We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest staff ever! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicest staff ever! :)”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

******AMAZING STAFF *****!!!
My husband and I were recently displaced from our home due to water damage, and after getting the run-around from our insurance company, we found the Hotel Monaco in our most desperate hour. True to form, the hotel is an absolute oasis of serenity....palatial rooms, gorgeous decor, and truly the kindest staff EVER. They were so compassionate, giving us a bottle of wine and other goodies to help restore our sanity and repair our wounded spirits. Meghan at the front desk went above and beyond to help us in every way! After 20 years in television, I've traveled alot between LA, NYC, etc....and i have never experienced a place with such a genuinely caring staff.
I guess it shouldn't be surprising that a hotel so welcoming of pets has a heart of gold...but nonetheless, if you seek a truly friendly experience -- in addition to extraordinary fun and sumptuous accommodations -- look no further than Hotel Monaco. It's an absolute gem! Xoxo

Room Tip: Go for a corner room!
See more room tips
Green Features: They make every effort and do a good job! I honestly have no complaints, these guys rocked it!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyDIff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks so much for your recent Trip Advisor review. And thanks for your mention of Megan. I will make sure she sees this review, as I am confident she will be very pleased. On your next visit if I can be of service please don't hesitate to e mail me. Special occasions are my (and my hotel's) specialty.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,367
    525
    121
    48
    19
See reviews for
602
1,308
206
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on a work related trip to Portland. Our room was massive and was decorated in the unique Kimpton property fashion, with a great Portland vibe (bird wallpaper). The bed was very comfortable and there was a separate living room area with desk and free wi-fi. The location was terrific and allowed us to walk to much of what Portland has to offer. Like other Kimpton properties, they offer the nightly wine reception, along with flavored waters throughout the day and even an ice cream hour. The employees were all very helpful and friendly as well. You can never go wrong with a Kimpton hotel, especially this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelislifegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks so much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the feedback. I noted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the hopefully near future.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

From the minute we arrived and were directed to the boutique valet parking it was clear that the Monaco was no ordinary Hotel. Plush interiors, complimentary wine hour, wii for the kids in the lobby alongside the quirky blackboard identifying the various canine guests all come together to create a first class holiday experience. The staff were genuinely pleasant, engaging and helpful - going out of their way to make suggestions and recommendations for our party. If you are in Portland then head for the Monaco

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmcfadyean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A typical Kimpton hotel, with interesting room decoration, free wine reception each evening, free coffee in the morning and snacks in the afternoon. The suite was huge, and comfortable. A great location in the middle of downtown - everything is a short walk away. The only down side is the city noise on a Friday evening - this isn't the fault of the hotel but a result of its location. It was quite on a Saturday - July 4th may have contributed.

Room Tip: Because of the potential for street noise, the higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus_uk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Kimpton always treats us well and we have yet to meet a room that is dull, uncomfortable, or poorly designed. But this Kimpton has by far been the friendliest, most energetic, and most welcoming we've stayed in--and that's really saying something. It's also quite large, worth noting as often the boutique-y and character-laden buildings Kimpton find themselves in are on the small side (a trade-off well worth it). This one is very spacious, both in shared spaces and private rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

No more cheap hotels for me! We had an enjoyable stay for two nights.
The underground valet was quick and professional.
The lobby was well appointed with free wine and live piano music from 4-6 PM.

Our room was very comfortable. Our King sized bed was great with over-sized, upholstered headboard. The bathroom was a good size. There was a small entrance area to the room that made the room feel like a separate bed room.

In the closet were two wild robes to wear.

The restaurant that is attached to the hotel is really nice. We had breakfast and lunch there. Reasonably priced as well. We paid $230 per night and $38 for parking per night.

Room Tip: Great find
See more room tips
Green Features: 50% off parking if you are driving a Hybrid vehicle.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skatingtoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had been on a road trip for over two weeks, this being our fifth hotel. I had heard about how comfortable, relaxing Hotel Monaco was and it exceeded every expectation. Reviewers are right on when they are explaining that there is something special or a "vibe" about this hotel. The front desk, bell man, etc. DID remember who my husband and I were and are so kind and helpful.

The hotel had a lovely balance between being classy and friendly at the time. We felt comfortable sipping wine and beer in the lobby while dressed in shorts. No pressure.

We had the corner room which had excellent views. It was a haven. The weather was 100 outside, so the room was one that we returned to many times to cool down and relax.

I will certainly go back if I am in the area again and will look into Hotel Monaco in other areas.

Room Tip: Room was not ready when we arrived, but that was resolved. Corner rooms have an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lim2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 143 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 143 in Portland
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 143 in Portland
1,382 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 143 in Portland
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing