We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed from November 29-Dec 2. We are first timers to Portland, and came to see the Pearl Jam show and celebrate our anniversary.

We received a complimentary turn down service on our 1st night for our anniversary. The bubbly was delicious and very much appreciated. Thank you!!

Every staff member we came across was friendly and always willing to help if needed. My only complaint is toward the house keeping. On our 2nd day we wanted housekeeping so the bottle and glasses could be cleared away and some replacement coffee and clean mugs. We left our room around 10 am and came back again around 5:30 and the bed was made and the tip was gone, but the dishes were still in the room. Luckily the cart was down the hall, so I just helped myself to 2 clean coffee cups and some coffee/creamer.

The lobby is warm and inviting, and be sure to check out the wine/beer reception. The Red Tavern has a good happy hour, but was very busy when we were there. So be aware that you could have a decent wait for a table to open up.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had corner king room and really enjoyed the view and the layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlyBob33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks so much for your comments on Trip Advisor. I was happy to note that you enjoyed your visit. I apologize that your dishes were not taken away during stayover service. Sometime our attendants don't know if a guest is still using the glassware or not.

We look forward to mthe pleasure of serving you again in the hopefully near future.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,246
    493
    114
    46
    17
See reviews for
550
1,253
199
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at Monaco Portland for my husband's birthday. The front desk and valet staff were all friendly and accommodating and gave us great recommendations for dinner. The hotel's decor is fabulous. Loved the happy hour; some of the wine was quite good and we ended up visiting the winery the next day (St. Joseph's, 30 min. south of Portland in a beautiful setting). The front desk courteously allowed us late checkout with no problems. I loved that they offer free bicycle rentals. My only issue was with room cleaning. The housekeeping really did not do a good job. Something for the management to look into.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatyana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks so much for your recent review on Trip Advisdor. We really appreciate the feedback. I noted your comment about our housekeeping department, and I will pass it along. We have very high standards, and really strive for perfection. We will work hard on making the changes necessary to achieve this lofty goal. I apologize for any difficulty you encountered.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent 3 nights here and they were the best 3 night's out of our 7 days. We stayed on their hypoallergenic floor which was the 8th I believe. Amazing staff, got an early check in, happy hour in the lounge (which is set up with numerous chair/games/fireplace) coffee and tea in the AM. Awesome toiletries and coffee/tea in room. The door man Matt (I think that was his name) was awesome. He helped us get around gave us directions, suggestions, everything. If I had to recognize anyone at the hotel it would be him.

I look forward to coming back to the Monaco in the future one of the best hotel I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spend last weekend at the Hotel in Portland with mixed reaction.
When we came back to the hotel at 3:00pm our room was not made up. When the guy showed up to make up the room he threw the pillows on the floor. We questioned him and he made a chance of pillow cases, ever wonder what is happening when your not in the room?? The TV didn't work on one of the channels and they said the equipment was old, that is why it didn't work.

Room Tip: The rooms are very small but well appointed. We requested a corner unit and got one in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granny109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks so much for your recent Trip Advisor review. We really appreciate the feedback. I was happy to note that for the most part you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for your observation of our employee who opted to put pillows on the floor just before he was going to put them back on your bed. Yes, you are correct that this is not the right procedure. I was glad that when you pointed it out that he changed the pillowcases. Looks like our training program needs to be reviewed, and reimplimented. We will fix that.
Thanks again. We look forward to the opportunity of srving you again in the hopefully near future.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, sweet minibar. Great location, only blocks away from the light rail train, restaurants, theater and food truck pods.

My husband and I flew into Portland for the first time and spent 3 nights at this gorgeous hotel. It was our first marriage anniversary. A Doorman is stationed at the front door from roughly 06:00 to late, it had to be 22:00 or 23:00. These gentlemen are very friendly and helpful. The one named Matt was the most helpful. Very helpful front-desk staff also, Juan particularly so. I had requested a king bed and of course told them it was our anniversary, we ended up with a king bed and a corner room on the seventh floor on the north-east side of the building. The rooms are great and are very beautifully decorated. Minibar of both cold items in the fridge and dry goods consisting of alcohol, soda, water, chocolate, cookies and more. We were definitely disappointed with the bed. Not the size but the consistency, it was too soft and wasn't pleasant for us. We are used to a firmer mattress at home though. Satisfactory TV selection. It is in a perfect location; two blocks from the light rail, couple blocks from the food truck pods and other great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caffy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks so much for your review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the feedback. I noted that you enjoyed your visit and you plan on returning. I did note your comment about the bed in the room you stayed in as being too soft and lumpy. On your next visit e mail me and we can add a bedboard which will make any bed harder. There is (of course) no charge for adding a bedboard.

We look forward to the very great pleasure of serving you again in the hopefully near future.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our two days were fine and barely left the hotel and restaurant despite the good location. The nightly wine and appetizer hour with the pianist playing was an unexpected treat. Kudos to Kyle, the head chef, as well as all of the other employees such as our frequent server Rusty, front desk, etc.. Eclectic decorated room which was quite nice. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Oregon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a cozy hotel with very friendly staff. We stay in the suites and they are just beautiful. I like the funky decorations and furniture. The bathroom is spacious. The suite has a separate room with sliding doors. Its very peaceful. Walk in downtown portland is also great with wonderful restaurants nearby.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kaniz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#12 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing