We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nifty Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco for a conference and really enjoyed this funky lively hotel! The front staff was very welcoming. The room was small but well decorated with vibrant colors. Morning coffee was the high point! Ready early and excellent Starbuck’s quality. Afternoon wine reception was great with several choices and live music. The food served during the conference was excellent! The only negative was the large array of items for sale in the room. Very tacky….. For these prices, stuffed animals should be sold in a lobby gift shop not in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bourlingueur60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,114)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 3,114 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family spent two nights at Hotel Monaco. From the time you walk in to the time you leave you are offered excellent customer service. The hotel lobby is a warm, inviting room where one can enjoy a glass or two of wine each evening. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.
We have stayed here previously and will definitely stay here again. The location is perfect for downtown Portland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvinpoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Once again, TripAdvisor reviewers steered us in the right direction. We thoroughly enjoyed the two nights we spent at Hotel Monaco. It is a beautiful, well-kept hotel with a great customer-service focused staff. Our room was crispy-clean and comfortable. (The bed could have been a little more comfortable, but it was not enough to detract from a great visit.) We didn't use our car once, walking to the Saturday market and what I'll refer to as the mall-shopping district. The hotel had wine tasting each evening which is always nice. We love Portland and are pleased to be able to add our "thumbs-up" review for Hotel Monaco!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomJoHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for your recent review of the Hotel Monacco Portland. I noted that you really enjoyed your visit. I did note that the bed "could have been more comfortable". Just so you know if the bed is too soft we can add a bedboard that will firm a soft bed up. We offer a Kimpton Hotel Seally spec'd bed that generally runs pretty firm. On your next visit let us know what you prefer.

We look forward to the very great pleasure of serving you again in the hopefully near future.

Thanks

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Monaco in Portland for a weekend trip with a friend, celebrating her upcoming wedding. This is a luxury, boutique, modern style hotel wonderfully located in downtown Portland. I'm a member of their "In Touch" member program, so I received a discount room rate, and a food credit with the connected restaurant or in-room bar. I had previously noted in my online reservation why my trip was special and they even called it out to me at check-in, that never happens. I always wonder, why ask when it doesn't matter, but it was a nice touch. The front desk staff was great, the bellman, doormen, and room-service staff were all phenomenal. That's even compared to other hotels in this area and hotel quality. I was impressed. The decor is...truly delightful and make you feel fantastic. I also can't say enough about the connected Red Star restaurant. I've been there on many occasions and always get great service in the bar or otherwise. The food is absolutely delicious. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel, we were told there was a loud dog next door and the owners were coming shortly to get it.

A simple sorry would have been fine for us, however, the front desk told us to head to the Red Star Tavern and dinner and drinks were on them.

Then when we got to our room, there was a hand written note apologizing and a bottle of wine for our enjoyment.

We were blown away with this service and as it was certainly above anything we expected.

In addition to all of that, our waitress at the restaurant, and everyone we dealt with at the front desk, were all super helpful and friendly. Plus the room and amenities were great. They earned our business again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lilgump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

What a cool place to stay! My husband and I were traveling the PNW for the first time and our first stop was in Portland. We couldn't have found a better place to spend our time than at Hotel Monaco - it was our favorite place we stayed during our trip. The staff is great, they recommended fantastic restaurants and places to go during our stay and we enjoyed each one. We loved seeing dogs and people watching during the nightly happy hour and everyone we met was very friendly. Oh - I almost forgot the best part! They upgraded us to a King Suite when we checked in which truly made our trip! The suite was wonderful! And we really appreciate the upgrade. This was our first Kimpton Hotel experience but we will definitely be staying with them in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel Monaco Portland is consistent with my experience with Kimpton Hotels. The location in downtown Portland is close to shopping and restaurants. Our room was a king suite and it was artfully decorated--really fun. The hotel itself is beautiful and clean, the staff warm and professional. We ate at the Red Star Tavern and enjoyed the food and drinks (Happy Hour is longer than most--a real plus!). The downside to this hotel is that there is not a good place to take your dog out. I had to choose a nearby tree with a grate around it for her to potty--no close by patch of grass. Valet parking is pricey--be warned, the entrance is past where you think it is, down into the underground garage. Overall, another great Kimpton experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milly6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,733 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,390 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £153 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing