We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We’ve stayed at this hotel several times over the last year and it is a favorite.

My husband was running the Portland marathon during our last stay, and when we arrived they had bananas and plenty of bottled water waiting in our room. We also received a “raid the honor bar” coupon. Other times we have celebrated special occasions in Portland and received a bottle of wine at check-in.

Valet service is friendly and efficient, but be prepared to pay $31 a night for hotel parking.

We always enjoy the wine and beer (and always an added cocktail choice) reception in the lobby at 5pm. There are also great values to be had during the happy hour at the hotel’s restaurant on food and drink.

Your choice of newspaper is delivered in the morning along with Starbucks coffee available in the lobby and in the room.

We look forward to a massage at the Dosha spa, and there are usually some great last minute offers when you check in.

Stayed in a huge King Suite during our last stay, for an extra $1 we received breakfast for two the next day in the hotel's restaurant.

Make sure to sign up as a Kimpton In Touch member for extra benefits during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleD_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,316
    510
    117
    46
    19
See reviews for
576
1,287
204
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. I booked through hotels.com and they lost my reservation (despite the fact that I had confirmation from them), but the registration attendant (I wish I remembered her name, she was great) took responsibility for the mishap, got me checked in immediately and put me in a king suite instead of the standard queen room I had booked for the inconvenience of having a brief moment of terror in thinking I may not have a place to sleep for the night.

There's a great piano in the lobby that you can play, they'll send anything up to your room instantaneously (like toiletries), they set out complimentary NYTs and WSJs to go with your coffee in the morning, the valets and doormen are all extraordinarily kind and helpful.

I would highly, highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying close to downtown Portland, as I simply can't imagine you'd find a better value.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkk_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medford, or
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Awesome hotel with amazing restaurant and bar attached! Perfect place for my 5 girlfriends to spend a shopping weekend. The suites are roomy. The pull-out catch bed is like sleeping on a Tempur-Pedic mattress--almost more comfortable then the beds! Immediate guest service attention, easy parking, and well equipped fitness center. The treadmills could be updated (a little loud for surrounding people), but met my 5 mile run needs. Wine reception is super - comfortable couches, music, and local wines and brews were served. Im going back in two weeks!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

we spent 1 night at hotel monaco to celebrate my birthday. the room was small but comfortable and met all of our expectations. it was nice to have a glass of wine at the hosted cocktail hour in the lobby before heading out to dinner. i booked the room on priceline for just over $80, which made it even more worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLEandJACOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I would highly recommend The Hotel Monaco to any family traveling to Portland, OR. They have several different packages to choose from that cater to children, or couples. These packages are a great value! The package we chose was the DaVinci package. This gave the kids paints and canvases, tickets to the Chldren's Museum, a wine tasting for the adults, a free movie rental with popcorn, and a double bed suite including a sitting area with a sofa bed. When we walked into the room for the first time, they had two bottles of Milk chilling for the children along with a plate of chocolate chip cookies! Our room also included our own Goldfish, named Henry, who was a big hit with the kids as well! We all had such a great time. The room was outstanding, the beds comfortable, and the service was exemplary! We will definitely stay there whenever we visit, as well as always checking with the Kimpton chain in other cities for great packages.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Not my 1st time staying here. Nice rooms, beds, staff. Good food. WINE! Tip: if you want to save $10-15 on transportation to the airport call the same taxi company the hotel uses yourself (Radio Cab co) and ask for the $26 special to the airport. The same company is usually parked outside the hotel but they run $35-$45 to PDX and they don't have to honor the special unless you call the cab company directly and ask for it. The hotel will not do this for you.
Another tip: bring your dog(s). This is a very dog friendly hotel. Very!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faircarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Stayed in huge King suite for $150. Quite. elegant comfortable room. Hotel is extremely pet friendly - if you don't like dogs not the place for you, but we loved it! Overnight parking at $31 is steep, but all hotels in the area are the same; if I was staying more than one night, I'd figure out something else with a local garage. The 5-6 free happy hour rocks! Wine, beer, cosmos and martini's. One big party and they are not stingy!! Everyone buzzed and socializing - always a great time. Received $10 minibar coupons for being intouch member, which paid for our water and a snack. Super friendly staff; hotel in a great location. Pazzo restaurant a few block up is SO good. I've stayed at Benson, Lucia, Heathman and other hotels in Portland - this one is by far the best.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfreak2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing