We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2009

My girlfriends and I spent a weekend in Portland and had a very nice stay here. We had a suite which easily accommodated all fiv eof us, and the fold out sofa bed was one of the most comfortable I'ver ever slept on. The hotel had the funky fun feel of the Hotel Monacos across the country, with nice amenities. Excleent location walking distance to market along the river and a variety of restaurants as well as Powell's Books, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,114)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,849 - 2,855 of 3,114 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

Hotel Monaco is fabulous; chic interior, uber-helpful staff, unbeatable location, pet friendly, complimentary wine and snacks every evening, and reasonably priced!

Kimpton's always make sure your needs are taken care of, down to your pillow preference; The Hotel Monaco isn't an exception! Every detail of my stay was fantastic, and I would highly recommends the Monaco to anyone staying in Portland and want a central, chic location. It doesn't hurt that it's a five minute walk from Voodoo Donut either, does it? :)

Two things to take note of- most NBA teams stay here, so be aware that there may be fans waiting outside the hotel. Also, the late-night food is highly marked up and comes from a dive down the street. If you want some crappy light night chow, just walk a few doors down.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraASR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

we really loved this hotel. the location (we walked everywhere) , the room (soooo suite!) , the staff (nice recommendations for food and drink!) , the big dopey lab behind the desk... we will stay here again if in portland. really great experience. thanks,

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeheartdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I was quite dissapointed in the staff at the monaco (pronounced man-ako).
The room part was o.k. and there was some nice wine tasting downstairs,
but the problem all arose when I wanted to go to the airport.
I was shuffled in to a lincoln town car when I specifically asked for just a taxi.
A strange little character, who looked like a dancing boy with clogs on just insisted that I get into a COMPLETELY UNMARKED town car waiting in front with another shady little guy driving . I told them I prefer a marked taxi with a meter but they told me it would be the same price and no problem... I gave in and took the town car. It was $35 which was probably the same price as a taxi but I felt uneasy with the driver, he was kind of short and didn't have complete control of the car. I've heard about unlicensed cabs or town cars in other cities but I expected more out of the monaco. Next time I'll try a
different Kimpton, a little less noisy and busy than this one.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank motomatt7736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve080, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2009

Dear motomatt7736 -

Thank you for writing a review and providing us with your feedback from your recent stay.

Please accept our apologies if transportation alternatives were not communicated very clearly. We certainly do not intend for anyone to feel uncomfortable with our services or those of our partners. We do work closely with our partner towncar companies and in this case please be assured that the company is a reputable one.

You are correct, the cost for towncar vs. taxi in Portland is roughly the same, so there is not generally a difference in cost. We have found that our customers enjoy the comfort of a towncar, but are always happy to provide taxi arrangements as needed for you if preferred. We apologize if this was something that you did not feel was an option, and will address this as a training issue with our staff.

If we may be of service or provide any additional details we hope to hear from you so that we may address them. It is our sincere hope that on your next travel to Portland that you will consider the Monaco and Kimpton once again.

Warmly,

Steve S.
for Hotel Monaco Portland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Many great extra touches here-- such as wine-cheese reception in the late afternoon, complimentary Starbucks coffee in lobby 24/7, computer & internet access free in lobby & printing of boarding passes. Most comfortable and accomodating of any hotel we've visited. Convenient downtown location, (but there is a hefty fee to park). Parking is costly in Portland so pick up your rental car as you leave 2 blocks down. Hotel rooms are nicely decorated and very pleasant. Lobby is large & welcoming. Staff eager to please and friendly. I wish all hotels offered such fine customer-friendly services instead of charging for Wi-Fi and every little thing you do!! Corner rooms are particularly charming. Overall the hotel has a trendy but comfortable atmosphere. Well mannered pets are welcomed and treats are provided. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I did a lot of research on where to stay in downtown Portland when we visited and chose Hotel Monaco. I was so happy with my decision. We travel a lot and stay in some very nice places. This hotel was right up there. I couldn't believe how large our room was. It was a suite with a separate living area that really made our stay comfortable. The bed was fabulous - I don't know what it was but it was incredibly comfortable with very nice linens. The bathroom was really large, which was nice, with lots of counter space. I've attached some photos. Also, this hotel was in a great location - we walked everywhere and great shopping was right around the corner. We also walked to Voodoo donuts and Saturday Market, all close. They had free wireless in the room, which let me get some work done easily. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This was our first time to Portland but we will return! It is a fun city with great restaurants within easy walking distance of this hotel. The hotel seems like new with spacious rooms and very pretty bathrooms. I didn't always love the choice of colors and fabrics, but they were expensive.

All of the employees were very helpful and made good suggestions for shopping and restaurants. We look forward to returning the next time we are in Oregon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,733 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,390 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £153 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing