We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This is by far the best hotel in Portland! It is animal friendly, clean, and affordable! What more could you ask fit? The staff was also very friendly and helpful...plus it was in a great location too! I will be returning!!! :)

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you so much for the amazing comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,833 - 1,839 of 3,168 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

I make 2-3 trips a yr to Portland Oregon . Tipically I try a different hotel each time. We have found our spot to stay and continue to return to! It is the Monaco Hotel ! The location is great for shopping, eating, and even a little gambling half a block away ! The hotel staff are fun, caring, and knowledgeable . The restraunt in building is the Red Star. The food is superb !! The rooms are large and comfortable . They have a huge beautifully decorated room directly off the lobby that they host every night of the week from 5:00-6:00 pm a wine/ beer hr for guests to visit and Listin to the piano music. We enjoyed this very much. Good company, good music, good drink, and good snacks.
We are done jumping from hotel to hotel. We found what we love at The Hotel Monaco ! Thank you to all staff for the treatment we recieved!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Wow! It's excellent to hear that Hotel Monaco is now your permanent Portland home. Thank you so much! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, staff, and our complimentary evening wine hour. Thank you for the excellent comments about our on-site restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House, as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This is a little north of the center of downtown Portland. The street car is right there. They have parking for guests at a price, if you drive a hybrid you get half off. The staff would cause me to come back. To the person they were all happy and very helpful. The rooms were clean and they tend up upgrade you if the house is not full. The price was less than you would expect down town but more costly than a hotel 6. All in all it is a great bargain for what you get.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Monaco Portland and for the excellent comments about our staff. I'm glad to hear that you were upgraded during your stay. I hope we see you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The hotel itself has a wonderful eclectic artistic flavor to it and the rooms continue in this vein with unique characteristics and furnishings. The rooms have always been spotlessly clean the times I have stayed there. The afternoon wine bar events are really fun with nice quality wine, good music and interesting conversational opportunities with other guests. The service is fabulous and the staff are all friendly and knowledgeable. Location is very central and provides easy access to almost anywhere in downtown Portland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalec02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for the excellent review. I am glad to hear that you were able to join our hosted evening wine hour and that you had the opportunity to meet some of our other guests. Thank you for the great feedback about our staff as well - we really appreciate it!

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Room was large, quiet and clean. Food at the resturant was good. Wine tasting sessions were fun. The hotel garage added to teh convienence and valet staff were quick.

The room had very comfortable bed. I slept great every night.

The hotel is pet friendly (I didn't bring one), met a couple of nice dogs in the elevator, but the rooms and public areas were clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your trip to Portland. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you next time you're in town.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights. Great service from the front desk, concierge and hotel attendants. Tom the concierge was very helpful in advising places to eat and providing directions to restaurants and shopping areas. Hotel and rooms were very clean and the fitness center was well kept with several machines and free weights. Location is central to downtown and close to a running path along the river.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland! I appreciate the comments about our front desk staff, room attendants, and Tom - our concierge. I'm glad to read that he gave you some good advice and that you enjoyed your time in Portland. We hope to see you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Everyone at the hotel helps make our stay enjoyable and pleasant. Our dogs are welcomed as part of our family and every person whom we interacted with was polite, helpful and professional. We find our stays here at the Monaco and at the other Kimptons have been a total pleasure. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenSprings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for being a loyal Hotel Monaco guest. I'm so glad that you are able to bring you dogs when you stay with us - we love our four-legged guests. Hopefully we'll see you next time you come up from Ashland. Thanks again.

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,756 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 144 in Portland
1,414 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 144 in Portland
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £129 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing