in Portland on a beautiful sunny weekend and stayed at the hotel Monaco. We loved the location, easy to walk or use public transportation to everywhere. The decor was wild with many different prints and patterns but this added to the great vibe. Our room was large with a nice sized bathroom and tub. Beds were comfortable with nice bedding. The staff at the front desk were exceptionally helpful, especially when we had to call them to ask for directions. Best of all, the fragrance that is piped in to this hotel was wonderful. I am allergic to many smells, but loved this fragrance that wafted through the lobby. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asset55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco! I'm happy to hear that the front desk was able to help you out with directions while you were with us and that you enjoyed the decor. Hopefully we'll see you again in the near future.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Another amazing stay at the Hotel Monaco...ten years that four BFFs visit Portland for a much needed moms get-away weekend. From the valet service (friendly, and drive that hairpin corner in the garage for me EVERY year) to the doormen (friendly, fun, and helpful with directions). The rooms do not disappoint...EVER. Comfy beds, great decorating, and prompt service. Super location for dining, shopping, site-seeing, all walking distance. Since then, I make a point to search for a Kimpton property when traveling. I've stayed in San Diego, New Orleans, and Seattle and all have that familiar 'home' feel. Can't wait to try NYC someday!!

Room Tip: Queen and King suites have french doors that separate living from sleeping...corners are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jswan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Ten years of staying with us with your best friends? That's a great tradition - thank you so much for staying with us for so many years. Thank you for the great comments and for remaining a loyal Kimpton guest. We appreciate it!

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

All the great reviews I read on tripadvisor were true indeed!! They were nice enough to upgrade us to a suite on the hypoallergenic floor upon our arrival. A bottle of champagne was left in our room while we went out to lunch which was a very pleasant surprise! The room and decor are eclectic and tastefully done. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Entire property seemed to be well kept and exceptionally clean. The attached hotel bar/restaurant was great and convenient. The wine happy hour hosted by the hotel was lively and enjoyed by lot of guests. You CAN'T ask for better location for getting to MAX light rail, restaurant and shopping..etc. Thank you for making our stay in Portland memorable. This is my first stay with the Kimpton Hotel and I am totally sold on the idea!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwj424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you so much for the excellent comments. I'm glad that you had a memorable stay in Portland and thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco. I'm glad you were upgraded to a suite on our hypoallergenic floor and that you received a complimentary bottle of champagne. Thank you for joining us at wine hour and for the plans to continue staying with Kimpton Hotels!

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,744 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £144 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing