We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our family has stayed at hotel Monaco several times now and it never fails to impress us! We always enjoy the happy hour in the beautiful lobby before walking to any of our destinations in downtown Portland. The location is perfect! Our rooms were spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. However, the highlight of our stay would have to be the excellent customer service we received from Megan and the others at the front desk. We felt taken care of from the second we arrived up until we left. We rarely experience the kind of effort and gracious hospitality the staff showed us. They went above and beyond to make our weekend one we won't soon forget. Hotel Monaco won our hearts again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,340
    520
    120
    48
    19
See reviews for
592
1,301
205
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Monaco this past Saturday night for a girlfriend's bachelorette party and had a wonderful time! As I worked for a boutique hotel myself for 2 years, I know how much work goes into making guests feel welcome and taken care of. We definitely felt like the Hotel Monaco team wanted us to have a great time.Six of us stayed in the Double Suite (Accessible / Roll-in). Two double beds and a pull out sofa, with a large bathroom for handicap accessibility, which we did not need but the space worked well for a large group of girls. Here are a few things that really made the stay great :

- At the front desk at check in I asked for small plates and silverware for some snacks we brought along, they were waiting for us in the room.
- Reserved garage parking for guests, super convenient!
- There was a great comp wine tasting going on when we arrived Saturday, from 5-6pm.
- We requested extra cocktail glasses in the room and they were delivered quickly.
- The beds were so comfortable!
- Coffee service in the lobby in the morning : Tea, Hot and Iced Coffee, with cream and a variety of syrups.
- Quick and easy check out.

When girlfriends come into town again, Hotel Monaco will definitely be at the top of our list for places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaksPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Having stayed at the Palomar in Dallas, I had high expectations of the Monaco....this hotel ticks all the boxes, but the 2 things that stand out are 1) the décor...very well put together and 2) the massive windows in the room...

very comfortable, very well put together....overall, highly satisfied...

Room Tip: Get a Corner room...the windows are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSTSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco for a conference and really enjoyed this funky lively hotel! The front staff was very welcoming. The room was small but well decorated with vibrant colors. Morning coffee was the high point! Ready early and excellent Starbuck’s quality. Afternoon wine reception was great with several choices and live music. The food served during the conference was excellent! The only negative was the large array of items for sale in the room. Very tacky….. For these prices, stuffed animals should be sold in a lobby gift shop not in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourlingueur60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family spent two nights at Hotel Monaco. From the time you walk in to the time you leave you are offered excellent customer service. The hotel lobby is a warm, inviting room where one can enjoy a glass or two of wine each evening. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.
We have stayed here previously and will definitely stay here again. The location is perfect for downtown Portland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvinpoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Once again, TripAdvisor reviewers steered us in the right direction. We thoroughly enjoyed the two nights we spent at Hotel Monaco. It is a beautiful, well-kept hotel with a great customer-service focused staff. Our room was crispy-clean and comfortable. (The bed could have been a little more comfortable, but it was not enough to detract from a great visit.) We didn't use our car once, walking to the Saturday market and what I'll refer to as the mall-shopping district. The hotel had wine tasting each evening which is always nice. We love Portland and are pleased to be able to add our "thumbs-up" review for Hotel Monaco!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomJoHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for your recent review of the Hotel Monacco Portland. I noted that you really enjoyed your visit. I did note that the bed "could have been more comfortable". Just so you know if the bed is too soft we can add a bedboard that will firm a soft bed up. We offer a Kimpton Hotel Seally spec'd bed that generally runs pretty firm. On your next visit let us know what you prefer.

We look forward to the very great pleasure of serving you again in the hopefully near future.

Thanks

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Monaco in Portland for a weekend trip with a friend, celebrating her upcoming wedding. This is a luxury, boutique, modern style hotel wonderfully located in downtown Portland. I'm a member of their "In Touch" member program, so I received a discount room rate, and a food credit with the connected restaurant or in-room bar. I had previously noted in my online reservation why my trip was special and they even called it out to me at check-in, that never happens. I always wonder, why ask when it doesn't matter, but it was a nice touch. The front desk staff was great, the bellman, doormen, and room-service staff were all phenomenal. That's even compared to other hotels in this area and hotel quality. I was impressed. The decor is...truly delightful and make you feel fantastic. I also can't say enough about the connected Red Star restaurant. I've been there on many occasions and always get great service in the bar or otherwise. The food is absolutely delicious. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,368 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing