We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Hotel Rocks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This Hotel Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked this hotel through a bidding site & was blown away for what we paid. Love how pet friendly they are – they even offer pet sitting & dog walking.

Check in process: Very easy. They even gave us goodies for our dog.

Room: I had booked just a regular room, so I called to request a king bed the morning of our stay. The lady at the desk upgraded us to a King Suite. WOW! The suite was huge (too bad we were only staying one night). We brought our dog with us & she had a ball exploring the room. Our dog slept on the bed with us, but they had a dog bed in the room, toys, treats along with bowls for food & water.

Service – Every person we encountered was great - friendly, helpful, etc. They even brought us a spoon when I needed it for our dog’s food. When we requested a late check-out they did it without an extra fee.

WiFi – There is a charge for wifi, but all you need to do is join the Kimpton Rewards & it’s free. Very easy to do online.

Location – Another great location for us. We happen to be there on the night of the Starlight parade. This hotel is right in-between the two routes.

Parking isn’t cheap, but they charge by the day not each in & out. I liked how the garage is beneath the hotel. My car even got parked behind the curtain once.

Food – We ordered room service for breakfast & it was tasty. The eggs tasted like real eggs. Did find it interesting that they didn’t bring any water with the food. Guess they want you to buy the bottles in the room.

I would definitely look at staying here again. May even have to try some of the other Kimpton properties around the country.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strictlybettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,278
    503
    116
    46
    17
See reviews for
564
1,265
203
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a one-night stay through Priceline, and was very happy when my Express Deal turned out to be this hotel! I arrived late and left early in the morning, and when we checked in the agent gave us two coupons for free cocktails in the restaurant as we'd missed the cocktail hour. The hotel was beautiful, very quirky rooms and very comfortable. The hotel is pet friendly and although we didn't have a dog with us (our one-night stay was actually so we could collect our new puppy from Portland the next morning!) we'd definitely go back with one, and spend longer there!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foreverliz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel recently. It was great. A "traditional" monaco in terms of decor and layout. The rooms are quite large and nicely appointed. They have an afternoon happy hour and snacks in the lobby. Most importantly, the staff was very friendly, efficient, and helpful.

It's not a big hotel, but it's also not a small hotel...even so the staff recognized you by name.

Its also in a good location but what really drove me to write the review was the service. It was better than any hotel I've experienced recently.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had one night in Portland and heard the Hotel Monaco was nice. The decor is fun and quirky and the wine hour is a nice touch. We checked in without any trouble and the service was very friendly!

Our problems started when we headed to our room. Before we even got close we could hear the nonstop barking of a small dog. Turns out it was immediately on the otherside of our room. I called the front desk and they kindly moved us. There was no way we were going to listen to that all night. Twice while in the lobby my kids and I were barked at by a rather rambunctious medium to large sized dog it seemed the owner had a tough time keeping it on the leash.

Later in the evening we returned and were chatting with other guests in the lobby lounge area when the same dog charged at us barking and running around like mad scaring all the children. Honestly we weren't sure what it was going to do.

Turns out the owners were out to dinner and left the dog with hotel staff. Clearly it was more dog than they could handle. So... In order to feel comfortable we, the people, had to go lock ourselves in our room.

I honestly didn't realize "pet friendly" meant people were 2nd class.

The towels were very worn and so were the blankets on the pullout couch. Not what I would expect in a hotel like this.

I probably wouldn't care so much about the towels etc, but being threatened by animals in public spaces is too much for me, so I won't be staying here again and will think twice about kimpton properties.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kidhauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks so much for your recent Trip Advisor review. I would like to clarify our pet friendly policies. First, we have all pet guests sign a pet contract. In that contract we go over items like not leaving a dog in a room unattended as it is likely to bark without the owner present. We also review keeping a dog on a leash at all times. We also have three floors in the hotel where we can guarantee that a dog has not stayed, and dogs are not allowed. Dogs are allowed in the lobby and during wine hour but again only on a leash and highly supervised. When we can we do pet sit for our guests, but the dog is supervised and kept in an area where there is an employee to watch over it, again always on a leash. I am very sorry that you expoerienced a barking dog, and was happy to note our reception desk moved you. I assure you that had one of our employees seen an aggressive dog that they would not hesitate to ask the owners to take the dog away from any further guest contact.

Again my apologies. I hope that you will return.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I loved this hotel! It has such a fun, quirky style. I only stayed 1 night but I was very impressed with the service. The front desk staff were really helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. It's a little expensive but you get what you pay for and the location is excellent! I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The hotel is dog friendly so if you're not fond of sleeping in a room where a dog has been reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caymanlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prosser, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is amazing based on its location, comfort, and customer service. The staff was always friendly and helpful. They fulfilled every request of mine without hesitation. I believe what makes this hotel stand out is the attention to all of the little details that make for a comfortable experience. I have stayed here twice and it will be the ONLY place I stay when I visit Portland!

Room Tip: Choose the suite... you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cperciva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Monaco on many occasions, and whenever possible I try to return. I've been traveling and frequenting hotels for nearly 20 years so I guess I can say by now I've experienced a few of them. The Hotel Monaco stands out at or near the top of the long list of hotels I have been to. The service is outstanding - and VERY personalized. Like some hotels, they don't just find all the right "buzz" words that people want to hear, they actually have the DNA for quality and service and they consistently deliver a unique and superior product. They seem to really care about all their guests in a way that few other hotels do. Every staff person I have ever encountered, from the front desk, to the bellman, to the cleaning and maintenance staff, the parking attendants and the restaurant servers have been extremely courteous, friendly, creative prompt and professional and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The social hours and other creative activities, like morning group runs along the water, work to bring all the guests together and add to the enjoyment of the stay. In some ways, it feels like its own small community - relaxed and enjoying life. The rooms are fantastic - plush, clean and comfortable. And yes, the location is PERFECT - quick access to freeways and the airport, and walking distance to any and all that downtown Portland has to offer.

For 5 years straight, the experience has been consistently superior. I've yet to be disappointed in anything about the Hotel Monaco.

Room Tip: They are all great and spacious.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel Monaco is a very eco friendly hotel with lots of sustainable programs and policies.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing