We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Downtown Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco for two nights. We've enjoyed our stays at other Kimpton hotels and the Monaco did not disappoint. We received excellent service from check-in to check-out. The uniquely decorated rooms and lobby are spacious providing room to spread out and relax. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of many shopping and eating establishments. Front desk staff and bellmen/valets gave us spot on recommendations and directions for dining and other activities. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBTrvlr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,179 - 1,185 of 3,151 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just stayed for 2 nights at the hotel Monaco. It was a first class hotel, with first class accommodation and facilities. Every member of the staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was funky and fun - very clean and with good quality toiletries and towels. The hotel is centrally located and staff are very knowledgeable with directions for all places we needed. Portland is a lovely city and very driver friendly.
Like a previous reviewer we used the restaurant for convenience only.

Room Tip: The 8th floor is a hypo-allergenic floor. No pets, no smoking and very clean and fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Monaco for 2 nights, based mostly on the great reviews here on TripAdvisor. It did not disappoint. The staff were lovely, helpful and responsive. We had a suite and it was funky and fun and spacious. The happy hour from 5-6 was a nice way to drink for cheap, chat with other travelers and pet some pups. They had non-alcoholic options and cheddar goldfish for the kiddos too!

Speaking of animals, the pet floors are separate from the non-pet floors, something I was very glad to find out. I had been nervous about barking dogs and "pet smell" and that wasn't an issue at all.

The location was central to the shopping, Pearl District and the riverfront. We'll be bringing the kids back, for sure.

The Red Star Tavern, the hotel restaurant was ok; we ate there for the convenience

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyfamilyfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Both common areas and rooms are splendidly decorated (enough so as to earn a positive comment in French Vogue). However we found a previous guest's dustry & dirty socks etc, under a fancy curtain that apparently hadn't been moved in a while. Free wi-fi is great when so many high-end hotels have the cheek to charge for it. However, be aware that valet parking is a more-or-less mandatory extra $38 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks you so much for your recent review of your visit to the Hotel Monaco Portland. We were very glad to note that you enjoyed your visit. I did note that you found an item under a drape, and I am most apologetic. We will redouble our cleaning and deep cleaning efforts and programs in order to assure that this will not happen again.
In regards to the cost of parking we checked and it is in line with all major downtown properties. The cost includes free in and out privileges and our lot is secured and patrolled.
We look forward to the very great pleasure of your next visit.

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great location in downtown Portland. Signature Kimpton services. Quiet, clean and comfortable rooms. Nice and helpful staff. My go to hotel chain. Easy walk to good shopping and wine in the lobby at 5, then back out to a great Portland dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I love the Kimpton Hotel chain and the Hotel Monaco in Portland was wonderful! My daughter and I went to Portland for a "girls getaway" after Christmas. The service was exceptional, the rooms fun (we had bird wallpaper) and clean.

Every day at 5pm there was music, wine and a snack in the lobby. My daughter's favorite was Voodoo donut night.

We easily walked to the hotel from the train. There are a lot of homeless in the area which may make some people uncomfortable. There are wonderful restaurants nearby and shopping.

We asked for a room facing Mt. Hood and were lucky enough to see it several days.

Very dog friendly hotel, with Timmy, a Lab, who is the Director of Pet relations. Timmy was available during the days for us to love on when we were missing our own four legged family members. Because we knew we were going to miss our pets, the hotel offered the option of having a goldfish in our room. A pet away from home.

There are several unique options available to make your stay personalized. I chose to have a yoga mat in my room and it was there waiting upon arrival.

My daughter came down with a cold during our stay and late one night we called the front desk to see if there was any NyQuil for purchase. They had none but within 15 minutes someone was knocking on our door with a bottle of NyQuil. The clerk had sent someone to the drug store to pick some up! That is exceptional service.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YogaRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I love staying at Kimpton Hotels and the Hotel Monaco was no exception.

This is the first time I stayed at a Kimpton with my dog and it was an excellent experience. All of the staff were super-friendly to my black pit bull (his breed and colour often scares people although he's the sweetest dog). Plus, my dog loved the free, handmade, organic dog treats that are available all day at the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoLeesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 144 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 144 in Portland
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £138 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing