We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Absolutely love the decor, not a "hotel" feeling. When I called before my trip to ask about a DVD player in the room, they offered to have one put in my room and IT WAS THERE when I checked in! They really do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable... yoga mat, cold drinks, ice cream! But the best part was checking out Portland by bicycle which they provide to anyone free of charge. What a surprise! Like I said... it was very hard to leave this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 3,198 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had been in the area after wine tasting in Newberg and Dundee for a couple days. Stopped in downtown PDX on the way home. Decided to stop at the Monaco to see if they had a room. First, they honored a last minute deal that Kimpton had online. Next, very dog friendly place, two paws up from Molly and Penny! They enjoyed wine reception right along with my wife and I. The room and hotel were outstanding. Only ding would be the overnight parking cost. I just parked a couple blocks away for a fraction of the cost. Would not hesitate to stay here again.
Dr John

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and to make sure that we had everything we needed including tips about the food trucks, what not to miss while in the city, etc. We had stayed here on a previous visit and were glad to be back. This is an excellent choice for staying in downtown Portland. High quality rooms and staff! The kids loved the free ice cream during the afternoon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caughman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The most beautiful hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Trendy and bright throughout the entire building. We were upgraded to a king suite upon check in which was luxurious and pretty amazing. I gave it only four stars due to the parking situation. You must either valet for a HEFTY fee, or park your car several blocks away and wrestle with your luggage. Other than that, PERFECT.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lindsey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My family (husband + 2 kids) stayed at this great hotel on our recent visit to Portland. We were on the 8th floor in a suite with 2 queen beds. The suite was very comfortable, tastefully furnished and very clean. This was also the hypoallergenic floor - which was great for my son and husband as they both suffer from allergies.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only problem we encountered was the untimely demise of the goldfish that was living in the suite - which the staff failed to notice for 2 days!

I would highly recommend this hotel to any family with young kids. My kids were thrilled to find two cute stuffed toy puppies in the room - free to take home with them!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Roshini F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed at the Monaco during a trip for the MLS All Star game. I thought the room was nicely appointed. A set of doors closed the area between the fold out couch and bed. The water pressure wasn't heavy, but the dual head shower made up for it. My kids enjoyed the 2-4pm complementary ice cream social. We were too busy to try the wine hour. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful when we tried to track down some MLS merchandise. They also surprised us with a birthday 'treat'. The parking is tight, but the valets are equipped with great tips and directions for the area. Though we didn't use it, public transit seemed plentiful. From the hotel, we walked to Providence Park for the game. We took our car to the Rose Garden simply Bc of the kids. It was a 2 mile walk away. It would be a hilly walk, and one we would do if our kids were a little older. The kids menu at the hotel restaurant (Red Star Tavern) was well priced. The adult fare we tried was fresh and tasty. The local beer they had on tap was good as well. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank ftew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a Kimpton Hotel in every sense. This has become our home away from home whenever we're in Portland. Great location, service, and amenities--especially the daily happy hour. The only challenge is the turn out of the parking garage, but the valets make it easy for you if you ask. Red Tavern is also a great PNW restaurant on the first floor of the horel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KH3167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 146 in Portland
1,766 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 146 in Portland
1,426 reviews
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £125 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this eccentric hotel was recognized "Most Beautiful Hotel in Oregon" by Architectural Digest in 2017 and is consistently ranked one of the top hotels in Portland by TripAdvisor travelers. Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Connected through the lobby is on-site restaurant and bar, Red Star Tavern, which offers extended happy hour and in-room dining to hotel guests. Also, through the lobby is Dosha Salon & Spa on 5th where guests can indulge in a number of relaxing treatments. At night, guests are invited to partake in our hosted social hour in our living room which regularly features local breweries, vineyards, live music and other artisans. Everything you need is here, from spacious rooms and top-notch amenities to ridiculously personal service and an authentic Portland experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing