We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it, love it, love it!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
medford, or
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it, love it, love it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

Awesome hotel with amazing restaurant and bar attached! Perfect place for my 5 girlfriends to spend a shopping weekend. The suites are roomy. The pull-out catch bed is like sleeping on a Tempur-Pedic mattress--almost more comfortable then the beds! Immediate guest service attention, easy parking, and well equipped fitness center. The treadmills could be updated (a little loud for surrounding people), but met my 5 mile run needs. Wine reception is super - comfortable couches, music, and local wines and brews were served. Im going back in two weeks!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,276
    502
    116
    46
    17
See reviews for
562
1,265
203
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

we spent 1 night at hotel monaco to celebrate my birthday. the room was small but comfortable and met all of our expectations. it was nice to have a glass of wine at the hosted cocktail hour in the lobby before heading out to dinner. i booked the room on priceline for just over $80, which made it even more worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLEandJACOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

I would highly recommend The Hotel Monaco to any family traveling to Portland, OR. They have several different packages to choose from that cater to children, or couples. These packages are a great value! The package we chose was the DaVinci package. This gave the kids paints and canvases, tickets to the Chldren's Museum, a wine tasting for the adults, a free movie rental with popcorn, and a double bed suite including a sitting area with a sofa bed. When we walked into the room for the first time, they had two bottles of Milk chilling for the children along with a plate of chocolate chip cookies! Our room also included our own Goldfish, named Henry, who was a big hit with the kids as well! We all had such a great time. The room was outstanding, the beds comfortable, and the service was exemplary! We will definitely stay there whenever we visit, as well as always checking with the Kimpton chain in other cities for great packages.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Not my 1st time staying here. Nice rooms, beds, staff. Good food. WINE! Tip: if you want to save $10-15 on transportation to the airport call the same taxi company the hotel uses yourself (Radio Cab co) and ask for the $26 special to the airport. The same company is usually parked outside the hotel but they run $35-$45 to PDX and they don't have to honor the special unless you call the cab company directly and ask for it. The hotel will not do this for you.
Another tip: bring your dog(s). This is a very dog friendly hotel. Very!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faircarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Stayed in huge King suite for $150. Quite. elegant comfortable room. Hotel is extremely pet friendly - if you don't like dogs not the place for you, but we loved it! Overnight parking at $31 is steep, but all hotels in the area are the same; if I was staying more than one night, I'd figure out something else with a local garage. The 5-6 free happy hour rocks! Wine, beer, cosmos and martini's. One big party and they are not stingy!! Everyone buzzed and socializing - always a great time. Received $10 minibar coupons for being intouch member, which paid for our water and a snack. Super friendly staff; hotel in a great location. Pazzo restaurant a few block up is SO good. I've stayed at Benson, Lucia, Heathman and other hotels in Portland - this one is by far the best.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfreak2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

Everything about our stay was great. There is a charge for valet parking, but they cut to $20.00/day when I complained a little, We received a suite for single room price on a promotional rate. They provide free Starbucks coffee every morning and a free wine social every afternoon. We were on the top floor and heard very little traffic noise. Our friends were on a lower floor and said the traffic was more obvious Staff was very helpful with dinner reservations. We enjoyed Andina peruvian restaurant - have the hotel make the reservation and you may get some free goodies!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

This was one of the best stays I've ever had at a hotel. I was contacted prior to my stay by the manager, asking if there were any snacks or other items I'd like in my room when I arrived. They brought these complimentary items up during my first evening at the hotel. The evening receptions in the lobby were very well-done with music, Wii games to play, and complimentary refreshments. I stayed in the deluxe room with the sitting area and separate bedroom, and it was so spacious and comfortable. The HDTV was a nice plus! My wireless internet service wasn't working one night, so I called the front desk and they put me through to a technician who helped immediately. Everyone who worked there was very friendly, and it felt like coming "home" every night after a busy day of sight-seeing. I would definitely stay there again in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
Thank LadyWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing